We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Batam

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Resort Batam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Batam
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Waterfront City, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 71 Hotels in Batam
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed overnight for work. After a poor experience up the road at Harris Waterfront previously, I was impressed straight away. The hotel looks nice from the outside and this continues into the lobby which is very well presented.

The room was tidy and I had a bit of a view over the pool area which looks stunning (if only I had time for a swim!) The only negatives were that the bathroom was slightly run down (but was far from awful), and the air conditioner wasn't the best - which can be an issue in a place like Batam. After a fair while, it did make the room reasonably comfortable and I had no trouble sleeping, but could definitely have done with a larger A/C unit.

Also, internet was only cabled - not wireless (no good for iPads, etc.) - and cost a fair bit extra, which is a pain if you need to check emails, etc.

Plenty of nice places to eat within the complex, which is good as there isn't much nearby in terms of shopping/restaurants.

Overall a great experience staying at the Holiday Inn - would go back again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear guest, thanks for this wonderful feedback which we are glad to share with the team. As you mentioned although we are not located in the city center a lot of guests are commending the resort feeling while staying with us. We are pleased that you also experienced our restaurants. Lastly we also want to update you on our WIFI progress. Since couple of days now all guest rooms are also connected to the WIFI system which can be used in the public area free of charge. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again in our Holiday Inn Resort Batam.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    198
    82
    25
    12
See reviews for
121
92
17
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Went there for a short family getaway.. Hotel service is superb, considering that this is a non-English speaking country.

Breakfast spread is still acceptable..

The flaw is they do not put the pricing for using the games room and they did not promote their spa...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear guest, thanks for this wonderful feedback which we are glad to share with the team. Please be informed that we are not publishing any prices for the games room as all games are for free! Thank you as well for sharing the comment regarding our wonderful Tea Tree Spa. We just finished the process of changing all posters around the hotel with the new ongoing promotions. During Happy Hour you can save up to 30% for treatments in our Spa. We are apologizing for the inconveniences this may have caused. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again in our Holiday Inn Resort Batam.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Went there last weekend for a short getaway. I had stayed here previously a couple of times. And will keep coming back. The hospitality is tops.

Only flaw was this time round our room was missing bathrobes and hairdryer.. Apart from that.. No complains at all

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear guest, thanks for choosing our resort again during your visit in Batam and the wonderful feedback which we are glad to share with our team. We hope the next time you come you will find time again to take advantage of even more services as our awarded Tea Tree Spa. Here we are working on several new promotions to come out soon. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I have always wanted to stay in Holiday Inn chain hotels and was really extremely excited this time when I finally decide to try in Batam. I have been to Batam several times but there are always many better promotions around and finally settled my heart here.

As most ferry has ceased operation to Waterfront terminal (nearest terminal to Holiday Inn), I called to ask if they offer complimentary shuttle to Sekupang, so I dropped an email to them one week before to ensure that they do not miss us. Upon arrival, the driver picked us up and asked where we would like to go. I asked my bf to ask them in english if it is chargeable to go for dinner before going back, the driver advised he did not understand, so I asked my Malaysian friend to try asking in Malay, but he seems like hiding away the question and not answer us and tell us if you want to go for dinner then back to hotel also it is possible but did not want to let us know that he is charging.

When we were back to hotel, he asked us to pay him which I was really unhappy abt. Spoke to the duty manager and he replied that they are sorry but "these drivers" are third party drivers not hotel drivers and in the end we still have to pay him 1/2 of the price, which we would rather spend the money for dinner in the hotel as there are few restaurant in the hotels itself.

On the second night too, we went to the ktv music room. The rate is fine or cheap, but upset that the waitress did not tell us that there is a family package which is even much cheaper with more drinks. They told us to wait a little as the previous group has yet to left, so we waited. When we went into the room, it was at least 15-20mins past 10pm and we went in to sing. The waitress came in b4 12 and told us it is our last song when it is not even 12 and they charged us 2 hrs which I feel that they are ridiculous. Though it is 15-20mins, still it does matter a little for those who sings.

