We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel Great to Be back...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Batam

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Resort Batam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Resort Batam
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Waterfront City, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 64 hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Feel Great to Be back...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Year was 2000 when i was there and get a 2 room suite. With a kid which is barely a years old. Bring back the memories to my kids with not much changes when we went @ the day before New year eve.The food and the rooms is very reasonable(best to book online).The staff are polite and the necessities are upon available. The only worried is the safety when i could see some guest that are not belong to the hotel are wandering about.At 3 am in the morning can heard people stomping at upper floor. But overall i spent a good new year in my favourite resort in batam.Look forward to be back..

Room Tip: book online, not advisable to walk in might not get a room. or too xpensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear guest, first of all a Happy New Year and for being a patron of our hotel. Thank you very much for choosing our resort during your visit in Batam and the wonderful feedback which we are glad to share with our team. We also appreciate your comments regarding the security, so that we can adjust all our security measures even more. With our lowest internet rate guarantee you can enjoy the best deals from our website www.holidayinnresorts.com. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    172
    70
    22
    11
See reviews for
97
82
12
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We used to come a lot to this resort for long weekends, at least a few times a year. After a break of 3 to 4 years, we returned for the first time again in October 2012. Initially, we were afraid that the resort and facilities may have deteriorated but we were pleasantly surprised to see that it hasn't really 'aged' since our last visit a few years ago. The downside is that it hasn't improve much either.

The positive aspects: nice, big swimming pool, spacious rooms with cooking facility and a living room, amazing traditional Balinese style spa, friendly staff, less than 5 min by car from Waterfront City ferry terminal, poolside BBQ buffet on Saturday nights are great, decent quality food, free shuttle bus to Nagoya Hill, aromatherapy diffuser available for use in room upon request, there's KTV, video game room and pool tables.

The less positive aspects: rooms have a musky smell and can be dusty, prices at the teppanyaki restaurant have increased by quite a bit and I'm not sure if the quality has made such a corresponding increase, it is quite far from Batam city (30-45 min by car) and Batu Ampar and there's not much to do in the vicinity of the resort, a la carte choices in the main restaurant are rather limited and food in the hotel is fairly pricey by Batam standard (do expect to pay Singapore restaurant prices).

All in all, this is still our favourite resort on Batam for a long weekend away. If you are in Batam for the cheap food and massages and shopping, then this resort may not be for you. But if you are like us, looking for a good spa experience, relaxing quiet stay and swimming or chilling by a nice pool, then I would definitely recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, pool-facing room. Block 3 is pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear guest, thanks for this wonderful feedback which we are glad to share with the team. As you mentioned although we are not located in the city center a lot of guests are commending the resort feeling while staying with us. We are pleased that you also experienced the BBQ dinner and you might be pleased to hear that we are currently working on some new menu items which will come out shortly. The points regarding the room have been noted and already discussed with the team. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again in our Holiday Inn Resort Batam.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel 5-6 times before. Each time, we are happy. While it it a little far from most amenities, there is a free shuttle, so do book early as it fills up quite fast. Maybe the hotel can consider having it more regularly so that we can have more things to do? We had a two- bedroom apt, so quite good for the kids. The last Renovation was supposed to be two years ago, so while clean, some spots look a little aged. The pool continues to be wonderful n a great draw. With the kids eat free prog, it is a wonderful family getaway place. The poolside BBQ was inviting, augmented by the minstrels which really create the ambience. Only prob is on Sunday night, the Chinese restaurant was closed! So, when we can't get out of the resort, food choice can be limiting. The spa was good, so overall, there was something for adults n kids. Best part is that for a 2-bedroom apt, it was not expensive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear guest, thanks for this wonderful feedback which we are glad to share with the team. As you mentioned although we are not located in the city center a lot of guests are commending the resort feeling while staying with us. We are pleased that you also experienced our Kids Stay and Eat Free program as this is one of the hallmarks of Holiday Inn. Thank you as well for sharing the comments regarding the Chinese restaurant and guest rooms which we will discuss with the team in detail. We are apologizing for the inconveniences this may have caused. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again in our Holiday Inn Resort Batam.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Travelled with my daughter when she was 13 months old. We had a wonderful stay during that 4D3N. The room is big enough for my girl to run about. Free shuttle to Nogoya Hill, but sadly because it was Chinese New Year period, many shops are not open. Planning to stay again during next year Chinese New Year again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear guest, thank you very much for your nice comments. Please be assured that these have been shared already with the team. If we can be again of any assistance with your booking for the upcoming Chinese New Year please do not hesitate to contact us. We are looking forward welcoming you back.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Booked in on wednesday at 2pm,we reached there around 11.30 am, and had to wait till 2pm for our rooms to be ready, and while waiting , we went to the games room and there is a billard, xbox 360, kinect, computer with internet, chess and so on. Cool!! We were served orange juice when we reached the lobby, and i'm impressed.. We checked out on friday at 4pm.. I must say i love this hotel Alot! It is clean, comfortable and relaxing.. I requested for ground floor suites and was impressed that my room faced the lazy pool.. If only i can stay there forever..
The suites is nice with a dining table, cabinet, and just love the fast wifi in my room and in the lobby.. I relaxed at the chair on the balcony at night facing the pool and it is so peaceful..'And there are many channel to choose from on the tv..

