We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rating should be good and not very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The BCC Hotel & Residence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The BCC Hotel & Residence to your Saves list
The BCC Hotel & Residence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Bunga Mawar, Riau Islands Province 29444, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 76 Hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Rating should be good and not very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Hotel is pretty new.
Booked a twin sharing but was given a King. Didn't bother to change since sharing with my sister. Room is spacious and clean. See through bath room is interesting for couples, however you can choose to let down the blinds if you want. Very limited supply of shower gel, shampoo, only 1 toothbrush for double occupancy room and no shower cap or hairdryer in the bathroom so bring your own toiletries! Aircond is auto adjust & takes a long time to cool the room down. Bed is medium and i preferred hard. Pillow is too soft.
However, front desk staff and doorman are friendly and helpful.
Waiting time for lift is long, reason being the lift door opens at many different levels eventhough no one was there. Very strange feeling but i choose not to think of anything `funny'!
Breakfast is average; nothing to yell about.
Location of is the best of all. Located just next to BCS shopping mall and 3 minutes walk to a2 foodcourt. Lots of local food to eat from evening till midnight. Opposite BCS is a row of run down shophouses which serve very yummy chinese cuisine like claypot fish soup with yam, fried fish or assam curry fish. Bak kut teh is good too.
Behind the shophouses is the local wet market. Go in the morning after your breakfast and you'll be surprised to buy average good quality dried goods and yes, not forgetting a few hello kitty shops.
Took the hotel's taxi to Nagoya shopping mall at 50,000. We pay the same rate when we head to batam centre ferry terminal. The taxi is a MPV and new and comfy.
Overall, quite a good experience. i'll come back again for i like the location best.

Room Tip: high floor normally quieter but long waiting time for lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    89
    55
    12
    18
See reviews for
59
50
3
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Western australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

we stayed 2 nights in an executive suite as a treat. The room was awesome with huge living room, king bed and double spa bath and rain shower. the toiletries were incomplete, the pillows too large and too hard, only 1 sachet of creamer for tea and coffee facilities. Breakfast was very average. Picked 2 ants from my bread, had to be careful carrying plate to my table as the staff were eager to push in front of the guests at the buffet. Stocks were not replenished very well. Cakes stale. I decided to go for a swim in the pool though no towels were available, no staff present, even the bar had no barman so in the end, i gave up. For a 4 star hotel, this one is well below par. A huge expense for an awesome room but that's all that was good about it

Room Tip: look for better service hotel. Try one from the Harmoni group
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

It is a whole new experience, from hotel rooms to apartments. Actually at first, I thought it will turn out to be a very dirty and bad room, but it was a beautiful apartment with a lovely table, three comfortable rooms, a cozy living room, and two clean high-classed washroom. I love it how it all turn out to be. It is perfect and it is just right for a family outing. The breakfast buffet was good, with miso soup and other great foods. The service is good and fast. Everything is great, just that it is a bit out of place. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. Complimentary Water was given generously.

Sauna,jacuzzi & pool were above expectations.

Breakfast spread wasnt fantastic, the better dishes were the breads, veggies and fried beehoon..

Located near a shopping mall in which good local food can be found.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on 15 June - 16 June 2013. Reached hotel at 10 am (Batam Time ) and our room was READY!!! Check in was fast done by Reception Staff Rhaya. Service with a smile. Was informed by Rhaya the hotel facilities level. Room is spacious that my toddler happily running around the room. Hotel Taxi is so comfortable and honest driver. Breakfast spread was ok. Variety. Clear our used plates fast. Asked for a late check out and was granted. We checked out at 1.30 pm ( Batam Time ).

Overall the hotel is Strongly Recommended. The location is just next to BCS Mall where you can bargain for good stuff. Heard the Nasi Padang at BCS Mall Level 3, a restaurant is nice and very affordable but haven't get to try.

For food lovers who's looking for nice food with different atmosphere, should try going to Saung Sunda Sawargi, Sundanese food, Batam. It's going to change location to Batam Centre. Try calling them before going. Food are Spicy and very nice... And a nice kampong atmosphere which can't get in Singapore.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

It takes about RP 50,000 to travel from Batam Center Ferry Terminal to the hotel, roughly, 10-15 minutes ride.

I made a booking through booking.com. Hotel staff asked me for RP 2 million as a deposit, at the end of the stay, they will deduct the amount payable from the deposit and return me the balance. Hotel staff informed that there's no more rooms with double bed, only 2 single bed rooms are available. Thankfully, I requested for a double bed when booking. We were given a double bed. And magically, they have a double bed room for us.

The location is good, there's a shopping mall beside the hotel, you can catch a movie at the highest level (the cinema is rather warm). Opposite, there are a very places you can go for massage. There's also an open air foodcourt (a2) which is affordable and good. Opposite the hotel, there's a good place to have bak kut teh too! Too bad it was closed when we went there.

Try not to take the taxi from the hotel as they quote a higher price (RP 65,000). You can walk to the BCS mall to get a cab. Standard price is RP50,000.

Breakfast is nice.The bedroom is huge!! We're very happy with the size and design of the room. However, there's no hairdryer. The hangers in the wardrobe cannot be removed from the wardrobe, and the hangers are too huge for our shirts, I gave up trying to hang my clothes. A safe is provided in the wardrobe, but it was faulty. We didn't bother to check with the staff.

I requested for a lighter as we were celebrating a birthday. The hotel charged me SGD1, not that it was expensive, but I thought the hotel could have provided matchsticks as a compliment? It's not that expensive, is it?

The lifts are weird, stops at every floor even when there's no one at the level. And it didn't just happen on one or two occasions. On one occasion, a few of the staff entered the lifts at different levels. They were chatting even as one of the staff was exiting the lift. They just stood at the door and continue talking for a while before they all decided to exit the lift to continue talking.

The staff are mostly very friendly. Wifi is strong.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

just returned from Batam. Stayed at BCC Hotel. Was on 17th floor. Nice large room with panoramic city view. Free wi-fi but v weak signal. Loved the heated swimming pool on Level 1. The large swimming pool is nice and clean but the water was freezing cold. Went into the heated pool to "warm up" in between. Nice gym overlooking the pool. Convenient location, next to BCS mall, and A2 foodcourt......though I thought that Nagoya mall was nicer than BCS mall. Cons: The hotel spa was a total disappointment. Masseuse merely slathered unscented oil over body with hardly any massage, followed by body scrub which she draped the sodden used towel over me so I felt wet, soggy, and cold with the A/C blasted above me. Also my ears were drowning from the noise from the running tap in jacuzzi. This was topped up with an equally cold body mask which left me shivering in a sad miserable and uncomfortable state. Finally rinsed off the mask in jacuzzi. Really lousy and rather pricey too! Instead of feeling relaxed during spa, felt like I went thru freezing cold body treatment in the Artic :(

Room Tip: high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The BCC Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The BCC Hotel & Residence

Address: Jalan Bunga Mawar, Riau Islands Province 29444, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 76 Hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The BCC Hotel & Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The BCC Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The BCC Hotel & Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.