We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The BCC Hotel & Residence

Save Saved
You added The BCC Hotel & Residence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The BCC Hotel & Residence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Bunga Mawar, Riau Islands Province 29444, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 64 hotels in Batam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Splendid service,probably the standard kind of service you will get anywhere and everywhere in batam. They occasionally press the lifts for u,smile at u etc

Room was spacious but kinda too much unused space which can be occupied by certain better furniture or stuffs like that. Shampoo and shower gel half used,toilet roll not much left.

Breakfast buffet-food was cold probably because I went one and a half hours after their open,juices concentrated no ice,milk for the cereal was not cold too.but when I asked the cook for scrambled eggs she prepared for me with a smile.

Overall worth it as we bought their promotion voucher,if you're not expecting five star this is your place to be.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    62
    37
    7
    11
See reviews for
39
37
3
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I thought i booked a room with a bathtub (i forgot which room was that) and so i actually booked a normal standard room. I've been to a few hotels in batam, i think most of their rooms are designed to be big and spacious even for a standard room.

I managed to check in earlier, requested for a smoking room and it is located on a high floor. As I stayed 2 nights, had to deposit 2 million rupiah (approximately $260 sgd) and balance will be given on the day i check out. Requested for a late check out about 2 hrs later but only given half an hour grace. LIKE WHATEVER~~~ And i heard if you were to drag, they will charge extra?

Location wise is good as it is near to BCS mall, just beside the hotel. There is also a food centre located beside the hotel too but I didnt explore on that. Taxi trip to nagoya hill mall is about 25k rupiah if you take outside of the hotel. Return trip is a standard of 40k rupiah cos the driver had to pay the entrance fee or something like that which I believe it only costs about 1000-2000 rupiah. Ok like whatever?!

Room was clean and well kept. Of course it's big and spacious. Wifi is available but not a high speed. The toilet clogged when I was bathing and I had to be my own plumber pumping the hole so as to let the water disappear. Can't be bothered to complain this to the hotel staff cos it only happened twice and was ok when I showered subsequently.

Complain no.1-
Fridge was not working and the engineer came about an hour plus later as they were tending to other rooms. I was advised to wait for another half an hour before the fridge turns cold. After which it didn't. I called up reception and they told me to wait for another half an hour to 1 hour of which I fell asleep soon after. Woke up at 6am and STILL the fridge was not working. Called up reception and this time within 5 mins the engineer came. He found out it was faulty and will exchange it with another fridge. It was not that long after he came up with another fridge and this time it works. Thank GOD. I wonder how come the hotel staffs doesn't make sure their electronics stuffs to be in good working condition before letting the guests in?

Complain no.2-
Requested for a bucket of ice and the staff told me that will need to pay 7.5k rupiah and I told him why should I since your fridge is not working since the day before? AND guess what? I was given a GLASS of ice as a complimentary instead? What the hell? It's not about money that matters. It's about customer service. If you get what i mean.

Complain no.3-
Next, I requested for an ironing board and iron on the first day, it didn't come so I requested again at 6am in the morning together with my complain on the fridge. To my distraught, the staff came with only an iron claiming that the ironing board is out of stock for the day due to holiday season so the hotel was fully booked and so there were many guests which explains why the service was a bit slow and yeah stuffs gets out of stock easily. And so.. I wanted to plug in near the bed so i can iron on the bed BUT the socket was different from the plug and i can only plug it in the bathroom and what? Ask me to iron in the bathroom on top of the sink is it??? So I had to call up reception and complain AGAIN. As soon after, the staff came up with an ironing board. Seriously BCC hotel, if this is truly a 4 star hotel, each room SHOULD have an iron and ironing board.

Overall, i think it was okay except for a few glitches and also because of peak period so the sudden surge of guests staying in the hotel. I don't mind coming back to this hotel BUT NOT on peak period cos I am not confident that their services would be as prompt and efficient as every other day. Speaking of which BCC hotel needs to look into this.

Oh I missed out on the breakfast. It was nothing fantastic. Just okay-okay only.

