We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BCC Hotel & Residence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The BCC Hotel & Residence

Save Saved
You added The BCC Hotel & Residence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The BCC Hotel & Residence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Bunga Mawar, Riau Islands Province 29444, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 71 Hotels in Batam
Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The BCC Hotel & Residence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I booked a 3 bedroom appartment for my family of 4 and also my inlaw. My sister inlaw and also my maid also join in. the room is pretty small for a family of 4. When it's rain, the floor is wet. The breakfast is nice. The air-con is not very cold. We taken the oyster egg at the harker food beside the hotel and 3 of us had diarrhoea. Lucky it is on the last day when we are back in Singapore. The shopping is nice and there are plenty of things to buy. Just becareful of the where you take the food.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    78
    41
    8
    12
See reviews for
48
42
3
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Dun even think about going unless they have fixed their central air con system. Due to the breakdown of the air con, they send us to their sister hotel, Panorama Regency. But room n service were really bad.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

First the good things about the hotel.
It is a new hotel with pleasant decor.
Rooms are large even for the deluxe room, but I am not sure what you can do with the huge space between the bed and the TV, perhaps you can bring along two badminton rackets and have a game before bedtime.
Location is next to BCS mall, though you have to do a little bit of walking (5 mins), watch out for traffic as you will be walking through the car park exit.
A night food court that is quite huge and new is next to the hotel but again, you have to walk a bit of detour to enter it because the hotel's entrance/walkway is facing away from the good bits.
Read lots of negative reviews about breakfast but during my stay, breakfast was acceptable with decent choices on offer and the crowd was light when I had my breakfast around 8am on a Sunday morning. Waiters were prompt and efficient in clearing plates. Compared to higher rated or similar hotels in Johor Bahru which I stayed before (eg. Grand Paragon, Zon Regency, New York Hotel), the breakfast experience here was more pleasant. At least there is ample food to go around.
Now we talk about what's no good.
Stinky smell from shower drainage hole, I think it due to air reflux from the sewerage system. At least the smell does not permeates into the room.
I am suspicious whether the housekeeping team actually replace all the hygiene items after each check out.
Towel with stain that looks suspiciously like s**t stain, check all your towels before using.
Pillow cover was yellowish with creases that looked like it was not replaced. Clean pillow cases in hotels always have the crisp just-ironed look but this one was missing.
One of the bedroom slippers was without wrapper and there was foot marks and a hair stuck on it.
Toiletries - please bring your own if you are sharing the room, only limited quantity and bare minimum provided for one person.
Hot water at shower is at best lukewarm when turned to the max. Shower head water pressure is as strong as a jet hose, you can probably use it to wash a car.
Hotel lifts are slow because the four lifts are individually controlled without a central computer to dispatch them efficiently, resulting in duplicating trips. One lift was down the entire stay I was there, so each trip on the lift can take almost 10 minutes during peak. Pity the hotel staff who have to share their only staff lift with guests. First hotel key given to us didn't work, so it took about 20 minutes before we finally could check into our room because of the lifts. Ask for duplicate key which is not given by default.
Lock your hotel room door with the latch because I overheard another group of guests were given keys to an occupied room and they went into their room to find the other guests inside! You don't want that to happen to you when you are butt naked right?
This hotel has potential if it can improve on its software. Good housekeeping and improvements to the lift system would add one more star to my rating.

Room Tip: Acceptable standards for its price. Good enough for a short stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bintan Island, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The only thing i like from this hotel is the Shower room i love the design, but i will think twice to stay here beacuse of the breakfast,,,queue up for 20min to get my table.Floating arround hotel during rain.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Overall is terrible... Shower cap also didn't provide... Booking double bed but don't have need to show the booking email that I got the special request just only they willing to find me the double bed room...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Booked a 1 night stay with 4 other friends at the 2-bedroom apartment on the 10th floor. Was served juices upon arrival since we had to wait 15mins fr the room. room was decent and spacious but we realised the cupboards doesnt have clothes hanger and we were told to let the tap and shower water run for a few mins as the water were yellowish when we turn it on. we couldnt get the wifi signal on the 10th floor, and when we called to check we were informed that the wifi signal is only on the 2nd to
the 5th floor which i find it ridiculous as we weren't informed about this upon check in. breakfast buffet had a variety spread and the staff were attentive.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Hotel is pretty new.
Booked a twin sharing but was given a King. Didn't bother to change since sharing with my sister. Room is spacious and clean. See through bath room is interesting for couples, however you can choose to let down the blinds if you want. Very limited supply of shower gel, shampoo, only 1 toothbrush for double occupancy room and no shower cap or hairdryer in the bathroom so bring your own toiletries! Aircond is auto adjust & takes a long time to cool the room down. Bed is medium and i preferred hard. Pillow is too soft.
However, front desk staff and doorman are friendly and helpful.
Waiting time for lift is long, reason being the lift door opens at many different levels eventhough no one was there. Very strange feeling but i choose not to think of anything `funny'!
Breakfast is average; nothing to yell about.
Location of is the best of all. Located just next to BCS shopping mall and 3 minutes walk to a2 foodcourt. Lots of local food to eat from evening till midnight. Opposite BCS is a row of run down shophouses which serve very yummy chinese cuisine like claypot fish soup with yam, fried fish or assam curry fish. Bak kut teh is good too.
Behind the shophouses is the local wet market. Go in the morning after your breakfast and you'll be surprised to buy average good quality dried goods and yes, not forgetting a few hello kitty shops.
Took the hotel's taxi to Nagoya shopping mall at 50,000. We pay the same rate when we head to batam centre ferry terminal. The taxi is a MPV and new and comfy.
Overall, quite a good experience. i'll come back again for i like the location best.

Room Tip: high floor normally quieter but long waiting time for lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The BCC Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The BCC Hotel & Residence

Address: Jalan Bunga Mawar, Riau Islands Province 29444, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 71 Hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The BCC Hotel & Residence 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The BCC Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The BCC Hotel & Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.