There are nice things abt the hotel too but quite disappointed with this trip.

We know that there are many incidents like that in Batam. For first timer or people who seldom go, pls check if they charge you before asking them to send you there as their rates are very high. This one would want to charge us SGD100 for whole day. but again never specify the time, who knows if he will charge again after 8hrs.

Room Tip: If you travel in families, it is good to take the 2-3 bedroom suite, so that you can be in the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear guest, thanks for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback. Please be assured that this has been discussed already with the team and coaching sessions will be arranged to provide even better services. Once again thank you very much for being a patron of our Holiday Inn Resort Batam.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Everything was good and I enjoyed my 3 days of stay over at Holiday Inn.

Tea Tree Spa was excellent but too overpriced!

Buffet Breakfast, HORRIBLE!
Food doesn't taste nice at all.
Bread were all I ate. :(

But still, I will visit Holiday Inn again!:)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear guest, thanks for choosing our hotel during your visit to Batam. Please be assured that your comments have been shared already with the team. Currently we are working on some changes of the breakfast buffet which you can experience very soon. We are also happy to hear that our Tea Tree Spa service met your expectations and have contributed to your relaxed stay. Once again thank you very much for being patron of our Holiday Inn Resort Batam.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovenska Bistrica, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I would rate this hotel as average. It is quite a long trip out of city – (half hour). We knew this in advance, so we had for most of the time private driver (but still you spend a lot of time on road).
Rooms are big with kitchen inside (do someone really use them?) and everything is ok, but there were small ants everywhere you left your cloths you have been wearing during the day.
Breakfast is more for local people, a lot of cooked things – which I do not like for breakfast.
Inside of hotel are also few possibilities for lunch and dinner, few minutes’ walk from hotel is also a seafood restaurant (not the best but still ok).
There is shuttle bus to the mall 1x day during week days and I think 3x a day during weekends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear guest, thanks for this wonderful feedback which we are glad to share with the team. As you mentioned although we are not located in the city center a lot of guests are commending the resort feeling while staying with us. Thank you as well for sharing the comment regarding the housekeeping and breakfast which we will discuss with the team. Our breakfast is a mix of international and local items to address the different cultures of our guests. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again in our Holiday Inn Resort Batam.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Had a 2 nights trip in Aug 2012 with my wife. The holiday is nice, but a bit of in the middle of nowhere. The staff in the lobby were very nice and friendly.
Studio room are not ideal, I prefer the 1 bedroom flat. I think the price difference is not huge, but worth it, about 30% more.
recommended!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Batam

Address: Waterfront City, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Batam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Batam is the only all suite luxury accommodation in Batam. Ideally situated just minutes away from the Waterfront City and Sekupang Ferry Terminals and a short ferry ride from Singapore. The ultimate height of pleasure comes in the form of our award-winning Tea Tree Spa. Sooth your mind and body with a selection of signature spa packages at one of 14 spacious Balinese-styled couple villas or individual treatment rooms. Spread across 3.4 hectares of open space and lush greenery, each of our 235 premium suites features a private balcony and guests can choose from spacious one or two bedroom suites, all elegantly furnished and equipped to provide unmatched comfort. When it comes to leisurely activities, guests of all walks of life are spoilt for choice at the Holiday Inn Resort Batam. The Panda Kids Club offers families a real treat. Our selection of six restaurants and bars, offers a variety of cuisines from around the world. For the business traveller, the Resort's multi-functional Meeting rooms complete with a variety of options for corporate meetings, functions, and events, supported by 24-hour business centre and a dedicated concierge. Whether you are a family with children or a corporation with a team of employees, the Holiday Inn Resort Batam has the facilities and activities to ensure that your trip is one you will never regret making. Come experience world-class hospitality infused with traditional Indonesian island charm! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, Agoda, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Batam Hotel Batam
Batam Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.