We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Disappointment and Super bad experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The BCC Hotel & Residence

Save Saved
You added The BCC Hotel & Residence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The BCC Hotel & Residence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Bunga Mawar, Riau Islands Province 29444, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 64 hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Disappointment and Super bad experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Booked 10 rooms, requested for all the 10 rooms to be on the same floor and was promise to by the reservation department the have all onthe same floor. Unfortunately, over promised under delivered, we are all seperated to 3 different floor.

Well, room was big, bed is comfortable. Near to a eating place behind the hotel. Not very near to the shopping mall. Swimming pool was ok.

Unlucky of us, Aircon break down in the afternoon, but no one inform us and even when we call the front office 3 times, their only reply is "We are checking". The understanding of English is very limited, when we were ask to transfer hotel after dinner and drinks due to the aircon break down in the mid of the night, I actually ask for the Front Office manager or the Duty Manager, the staff just stand there and say ok but not doing anything.

We never ever recommend or step into that hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    62
    37
    7
    11
See reviews for
39
37
3
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Booked 4 rooms 3 months ahead of our stay on 8th August 2013 with request for early check in at 11am which was agreed. Rooms were not ready when we arrived at 12noon and we were easy about it since it was a busy period and decided to go to BCS for shopping and when we were back at 5pm, they were still not available, but when a couple came in without any booking, was given a upgrade to premium room for immediate check in which caused us to blow up. The room has towels and the basic toiletries for 1 guest where our booking were for 2-3 pax per room. When we booked for the van service for 4 hours, they accepted and then later said it was not available and proposed that we took 2 cars at same rate which we agreed, But 1 hour later, it was not available and they proposed we take another van for 20% higher than the original rate per hour but this time we need to take up to 6 hours instead of the 4 hours, which we did not take up after all. We asked the concierge for information on massage since their spa was closed. they proposed us to arrange for masseuse to be send to our room and we agreed on the price and for 7 of us at the agreed timing. we went ahead to the chilling swimming pool and they do not have towels, so we went back to our rooms to bring ours. After half an hour, they announced that the masseuses will be at our room within half an hour, so all of us rush to have a shower and get back to our rooms, another 15 minutes they came to say only 3 were available. we got so tired and fed up that we cancel the service and it was then too late to go back to the swimming pool as it closes at 10pm. This is our first trip to Batam. I am giving the rating as average instead of poor is because the staff were generally polite and I can see they are trying very hard, but the management has to provide training to upgrade the service level.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Reach the hotel at 4pm, tap water was yellow color and clean water came in after let it flow for 5 mins.
The swimming pool water is freezing cold at the hot weather, maybe the water filter system have a chiller or something, guess the water only around 10 degree.
Aircon was spoiled since I checked in and not repaired till almost midnight there we were requested to transfer to another hotel at 12 midnight.
Will not book this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I booked a 3 bedroom appartment for my family of 4 and also my inlaw. My sister inlaw and also my maid also join in. the room is pretty small for a family of 4. When it's rain, the floor is wet. The breakfast is nice. The air-con is not very cold. We taken the oyster egg at the harker food beside the hotel and 3 of us had diarrhoea. Lucky it is on the last day when we are back in Singapore. The shopping is nice and there are plenty of things to buy. Just becareful of the where you take the food.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Dun even think about going unless they have fixed their central air con system. Due to the breakdown of the air con, they send us to their sister hotel, Panorama Regency. But room n service were really bad.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

First the good things about the hotel.
It is a new hotel with pleasant decor.
Rooms are large even for the deluxe room, but I am not sure what you can do with the huge space between the bed and the TV, perhaps you can bring along two badminton rackets and have a game before bedtime.
Location is next to BCS mall, though you have to do a little bit of walking (5 mins), watch out for traffic as you will be walking through the car park exit.
A night food court that is quite huge and new is next to the hotel but again, you have to walk a bit of detour to enter it because the hotel's entrance/walkway is facing away from the good bits.
Read lots of negative reviews about breakfast but during my stay, breakfast was acceptable with decent choices on offer and the crowd was light when I had my breakfast around 8am on a Sunday morning. Waiters were prompt and efficient in clearing plates. Compared to higher rated or similar hotels in Johor Bahru which I stayed before (eg. Grand Paragon, Zon Regency, New York Hotel), the breakfast experience here was more pleasant. At least there is ample food to go around.
Now we talk about what's no good.
Stinky smell from shower drainage hole, I think it due to air reflux from the sewerage system. At least the smell does not permeates into the room.
I am suspicious whether the housekeeping team actually replace all the hygiene items after each check out.
Towel with stain that looks suspiciously like s**t stain, check all your towels before using.
Pillow cover was yellowish with creases that looked like it was not replaced. Clean pillow cases in hotels always have the crisp just-ironed look but this one was missing.
One of the bedroom slippers was without wrapper and there was foot marks and a hair stuck on it.
Toiletries - please bring your own if you are sharing the room, only limited quantity and bare minimum provided for one person.
Hot water at shower is at best lukewarm when turned to the max. Shower head water pressure is as strong as a jet hose, you can probably use it to wash a car.
Hotel lifts are slow because the four lifts are individually controlled without a central computer to dispatch them efficiently, resulting in duplicating trips. One lift was down the entire stay I was there, so each trip on the lift can take almost 10 minutes during peak. Pity the hotel staff who have to share their only staff lift with guests. First hotel key given to us didn't work, so it took about 20 minutes before we finally could check into our room because of the lifts. Ask for duplicate key which is not given by default.
Lock your hotel room door with the latch because I overheard another group of guests were given keys to an occupied room and they went into their room to find the other guests inside! You don't want that to happen to you when you are butt naked right?
This hotel has potential if it can improve on its software. Good housekeeping and improvements to the lift system would add one more star to my rating.

Room Tip: Acceptable standards for its price. Good enough for a short stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bintan Island, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The only thing i like from this hotel is the Shower room i love the design, but i will think twice to stay here beacuse of the breakfast,,,queue up for 20min to get my table.Floating arround hotel during rain.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The BCC Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The BCC Hotel & Residence

Address: Jalan Bunga Mawar, Riau Islands Province 29444, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 64 hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The BCC Hotel & Residence 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The BCC Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The BCC Hotel & Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.