We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing much to complain about... but not excellent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Batam

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Resort Batam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Batam
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Waterfront City, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 69 hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nothing much to complain about... but not excellent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

To begin with bear in mind it is a holiday inn, so there should be some standard to everything. It is a pretty old property which things are quite old there. If u r looking for posh looking grand appearance, this holiday inn branch does not have. I have to say the service in this hotel is good, not on the exellent side but good, the services comes on time when needed and the queries are answered when needed. It is quite far from the city so the shuttle services really come in handy, the other thing is that i lived in the wing where the lift is spoilt... i think it is building 2, so pls avoid it unless u love to exercise and climb stairs.

The service would make the stay worthwhile, the rest is just a hotel for u to sleep:)

Room Tip: the building 2 lift is spoilt so avoid building 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear guest, thanks for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. Please be assured that this has been discussed already with the team. Regarding the elevators we are happy to inform you that it has been fixed. We would be pleased to welcome you back in the near future.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    195
    81
    25
    12
See reviews for
120
92
17
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Myself and girlfriend came here for a 2D1N short getaway with an online coupon not expecting much but we probably got more than we expected. For fellow Singaporeans getting those Groupon or Deal coupons, you may consider skipping the city tour altogether.

Mostly out to sell you useless stuff and half your day is gone looking at touristy stuff. Lousy lunch at some restaurant too. You're better off lazing in your hotel room or the hotel swimming pool.

Overall, i thought the service rendered by hotel stuff was pretty decent and the hotel has a great pool with a very sumptuous breakfast spread. We really liked the spacious room with a pool view too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear guest, thanks for choosing our resort during your visit in Batam and your feedback which we are glad to share with our team. We hope the next time you come you will find time to take advantage of all services our Tea Tree Spa is offering. Here we are working on several new promotions to come out soon. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Perfect for a short getaway from Singapore for friends and families alike. We booked normal double room - the rooms are large, with separate seating areas and good wifi connection. Decor is all right. The facilities are good - we used the pool the most, and even the slides.

The best part of this hotel is the service staff. Hafis, in particular, the manager for their poolside cafe/restaurant, is a gem. He was extremely attentive to all our needs. My friend sprained her ankle accidentally and he brought her a huge bag of ice, and kept asking if she needed help getting food (we ordered a buffet). Then, when he saw that we were slapping away at mosquitoes, he brought us a mosquito repellant. Such thoughtfulness! Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Me and my hubby went to Holiday Inn 8 yrs ago. We had a great time n service was great too. So, based on our good experience,we decided to bring our whole family,14 of us in total to stay during the Chinese New Year long break. Shuttle service from ferry terminal was a breeze and smooth. No waiting time which was a good start to our vacation. I thought.
Once we reached, my whole perception changed. Due to some gathering for some cultural group, the lobby was filled with tables n chairs. No sofa or couch to sit while waiting. Check in took quite a while. After check in, nobody guided us to our block n rooms, we had to find our own way. The staff had difficulty understanding English n even Malay. I asked for a nonslip mat for the bath tub(which i thought is a standard thing for all hotel toilets) n the staff came with towels! When we asked for the complimentary drinking water at night, no one came. The next morning,we had to call n ask again. We asked for mugs, it didnt come promptly,it only came after we left our room to go to our next family room and got a shock to see that the housekeeping just entered our room n placed the mugs inside. Is that how you respect your guests' privacy?They also didnt clear food trays outside the rooms promptly until trails of ants appeared.
The food was totally horrible and pricey! We ordered Ayam Bakar n the chicken tasted like its been kept for days!The kids club was pathetic too. When we came in, the staff just disappeared. n never come back. no activities at all for the kids. Clearly, this hotel cant cope with the big crowd that they were having during that period. I suggest either they hire more staff or dont accept too many guests. Theres no hospitality at all. Such a disappointment from a famous chain of hotels. Never will I stay in this hotel anymore. The standard has clearly dropped so low.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear guest, thanks for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. Please be assured that this has been discussed already with the team. Obviously Chinese New Year is high season which you might also have experienced already when leaving Singapore ferry terminal. I was also quite surprised to read your comments about our food. Especially since we have changed our menus we are receiving constantly positive feedback regarding the new dishes. Once again thank you very much for your feedback.

