We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location and huge room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The BCC Hotel & Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The BCC Hotel & Residence to your Saves list
The BCC Hotel & Residence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Bunga Mawar, Riau Islands Province 29444, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 75 Hotels in Batam
Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Convenient location and huge room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

It takes about RP 50,000 to travel from Batam Center Ferry Terminal to the hotel, roughly, 10-15 minutes ride.

I made a booking through booking.com. Hotel staff asked me for RP 2 million as a deposit, at the end of the stay, they will deduct the amount payable from the deposit and return me the balance. Hotel staff informed that there's no more rooms with double bed, only 2 single bed rooms are available. Thankfully, I requested for a double bed when booking. We were given a double bed. And magically, they have a double bed room for us.

The location is good, there's a shopping mall beside the hotel, you can catch a movie at the highest level (the cinema is rather warm). Opposite, there are a very places you can go for massage. There's also an open air foodcourt (a2) which is affordable and good. Opposite the hotel, there's a good place to have bak kut teh too! Too bad it was closed when we went there.

Try not to take the taxi from the hotel as they quote a higher price (RP 65,000). You can walk to the BCS mall to get a cab. Standard price is RP50,000.

Breakfast is nice.The bedroom is huge!! We're very happy with the size and design of the room. However, there's no hairdryer. The hangers in the wardrobe cannot be removed from the wardrobe, and the hangers are too huge for our shirts, I gave up trying to hang my clothes. A safe is provided in the wardrobe, but it was faulty. We didn't bother to check with the staff.

I requested for a lighter as we were celebrating a birthday. The hotel charged me SGD1, not that it was expensive, but I thought the hotel could have provided matchsticks as a compliment? It's not that expensive, is it?

The lifts are weird, stops at every floor even when there's no one at the level. And it didn't just happen on one or two occasions. On one occasion, a few of the staff entered the lifts at different levels. They were chatting even as one of the staff was exiting the lift. They just stood at the door and continue talking for a while before they all decided to exit the lift to continue talking.

The staff are mostly very friendly. Wifi is strong.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    86
    45
    11
    12
See reviews for
53
45
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

just returned from Batam. Stayed at BCC Hotel. Was on 17th floor. Nice large room with panoramic city view. Free wi-fi but v weak signal. Loved the heated swimming pool on Level 1. The large swimming pool is nice and clean but the water was freezing cold. Went into the heated pool to "warm up" in between. Nice gym overlooking the pool. Convenient location, next to BCS mall, and A2 foodcourt......though I thought that Nagoya mall was nicer than BCS mall. Cons: The hotel spa was a total disappointment. Masseuse merely slathered unscented oil over body with hardly any massage, followed by body scrub which she draped the sodden used towel over me so I felt wet, soggy, and cold with the A/C blasted above me. Also my ears were drowning from the noise from the running tap in jacuzzi. This was topped up with an equally cold body mask which left me shivering in a sad miserable and uncomfortable state. Finally rinsed off the mask in jacuzzi. Really lousy and rather pricey too! Instead of feeling relaxed during spa, felt like I went thru freezing cold body treatment in the Artic :(

Room Tip: high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The hotel is quite good. The rooms are really spacious, the fittings are reasonably new and do work quite well. The bedsheets smell nice and fresh. Be warned though that the rooms and corridors may smell of cigarette smoke, as I don't think there are non-smoking rooms. The hotel staff are polite and the front counter staff is helpful. Don't go for the massage though, as the masseur has not much skill. Go to the nearby shopping centre for cheap meals. The breakfast is quite good, with a wide variety of food. The internet wifi access is patchy. Do use the swimming pool, the saunas and the gym.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Good location but terrible spa.
Masseuse was sick. We booked for 4 pax in the morning for 9 pm slot
Called to cancel one pax half an hour before.
During session, coughed, sniffled and burped non-stop.
Blamed the burping on me because I had wind.
Talked continuously with friend because we shared a couple room.
Did not give the complete hour.
Did not massage - only rubbed oil.
Bed was dirty and covering was stained. No towel or robe offered
Massage spas just across the road the next day was much better, cleaner and cheaper.

Room Tip: Do not use the hotel massage spa. Masseuse was sick, did not complete the hour allocated and did no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

First time stay in here, room is big, spacious and clean. There's a shopping mall just 5 minutes walk from the hotel very convenient. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast spread was sufficient. The hotel is about a year old. Overall service was good. Will come back again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

The worst hotel I have stayed in for a long time. The rooms themselves are lovely and big but the rest of the hotel needs some major attention. Only 2 working lifts for over 30 floors so allow at least 10mins if you want to get down to the lobby or back to your room. The staff are rude and treat you like a walking cash machine. Everything including ice costs extra and the taxi drivers are crooks. Also don't come here if you want a good nights sleep, it is very noisy and a mosque right next door which goes off at 4am! Breakfast is pretty good but that's it's only saving grace.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed in DLX room. Big room size, modern design and clean. It's a pity that there's no bathtub, despite the huge size of the room. Staffs were friendly, but not properly trained and service quality can be improved. Breakfast was decent, not wide spread, but still edible. Location is good, walking distance to BCS Mall, where you can buy some local stuffs and there's supermarket too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The BCC Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The BCC Hotel & Residence

Address: Jalan Bunga Mawar, Riau Islands Province 29444, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 75 Hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The BCC Hotel & Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The BCC Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The BCC Hotel & Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.