The breakfast is delicious with so many variety to choose from..

But the gym is seriously small..

Went for a 3hr full tropical signature massage and foot reflexology to relax myself from the hectic outside life.. The place is seriously peaceful on the way to the tea tree spa.. But got the wrong scrub. Sign up for tropical signature for coffee scrub but got avacado scrub instead and was disappointed..

Just love the relaxing lemongrass aromatherapy which permates the lobby as it is so nice.. ( im guessing it is lemongrass)

Love the jacuzzi at the swimming pool, but my cousin was playing with the ball float and when he accidently stepped on a sharp thing in the pool and his feet was gashed and blood kept flowing out non-stop And had to wait for 5mins for first aid to come.. I think they shoud keep checking the floor of the swimming pool to prevent such accident..

Will come again if i ever get a chance..
It is listed as my number 1 hotel in batam and it is quite near to spore for a short getaway and away from this hectic life..(p.s: the owner of the hotel was sitting near us for breakfast which i was told by the staff)..

I'm glad i came there and will stay there again.. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear guest, thanks for choosing our resort during your visit in Batam and the wonderful feedback which we are glad to share with our team. We hope the next time you come you will find time again to take advantage of all services our Tea Tree Spa is offering. Here we are working on several new promotions to come out soon. Your comment regarding our gym is also very well noted as this is on our plan for 2013. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights from 7 to 9 Dec with hubby and my 5yr old child . Very delighted with the overall excellent service and experience. The room was clean and we had a fantastic view of the pool on the 10th floor.
1. Hotel provide 2 way transfer to Sekupang Terminal, free shuttle service (2 way) to Nagoya and Batam Centre .
2. Beautiful swimming pool for adult and kid. Also game room for adults and kid.
3. Breakfast served was pretty good . The food at the Thai Orchid Restaurant was good too.
4. The karaoke room was fully equipped and we really had fun.
5. Kudos to the Tea Tree Spa!! Excellent 2 hr service at the Spa !

For those seafood lover, you can just take a 10 mins walk to Delima Seafood Restaurant at Waterfront City opposite the hotel. Must try the black pepper crab .. Spicy and delicious ! The seafood served are all fresh, good and cheap ! You can save on transport if you choose to eat there.

For those traveling with young children , Holiday Inn Resort is the best choice !! The in house facilities and activities are catered to both adults and young children . You will never get bored or restless with all the inhouse facilities and activities.

We are very satisfied with our stay and will return !

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear guest, thanks for choosing our resort during your visit in Batam and the wonderful feedback which we are glad to share with our team. We hope the next time you come you will find time again to take advantage of all services our Tea Tree Spa is offering. Here we are working on several new promotions to come out soon. Also for children we are working on further equipment in the Panda Kid's Club. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

stayed at holiday inn batam over the weekends and am extremely delighted with the whole experience:

1) round trip free shuttle between the hotel and nagoya hill shopping centre
2) tasty free breakfast
3) nice pool for swimming and sun tanning
4) free transfer from sekupang terminal to the hotel upon arrival and receptionists helped us booked the return ferry tickets back to singapore and arranged a free transfer for us to the ferry terminal

Tips: If you need beer or to order food delivery, contact Suka Provision Store at 7321 222. Very affordable price for their grilled chicken fried rice, satay, tom yam soup - definitely much cheaper than what you can get in Singapore and they offer free delivery to Holiday Inn and Harris Water Front.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear guest, thanks for choosing our resort during your visit in Batam and the wonderful feedback which we are glad to share with our team. In our continuous efforts to further improve our services we are always happy to receive such excellent feedback. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Batam

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Batam Hotel Batam
Holiday Inn Batam Hotel
Holiday Inn Batam
Batam Holiday Inn
Address: Waterfront City, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 64 hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Batam 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Batam is the only all suite luxury accommodation in Batam. Ideally situated just minutes away from the Waterfront City and Sekupang Ferry Terminals and a short ferry ride from Singapore. The ultimate height of pleasure comes in the form of our award-winning Tea Tree Spa. Sooth your mind and body with a selection of signature spa packages at one of 14 spacious Balinese-styled couple villas or individual treatment rooms. Spread across 3.4 hectares of open space and lush greenery, each of our 235 premium suites features a private balcony and guests can choose from spacious one or two bedroom suites, all elegantly furnished and equipped to provide unmatched comfort. When it comes to leisurely activities, guests of all walks of life are spoilt for choice at the Holiday Inn Resort Batam. The Panda Kids Club offers families a real treat. Our selection of six restaurants and bars, offers a variety of cuisines from around the world. For the business traveller, the Resort's multi-functional Meeting rooms complete with a variety of options for corporate meetings, functions, and events, supported by 24-hour business centre and a dedicated concierge. Whether you are a family with children or a corporation with a team of employees, the Holiday Inn Resort Batam has the facilities and activities to ensure that your trip is one you will never regret making. Come experience world-class hospitality infused with traditional Indonesian island charm! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.