We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleanliness wasn't to our expectations and services can b improved.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Batam

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Resort Batam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Batam
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Waterfront City, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 66 hotels in Batam
1 review
“Cleanliness wasn't to our expectations and services can b improved.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stay w my friends from 11 May till 13 May 2013 at their two-betwoom suit.

I'm quite disappointed on the way the management handled negetive feedback when they called our room to check on their services rendered to us.

To start off, allowed me to share my experiences staying there.

Day 1:
It's totally a disgusting view to start off your first day of your holiday only to discover a pink lipstick mark visually at the tip of the mug when you were about to brew some tea.

It's even amazing to find there were only a pair of mugs, cups and two pieces of hand towels when its obviously there were four adults staying in the suit. Shouldn't the management took note there were four adults staying and have prepared what were required rather then we had to call for room service n only to wait for hours before getting our things.

Guess bad experience doesn't comes in pair, twice wasn't bad enough.

We noticed the phone in living room wasn't working, so we make a feedback but well... no one followed up w it.

Sigh... thought we can have a good night sleep but we saw a 1mm bed bug taking a stroll on the bed. It was after midnight and we were very tired.... we decided to stay put, of cause, not after we have checked there were no more such creatures sharing the bed w us.

Best, the shower head was spolit in master bathroom... we don't even bother to feedback.

Day 2:
After our spa at Tea Tree which its
really a place value for money. Yes, it was expensive but hey u paid for the embiance and their service is definitely damn good...

We went back to our room, only to realise there's no fresh hand towel replaced at living room bathroom after the room make up. Again, we have to call for room service and that was around 4-5pm.

Ironic, we have called to ask for our towels (plus mineral water) more than 3 times and the 3rd call was done by the "manager in duty" asking how were our stay at holiday inn which I gave him a piece of mind since day one up till the part we still waiting for our hand towels n water. He said he will look into it and yea, we had waited till we checked out the next day, the hand towel, the water, change of shower head etc... never came - nobody came at all. Not even anything was mentioned when we check out.

Perhaps the room service crew was over-whelmed w their duty but the quality of service and cleanliness rendered should not be compromise by the customer load. I hope the management will take note of the feedback esp when they made a call asking for one. What's the point of conducting a service feedback call when there's no follow-up? Be pro-active n be alert the number of people staying. Suit nowadays aren't really meant for family. If there are adults staying in a room, provide items equally to per person.

On the whole, not all services rendered at holiday inn were bad. In fact, the service crews from the Terrace Cafe, The Tea Tree Spa and the dine in room services were great.

Yes, we will go back to holiday inn despite all these.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear guest, thanks for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. Please be assured that this has already been discussed with the team and appropriate training will take place. Despite all these inconveniences we are pleased that you will chose our resort again for one of your upcoming getaways. In case we can be of any assistance with your booking please feel free to contact us. Once again thank you very much for being a patron of our Holiday Inn Resort Batam.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    186
    75
    25
    12
See reviews for
110
86
17
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was a weekend family getaway and the resort was a good place to stay.

The suite was very nice and the beds comfortable.

We had a relaxing time with use of the swimming pool, cycling & table tennis facilities.

The teppanyaki was expensive but very nicely prepared.

The hotel provided trips to the city malls as well as pickup and drop off to Sekupang ferry terminal.

Overall, the family had a good time for the 2 nights we were there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear guest, thanks for choosing our resort during your visit in Batam and the wonderful feedback which we are glad to share with our team. We hope the next time you come you will find time again to take advantage of all our services. The entire team is looking forward welcoming you back very soon.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