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I thought my holiday was ruined the moment I checked in for my ferry at Harbour Front. It was the Chinese New Year festive break and almost everybody were heading to Batam for the nice long break. The ferry check in took about 1.5hrs in Singapore and upon reaching Batam, there was another long snaking queue......

We were picked up right outside the terminal and sent to the resort, a short drive of about 10-15mins. Checked in and went straight to the room. I must say the room is spacious with a separate dining, living and bed area. No complaints about it as everything was neat, tidy and clean. The only exception was probably the sofa covers were a little old and dirty looking. Well, not a new property but good to have nice clean covers :) Housekeeping also needs to improve on their overall, as they seem to keep missing out on replacing tissues, towels etc and had to call for items to be replaced.

The resort had the usual swimming pool, spa, paintball, karaoke etc. I did not manage to enjoy the mentioned facilities as me and my wife spent most of our 3 days out at the shopping mall. Oh, the resort provides x3 transport runs to and pickup from Nagoya and BCS shopping mall.

I must also comment that the staff were all very friendly and went out of their way to ensure things run well. So thank you for that!

Overall, while the resort was full, it did not feel overly crowded, except for maybe during breakfast timing. Noise level also wasn't a big problem for us during the stay.

Will head back there again but maybe not during the peak timing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear guest, thanks for this wonderful feedback which we are glad to share with the team. We are glad that you could relax after your "long" journey from Singapore. Perhaps when you come the next time you also can enjoy our facilities - especially the famous Tea Tree Spa - so that you can relax even more. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again in our Holiday Inn Resort Batam.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Holiday Inn Resort Batam - It's a very large property in the midst of a renovation. I suggest that one take advantage of every amenity, the tea tree spa, the sports bar,the shuttle to Nagoya, the excellent pool outside, the fantastic buffet breakfast. I highly recommend this property to my best friends and associates for business and pleasure. Absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear guest, thanks for choosing our resort during your recent visit in Batam and the great feedback which we are glad to share with our team. We are also happy to hear that our Tea Tree Spa service, the restaurant and the pool met your expectations and has contributed to your relaxed stay. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

In fact, this was the first time for me and my hubby visiting Batam. We decided to hunt for a neat and affordable 2D1N package to Batam as a quick weekend getaway. Thus, after much exploring around the travel webbies, we choose Holiday Inn Batam since I read largely positive reviews on Tripadvisor. The trip from Singapore to Batam was rather fast, an hour or so.

When we stepped out from the immigration at Waterfront Terminal, a friendly guide asked if we were going to Holiday Inn. We were promptly taken to our hotel without much waiting time.

Once we arrived at the hotel, we were given a refreshing pineapple welcome drink. It was really good especially after all the travelling.

The concierge were friendly and prompt in checking us in. All the processes including booking of the return ferry tickets were really smooth. We managed to confirm our return tickets for the next day.

Upon arrival to hotel to getting to our room took about 15 mins. We booked a one bedroom suite and we were pleasantly surprised at the big layout.

There was a master bedroom with a bathroom attached and a spacious hall with a TV and cushion sofas. A balcony right outside with a table and chairs. There was another room with 2 singles beds. We loved the space we had. It was just like an apartment. The queen sized bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept on. You can be promised of a good night sleep.
The bathrooms were clean but smelled a bit musky. The TV had plenty of channels to choose from, something you will need because the hotel is rather quiet and not much to do around it except swim and maybe check out the spa. I did not go to the spa though, but it looked a little run down. but I have heard great reviews about it, so you can try if you ever visited this resort. The downside to TV is that the next day when it rained really hard for like alomst 3 hours, the channels kept getting disrupted. We had to wait 5 mins to 10 mins before you can view the channel again. It can be frustrating.