Room Tip: higher floor for smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I love the spacious room like in 5 stars hotel. I had a very good sleep and dream :)

The food in breakfast was ok, but for the Management the SOP in clear up must be improved, it's not a four stars hotel standard, and coffee and tea suppose to be pouring by waiter/tress rather than they appointed the location, while not many guest during the breakfast time.

The meeting room is average but the buffet is less in variation.

Again the one that I couldnt forget is the room, worth for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

great hotel to saty in batam about 15 min ride from the ferry(40k indo) $4- 5 aus dollars big hotel fairly new ,marble bathroom great view an next to a medium size mall that has the best prices great for moblie phone (check out 4 other places this was still the cheapest) but back to the hotel i paid $80 pn with agoda included bkft room was big good air con quiet ,staff great friend an fixed the broken safe in 30 mins.There also a food court (indo style ) thru the back wall ,central to ngoya mall 5 mins taxi and small walk to winston seafood restaurants ,cheap eating great seafood next to acpl of ktv longues an bars also.
all in all great place to stay if u can pay that little extra and i glad i did. when booking becareful of location or ur savings will go in taxi fares

Room Tip: see above for tips shopping etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Booked 2 deluxe room and stayed in room 1918. All i can say is they have excellent services! Prompt room services and understanding front desk personnel. Everyone is very very helpful. And last but not least, good location! BCS and A2 is just beside the hotel.

Room is big and clean. Aircon is good too! but there is 1 disadvantage: The lift. you have to wait very long for a lift, and wait very long to reach the lobby if you are staying at higher floors.

Overall a good experience! Do not hesitate to pm me if you have enquires. Cheers!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Greeted by a really grand entrance for a hotel in Batam. Front desk was friendly and willing to acomodate to an early check in of 1 hour.

Booked the executive suite that was really huge. Living room was spacious with a day bed, sofa coffee table, LCD tv and a side couch. An additional dining room that complemented the setup gave us the luxury to have our dinner from the streets that we brought back. The room was acceptable with a super king sized bed, an LCD tv and a coat hangar. The wardrobe was located at the entrance door with a safebox inside. The view was magnificent, as we were towering over all of Batam as the tallest Hotel in Sumatra. Just right below was the A2 food court which served late night supper and some BINGO fun that i got lucky at and brought home a gold chain for my girlfriend (thank you Batam!) The toilet had a 2 person jacuzzi, rain shower, basin and a toilet bowl - acceptable size for a toilet.

now time for my feedback:
1) weird design with wardrobe at the main entrance, outside the bedroom.
2) found a dead cockroach at the door upon entering. (cleared it myself)
3) jacuzzi was not "fused" to the walls with silicon, hence, exposing the pipes and some wires behind. Therefore, it was "moveable".
4) luckily for the "exposed" pipes, i was able to find the hot water valve behind the tub that was found closed that didnt give me hot water to the tub. Open the valve and hot water filled the tub.
5) water that filled the tub was yellowish in colour but had no odour.
6) basin drainage was leaking and found drainage piping to be dislodged. loosened the joints and managed to rectify the problem myself.
7) room aircon was not cold. (called mgmt and they sent 2 technicians down who resetted the 3way regulating valve for the centralised air conditioning system.)
8) Breakfast at the cafeteria was great with a lot of space and a really good spread of food.

Not a perfect experience but it could have been better especially since it was meant to be a suite. Requested for birthday arrangements but to no avail.

Room Tip: The executive suite was an overkill for a couple stay. maybe the premier or deluxe suite would have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Travel date : 8 March
Stayed for one night with a girl friend. Bought the package from deal. Check in was without hassle as agent have prepare our hotel slip in advance. Hotel rooms were spacious, beds are clean, and so as the toilets, air con works well. Didnt encounter any hostile staff. Breakfast was normal, for the price we paid, nothing to complain about. BCS mall is just around the corner. A1 food court was great, food not expensive and variety was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The BCC Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The BCC Hotel & Residence

Address: Jalan Bunga Mawar, Riau Islands Province 29444, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 64 hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The BCC Hotel & Residence 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and TripOnline SA so you can book your The BCC Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The BCC Hotel & Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.