First of all, Batam has nothing to offer to tourists and this holiday inn is definitely not upto the standard. the furniture in suites is old and room is not clean enough..you dont feel you are in a IHG hotel..Resort is not that attractive to spend your precious holiday inside and outside there is nothing...We went there for anniversary also informed hotel and told them about it..we were expecting some decoration but we were highly disappointed..Spa is a plus point but it is very expensive almost SG prices..Food was ok ok
In all Batam and this holiday inn is totally avoidable though they have all basic facilities like pick up-drop off, huge pool, steam/sauna, jacuzzi --only for spa guests but still if you are looking for holiday inn standard resor --this is definitely no the one!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear guest, thanks for your valuable feedback which we have already discussed with the team. As you have mentioned, although we are not located in the city centre a lot of guests are commending the resort feeling while staying with us. Regarding the preparation of your room I am not sure what was expected. Last weekend we had three couples staying with us who have celebrated different special occasions and we received throughout positive feedback about the wine and VIP treatments. It would be very kind of you if you could send me to frank.schoenherr@ihg.com the sort of decorations you have had expected so that we can keep this in mind for all future celebrations in our hotel. Thank you so much for this in advance. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again in our Holiday Inn Resort Batam.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Came with my hubby for a 2D1N on 27-28 April 2013. Their staff are all very attentive, helpful and friendly. We had the one bedroom, it was nice & clean and the bed was very comfy, they even provide 2 kinds of pillow, soft & firm.

We had the weekend hi-tea lunch at IDR95,000/pax (SGD13) to pass time while waiting for free shuttle to BCS Mall, had planned to go Nagoya Hill but it was on fire that sat & was closed to the public. Not much variety for the hi-tea though, abit of a letdown.

Breakfast - Spread was ok, they had the usual bread/porridge/fried egg section & a few local delights. Must try the king choco donut, delish!

Dinner - We had the Teppanyaki at IDR158,000(SGD21)/set, excluding drinks. Would give a 8/10 for their service & food.

They have this poolside foot massage for 30 mins at IDR130,000 (SGD17), the massuser was very attentive to my needs, thumbs up! Its much more expensive to do it at their famous tea tree spa.

Overall we enjoyed & will definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear guest, thanks for this wonderful feedback which we are glad to share with the entire team. We are pleased that you also experienced a couple of our food & beverage options where we have also noted your comments. Please be assured that these will be discussed with the team. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again in our Holiday Inn Resort Batam.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

When leaving the Holiday Inn Batam yesterday, my wife, kids and I all wished we could have stayed longer. Frank, Yudi, Leslie and the entire team at Holiday Inn were so accommodating and friendly to us all and we thank them for making our stay even more pleasurable.

Rooms:
We booked a 2 room Family Suite. It consisted of a combined Lounge/Dining which was very functional and comfortable. It had DVD player, Playstation and large flat screen TV. The room also had a full size fridge which is great. The Main bedroom had a queen bed and very very comfortable. The children also had their own kid suite coming off the lounge which had two single beds made up with colourful Disney Doona/Quilts, plush toys etc. They were thrilled.
In addition, this room has 2 toilets and full bath and seperate shower.
We had a room on the ground (1st) floor and had a door leading to a small terrace with a fish pond and authentic bridge that we could cross to get to the pool.

Facilities:
The Children loved the pool. It was huge, warm and very clean. We were able to sit on the numerous, very comfortable lounges and have a drink from the bar. Towels are provided and their is no 'towel-police' like you can find at other hotels, which was great. The Kids also used the kids Play room and even though their was no supervision scheduled on weekdays, some of the staff dropped in to setup painting etc.

Restaurants:
There are a number of restaurants on-site and all were great. The Chinese restaurant was delicious and reasonable priced. The Japanese Teppanyaki was also great and the kids really enjoyed watching the food be cooked.

Tea Tree Spa:
I used this service for 8hrs in total over 3 days. It was wonderful. Private self-contained villas,l great staff and a wonderful relaxing experience. Just be aware that the villas are outdoor, so if it is hot/humid - so are you.

We utilised the hotel services to/from Waterfront Ferry which was very convenient. If you give the front desk your tickets/immigration forms then they will pickup your boarding passes and pre-print all required documents to ensure a smooth exit and re-entry.
We also had a hotel car trip into Batam/Nagoya for some shopping. The driver was professional and extremely helpful.