Okay so coming back to the first day at the hotel, an hour after chekcing into the room, we decided to go for a swim since the weather was great. We checked out the indoor swimming pool and realised only the two of us were at the pool.

Later, we walked over to the outdoor pool which was obviously more crowded. I personally preferred the indoor swimming pool. It was tucked at one end of the hotel and more quiet.

As for our lunch, we were decided to dine at the hotel since we were left with only an hour to go to Nagoya Hill Shopping Centre. We went to Terrace Cafe and it once again we were the only ones. Maybe we lunched too late around 4pm I guess. Their menu had different cuisines. We chose to stick with their traditional Indo cuisine. I chose their famous Ayam Penyet and my hubby chose Fried Rice. The portions were rather small and the chicken was very bland. The food was pricey too. We paid around SGD$30 for our two dishes alone without any drinks.

After lunch, we took the hotel transport to Nagoya Hills Shopping Centre. The journey took around 50mins which we did not expect. I then found that the shopping area is kinda far away from the hotel itself, but the good point is that the hotel lies 5 mins away from the ferry terminal. You could just walk over if you wanted.

Nagoya Shopping Hills was kinda boring. The only joint we could relate to almost immediately was JCO donuts. You cannot find big brands here. Most of the shops carry very cheap stuff and fake branded goods. The food joints are mostly their own franchises. We did have coffee and some toast which cost us $5. We did not buy anything as we could find the same stuff at better price and quality in Singapore. We only bought some bottled water from their Hypermart while being there. We had dinner at A&W, something we cannot find in Singapore. We went crazy over their root beer float! It was too good even after all these years.

The second day at the hotel, the buffet spread for breakfast was pretty amazing. We had many varieties to choose from. And the chefs kept topping up the trays of food once it runs out.

We checked out at 2pm and were taken to the ferry terminal by hotel transport. We were glad we did not have to spend a cent on transport which saved our pockets extra money for a magnum at the ferry terminal. Lol.

Overall, I would say that you could only stay 2days and 1night and not more than that cos you can be bored. And the shopping places are far away from the hotel. But if you want some quiet ambience and better quality, i would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear guest, thanks for this wonderful and very detailed feedback which we are glad to share with the team. As you mentioned although we are not located in the city centre a lot of guests are commending the resort feeling while staying with us. We are pleased that you also experienced our bedding concept which is one of the hallmarks from Holiday Inn. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again in our Holiday Inn Resort Batam.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Batam

Address: Waterfront City, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Batam 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Batam is the only all suite luxury accommodation in Batam. Ideally situated just minutes away from the Waterfront City and Sekupang Ferry Terminals and a short ferry ride from Singapore. The ultimate height of pleasure comes in the form of our award-winning Tea Tree Spa. Sooth your mind and body with a selection of signature spa packages at one of 14 spacious Balinese-styled couple villas or individual treatment rooms. Spread across 3.4 hectares of open space and lush greenery, each of our 235 premium suites features a private balcony and guests can choose from spacious one or two bedroom suites, all elegantly furnished and equipped to provide unmatched comfort. When it comes to leisurely activities, guests of all walks of life are spoilt for choice at the Holiday Inn Resort Batam. The Panda Kids Club offers families a real treat. Our selection of six restaurants and bars, offers a variety of cuisines from around the world. For the business traveller, the Resort's multi-functional Meeting rooms complete with a variety of options for corporate meetings, functions, and events, supported by 24-hour business centre and a dedicated concierge. Whether you are a family with children or a corporation with a team of employees, the Holiday Inn Resort Batam has the facilities and activities to ensure that your trip is one you will never regret making. Come experience world-class hospitality infused with traditional Indonesian island charm! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Batam Hotel Batam
Batam Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.