We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Batam

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Resort Batam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Batam
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Waterfront City, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 69 hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My friends and I decided to plan a short getaway to Batam last weekend. We booked Holiday Inn Resort thinking that there's activities available in the hotel or nearby which we can enjoy.
We reached Batam via Waterfront ferry terminal around 12.45pm and when through the immigration office. There was already some delay at this point. (We arrived at the country but my friends' passport chopped departure instead. Duh! The officer had to run out to collect the passport back to re-chopped, but when it was returned, the stamp is correct, but date is wrong. Can you imagine?!)
Anyway when we finally managed to roll to the hotel, we thgt we can finally enjoy ourselves. Good thing abt the hotel is tt they provide free airport transfer from terminal to hotel, even without having the need to make prior arrangements.
The queue at the recep wasnt long, juz two grps in frint if us, 5-6 staff behind, but we waited for nearly half hour! The hotel recep told us tt our room wasn't ready, and will only be ready in another hour. When we asked for the location of the cable ski, the staff gave us a brochure for other water sports except for cable ski. She took another 10mins trying to call the cable ski. End up, we decided to just take a look ourselves instead of waiting again.
We wanted to order some kueh lapis to bring back so we checked out with the hotel. The staff themselves don't even know what brand kueh lapis they are holding! And keep giving us the price list! And when we decided to go town, the cab was expensive. It was only a trip from our hotel to Nagoya! When we return, we took the cab from another hotel which is just in front of Nagoya and it was much cheaper. This cab from The Hills took us from Nagoya to Golden Prawn, waited for us to finish dinner then back to Holiday Inn for a lesser fee!
The next day after our spa treatment, we called for room service and also asked for two satchet of coffee powder. A guy from the recep called and say that we are supposed to check out already. I replied him politely that we have actually asked for late checkout @ 2pm and was granted that. This guy still had to cheek to ask me who allowed that!! I said ur recep and he just say,"ok, I check.", and hanged up. -.-'
Shortly after, my lapis delivery came (I called and ordered myself) and was at the recep. He asked for our room number to deliver upstairs but when he told the recep, they told him no such room number. I thgt it was a communicatiom problem. Even when the delivery uncle pass the phone to the recep, she gave me that innocent tone that there's no such room. Does tt mean that the room we stayed is a phantom room? Finally I managed to convince the recep tt the room is indeed in the hotel and that ends the whole conversation.

For an international brand, this hotel needs serious revamp of its staff. I will certainly not stay in any hotels under this brand worldwide again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear AnnieTan,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your wonderful comment regarding the airport shuttle.

However, We’re sorry you received service and the miscommunication with our staff. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    194
    81
    25
    12
See reviews for
120
91
17
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed at this resort for two nights in October and had a lovely time. The staff cannot be faulted, they were all happy and friendly and went out of their way to make the stay enjoyable. Particulary Maya at reception, when she found out that it was my birthday she arranged an upgrade on our room for the second night and had a cake delivered for me. The spa is well worth a visit with lovely surroundings, staff and treatments. The only negatives were that the basic one bedroom suite was a bit dated and there were not many beds around the pool. The childrens pool area was great and had a very fast slide. When you arrive in Batam all the signs say that a visa is $25 US for foreign nationals however my daughter just asked for a $10 dollar visas as we were only staying for 3 days (the visas we were issued were valid for 7 days) I would not have realised this andwould have pad the full price has she not been with me.

Room Tip: Upgraded rooms are more modern however all the rooms were a very good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear guest, thanks for choosing our resort during your visit in Batam and the wonderful feedback which we are glad to share with our team in particular with Maya. Thank you also for your valuable comments regarding the rooms and please be assured that the renovation of these rooms are already planned. We hope the next time you come you will find time again to take advantage of all services our Tea Tree Spa is offering. Here we are working on several new promotions to come out soon. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed in this property. The staff at the reception never fail to disappoint with their wonderful service. They are always smiling and apologizing for making us wait that extra time while they settled the guests before us. I was served by Maya and she has exemplary service, never stingy in her smiles. She even took the extra mile in recognising that I am a priority club member and gave me coupons to reflect the privileges of being a member. During my booking i have specified that I request for a corner room and high floor. Maya took note of this request and gave me an upgrade for free as they do not have high floor left (the hotel was full house at the time we were there). She even refuse to let me wait till 2pm for the other room to be ready and readily offered the upgrade to us.

As we entered the room, the living room was wonderful. The air conditioning in the room (both the living room and the bedroom) was powerful in cooling down the rooms despite the hot weather outside. The balcony was facing the pool and we were right smack centre of the hotel, thus allowing us to see most of the pool. The bedroom was wonderful, however would be perfect if the pillows were firmer. The smallish bathroom and bathtub was okay, though halfway through filling the tub, the water turned cold.