Overall a wonderful experience and we would definately return next time we are passing through Singapore - a great escape from the hustle and bustle of Singapore and an authentic Indonesiam atmosphere in batam

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Rod, thank you so much for the nice comments and commendations on our people. The entire team and I are delighted to read such wonderful reviews. We hope you had a pleasant journey back and we are looking forward welcoming you again in our Holiday Inn Resort Batam.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Can't go wrong staying in holiday inn. Lovely rooms (and even larger bathrooms!) and are very clean.

However the corridors are dated and the door lock mechanisms needs to be changed. We were stuck outside our room for almost an hour and there was a really annoying sound coming from the lock.

All in all, the service was up to standard and the pool is fantastic. The barbecue buffet is a good spread and I really enjoyed the ambience eating by the pool with live music. But do note it's available only on Saturdays. A great weekend getaway!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear guest, thanks for this wonderful feedback which we are glad to share with the team. Please be informed that we are currently working on the painting of the hotel facade and the guest corridors so that in the future you will even more enjoy your stay with us. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again in our Holiday Inn Resort Batam.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

A short 3D2N getaway for my "new" family with our 5 month old baby. Ok, maybe traveling with a 5 month old isn't the best idea but I guess it speaks of how much I wanted a getaway before getting back to work.

Love love love the hotel room that came with a gorgeous view of the pool. :) Good start. Plus it has a clean feel despite all the comments that it is old.

Breakfast was sumptuous. There's definitely something for everyone including a breast feeding mum like me (very cautious with food as baby has eczema)

Hubby treated me to tea tree spa, thanks to the reviews!! Beautiful place with very pampering massage experience with masseur Uchik. Unfortunately, had my javanese massage done at night (had to put baby to bed first). Thus could not enjoy the nice looking jacuzzi in the middle of the spa area, as it's their closing time.

As its off peak season, we were the only ones that took the shuttle back from city. So we were given a private car. The driver, Tabi, impressed us most. He is conversant in English, really better than most Batam islanders. Only to find out that Holiday Inn sends their staff for English course at the local university. Salute the management for doing such a wonderful thing. The driver spoke with pride and joy about it! My baby started fussing towards the end of the journey and Tabi was visibly driving faster yet safely and drove us all the way back to our block instead of just stopping at hotel lobby. ;)

Holiday Inn staff are very friendly and well trained. A couple of them whose names I can't recall.

Overall hubby and I were very pleased with our stay. Definitely relaxed and geared for work after 6 months hiatus.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear guest, thanks for this wonderful feedback which we are glad to share with the team. Especially we are impressed that you have chosen our resort for your first "New" family trip. We hope to see you more often in our hotel so that we can show all our children friendly facilities to your little one whilst the baby is growing up. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again in our Holiday Inn Resort Batam.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Batam

Address: Waterfront City, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Batam 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Batam is the only all suite luxury accommodation in Batam. Ideally situated just minutes away from the Waterfront City and Sekupang Ferry Terminals and a short ferry ride from Singapore. The ultimate height of pleasure comes in the form of our award-winning Tea Tree Spa. Sooth your mind and body with a selection of signature spa packages at one of 14 spacious Balinese-styled couple villas or individual treatment rooms. Spread across 3.4 hectares of open space and lush greenery, each of our 235 premium suites features a private balcony and guests can choose from spacious one or two bedroom suites, all elegantly furnished and equipped to provide unmatched comfort. When it comes to leisurely activities, guests of all walks of life are spoilt for choice at the Holiday Inn Resort Batam. The Panda Kids Club offers families a real treat. Our selection of six restaurants and bars, offers a variety of cuisines from around the world. For the business traveller, the Resort's multi-functional Meeting rooms complete with a variety of options for corporate meetings, functions, and events, supported by 24-hour business centre and a dedicated concierge. Whether you are a family with children or a corporation with a team of employees, the Holiday Inn Resort Batam has the facilities and activities to ensure that your trip is one you will never regret making. Come experience world-class hospitality infused with traditional Indonesian island charm! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Batam Hotel Batam
Batam Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.