We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confused” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Batam

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Resort Batam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Batam
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Waterfront City, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 68 hotels in Batam
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Confused”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My confusion stems from why HI would firstly have a hotel in Batam and secondly allow it's brand standard to drop. The room I had was large, with two bedrooms and a lounge area but aside from that it was just somewhere to put my head down. The reception staff were very nice. The breakfast was not very nice at all. Just okay as I say somewhere to put your head down if you are on business.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    189
    77
    25
    12
See reviews for
114
88
17
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My company put 15 of us up in this place during a project. We required daily tranport and this was perfectly accomplished. The hotel even delivered our lunches to the jobsite that we could order from the menu.

The rooms are spacious and well apportioned. I only wish they had a microwave. Really nice pool. All the restaurants had good food but a little spendy I guess. It's possible to walk to some retaurants on the waterfront, about 10 minutes. I didn't try the spa. They also have have bus trips to Nagoya the main city for shopping. It's close to Singapore and would make a good weekend getaway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Our trip began with a short ferry ride to Batam from the Harbourfront Terminal arriving at Sekupang Ferry Terminal in Batam. Sekupang is a very nice terminal, clean and efficient. The Holiday Inn shuttle picked us up within 15 minutes of our arrival and took us straight to the hotel which took about 12-15 minutes. Check in was pleasant with staff welcoming us and flashing us big smiles. We were escorted to our room by staff and given a quick briefing on the facilities. We opted for the Family Suite which is the size of a small apartment with an adult room and an kids room complete with toys, stuffed animals and colored bedding. The room also contained a Playstation although we never got it to work properly and the games were pretty badly scratched.

The room itself was typical for our limited experience at non 5 star hotels in Indonesia. It was a little worn down but we are not picky and were happy. The beds were comfortable and the A/C worked which is all we generally care about. There was a strong odor of bug spray which I assume is their way of keeping the insects out (however a few made it in the room anyway).
The food selections are good and there is enough western food to satisfy my picky kids. For the adults you have your choice of Japanese, Thai, Indonesian and Chinese to choose from. The morning buffet was crowded but offered a decent selection. We had a nice dinner at the Tepan Bar and enjoyed watching the chef at work.

The best part of the hotel is the facilities for the kids. The pool is awesome complete with a play area and slide. Our kids spent most of 2 days swimming and enjoyed every minute of it. It rained for a little while which is fine because the resort has a game room with wii, xbox and computer access (although they make you buy a drink as payment to use the game room).

My wife and I enjoyed an amazing 2 hour experience at the spa which was well equipped and the staff were knowledgeable and friendly. The cost is not that great but compared to Singapore still a good deal.

If you plan to come, bring Indonesian Rupiah. They take Singapore Dollars but you WILL get a poor exchange rate. We billed everything to the room and paid by credit card. Had we used cash for everything we would have lost out big time.

All in all, a good resort if you are not picky about your room and need a weekend to let the kids loose while you sip a drink by the pool. There are other things to do in the area (paintball, watersports, ect) but we never managed to drag ourselves away from the pool. We'll likely go back for a short weekend getaway (but bring your Rupiahs).

Room Tip: - Book a family suite for more space with very little added cost. - Bring Indonesian Rupiah. - B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Had a good and relaxing time at holiday inn. Service was great and prompt. Was upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite. However the rooms probably need some refurbishing. Sink was choke, kettle was erratic. When we called the reception to report on the sink, the repair man appear in under 5 minutes! Good job.

Overall a rather comfortable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Good choice of food with a wide variety. Pretty good facility if you just want to hang out at the pool, drink, and relax. The Spa was excellent and they had a children oriented area of the pool with a water slide. Overall it offered a nice getaway with good food and the ability to relax and not have to do any of the normal household chores but really nothing else. Hotel has potential if they refreshed it a little but for the price there are a lot more options in the Singapore area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have a very nice stay in Holiday Inn & I am strongly recommend this resort for those family with children. My girl have a very happy & memorable stay in this resort.
We have joined a day trip with tour agent & drop in the resort around 7pm after the whole tired trip. The receiptionist was very nice & they free upgrade 2 bedroom suite to us intead of 1 bedroom suit for 3 days 2 nite. The room is very clean & nice. Firstly I afraid there is a lot of mosquito & insect but there is not (only have a few ants in the kitchen)
My girl like the Panda Kid Club very well although there is no supervion on weekday (the supervion only available on weekend) & I cannot go to enjoy the spa with my husband :(.
There is a free shuttle van to town everyday & we can enjoyed the shopping too.
The breakfast is quite nice & the staff is very nice. My girl vomited in the Restaurant (may be I feed her too much :P) & they immediately came to clean the floor & asked us anything need to help.
My hubby always travel around & very fussy about the hotel service. This resort is the one he thumb up & recommend. We have decided to visit again near future with my whole big family.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We had a weekend stay over at the Resort.Iam really impress of the service from the Resort.The room was clean even we do not have any great view from our room.All the staff was really friendly and helpful.We really had a great weekend.Keep it up Holiday Inn Batam!Cheers!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Batam

Address: Waterfront City, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Batam 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Batam is the only all suite luxury accommodation in Batam. Ideally situated just minutes away from the Waterfront City and Sekupang Ferry Terminals and a short ferry ride from Singapore. The ultimate height of pleasure comes in the form of our award-winning Tea Tree Spa. Sooth your mind and body with a selection of signature spa packages at one of 14 spacious Balinese-styled couple villas or individual treatment rooms. Spread across 3.4 hectares of open space and lush greenery, each of our 235 premium suites features a private balcony and guests can choose from spacious one or two bedroom suites, all elegantly furnished and equipped to provide unmatched comfort. When it comes to leisurely activities, guests of all walks of life are spoilt for choice at the Holiday Inn Resort Batam. The Panda Kids Club offers families a real treat. Our selection of six restaurants and bars, offers a variety of cuisines from around the world. For the business traveller, the Resort's multi-functional Meeting rooms complete with a variety of options for corporate meetings, functions, and events, supported by 24-hour business centre and a dedicated concierge. Whether you are a family with children or a corporation with a team of employees, the Holiday Inn Resort Batam has the facilities and activities to ensure that your trip is one you will never regret making. Come experience world-class hospitality infused with traditional Indonesian island charm! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Batam Hotel Batam
Batam Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.