The staff at the spa never fail to ensure patrons are well taken care off with their warm and welcoming gestures, they also made the effort to constantly check with the customers if the force they used were just nice.

overall my stay at this hotel was wonderful. except for the pillow (which gave me very bad neckaches the next day) and the smallish bathroom, the hotel would be perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear guest, thanks for choosing our resort during your visit in Batam and the wonderful feedback which we are glad to share with our team - in particular with Maya and the Spa team. We hope the next time you come you will find time again to take advantage of all services our Tea Tree Spa is offering. Here we are working on several new promotions to come out soon. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My family (2 children - 6 and 8) and I were in need of a good weekend getaway. We weren't interested in a sightseeing type of holiday. We relaxed by the pool and were very impressed with the friendly service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear guest, thanks for this wonderful feedback which we are glad to share with the team. As you mentioned a lot of guests are commending the resort feeling while staying with us. We are pleased that you also experienced our Stay You services! It will be our pleasure to welcome you again in our Holiday Inn Resort Batam.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed overnight for work. After a poor experience up the road at Harris Waterfront previously, I was impressed straight away. The hotel looks nice from the outside and this continues into the lobby which is very well presented.

The room was tidy and I had a bit of a view over the pool area which looks stunning (if only I had time for a swim!) The only negatives were that the bathroom was slightly run down (but was far from awful), and the air conditioner wasn't the best - which can be an issue in a place like Batam. After a fair while, it did make the room reasonably comfortable and I had no trouble sleeping, but could definitely have done with a larger A/C unit.

Also, internet was only cabled - not wireless (no good for iPads, etc.) - and cost a fair bit extra, which is a pain if you need to check emails, etc.

Plenty of nice places to eat within the complex, which is good as there isn't much nearby in terms of shopping/restaurants.

Overall a great experience staying at the Holiday Inn - would go back again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear guest, thanks for this wonderful feedback which we are glad to share with the team. As you mentioned although we are not located in the city center a lot of guests are commending the resort feeling while staying with us. We are pleased that you also experienced our restaurants. Lastly we also want to update you on our WIFI progress. Since couple of days now all guest rooms are also connected to the WIFI system which can be used in the public area free of charge. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again in our Holiday Inn Resort Batam.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Went there for a short family getaway.. Hotel service is superb, considering that this is a non-English speaking country.

Breakfast spread is still acceptable..

The flaw is they do not put the pricing for using the games room and they did not promote their spa...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear guest, thanks for this wonderful feedback which we are glad to share with the team. Please be informed that we are not publishing any prices for the games room as all games are for free! Thank you as well for sharing the comment regarding our wonderful Tea Tree Spa. We just finished the process of changing all posters around the hotel with the new ongoing promotions. During Happy Hour you can save up to 30% for treatments in our Spa. We are apologizing for the inconveniences this may have caused. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again in our Holiday Inn Resort Batam.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Went there last weekend for a short getaway. I had stayed here previously a couple of times. And will keep coming back. The hospitality is tops.

Only flaw was this time round our room was missing bathrobes and hairdryer.. Apart from that.. No complains at all

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear guest, thanks for choosing our resort again during your visit in Batam and the wonderful feedback which we are glad to share with our team. We hope the next time you come you will find time again to take advantage of even more services as our awarded Tea Tree Spa. Here we are working on several new promotions to come out soon. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Batam

Address: Waterfront City, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Batam 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Batam is the only all suite luxury accommodation in Batam. Ideally situated just minutes away from the Waterfront City and Sekupang Ferry Terminals and a short ferry ride from Singapore. The ultimate height of pleasure comes in the form of our award-winning Tea Tree Spa. Sooth your mind and body with a selection of signature spa packages at one of 14 spacious Balinese-styled couple villas or individual treatment rooms. Spread across 3.4 hectares of open space and lush greenery, each of our 235 premium suites features a private balcony and guests can choose from spacious one or two bedroom suites, all elegantly furnished and equipped to provide unmatched comfort. When it comes to leisurely activities, guests of all walks of life are spoilt for choice at the Holiday Inn Resort Batam. The Panda Kids Club offers families a real treat. Our selection of six restaurants and bars, offers a variety of cuisines from around the world. For the business traveller, the Resort's multi-functional Meeting rooms complete with a variety of options for corporate meetings, functions, and events, supported by 24-hour business centre and a dedicated concierge. Whether you are a family with children or a corporation with a team of employees, the Holiday Inn Resort Batam has the facilities and activities to ensure that your trip is one you will never regret making. Come experience world-class hospitality infused with traditional Indonesian island charm! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Batam Hotel Batam
Batam Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.