We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean work in-progress hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The BCC Hotel & Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The BCC Hotel & Residence to your Saves list
The BCC Hotel & Residence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Bunga Mawar, Riau Islands Province 29444, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 75 Hotels in Batam
Bay Area, Northern California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Clean work in-progress hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Patience is required. This is a new hotel run by eager new employees.

The good:
Fleet of hotel taxis that can be billed to your room. Driver returned my camera to the front desk when I forgot it in the car.
Complimentary breakfast is passable.
Pool facilities are great.
Family-style karaoke is mostly unused and available if you want to drop in and be the only group there.
Employees are friendly and try to do their best.
Dinner menu is pretty good.
Workout area is new with lots of equipment.
Bed is very comfortable for the American back.

The so-so:
Even if your laundry bag is hidden in the closet half-filled with no paperwork, the laundry guy will still root around and take it to the cleaner.
Most of the detail work in the hotel is pretty poor. Lots of peeling paint, drywall damage, and dings where there should be none in a new hotel. There were visible holes in the concrete next to my television where they had drilled mounting holes in the wrong spot and neglected to fill them back up.
Lighting in the bathroom was fancy but not functional for using the mirror.
My door knob was new but a strong arm could pull it apart from the outside. I practically bent it out just closing the door firmly to leave.

The bad:
Elevators are very badly managed. A trip from the 20th floor could take 5 minutes with many stops to floors with nobody waiting.
My room safe had its mounting bolts sitting on the shelf in front of it. A thief could pick the thing up and walk out.
Single pane windows let all of the A2food court music (ALL NIGHT BOoM BOoM BOOM), Muslim calls to prayer at 4:30 a.m., and scooter noise right into the room.
There were no drawers of any kind.
There was no clock.
One load of my laundry was taken and never returned. They argued that it had been returned. I would definitely know if that was true. Not true.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    86
    45
    11
    12
See reviews for
53
45
3
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in BCC for one night. Room is very big and spacious. Given twin bed that joined together to form double bed. Wasn't a problem. Bellboy is very helpful and friendly. Always greet us with a smile and would open the door for us. Location is good next to BCS mall with big supermarket where you can shop for groceries. Behind the hotel is a big food court where you can find plenty sg food and seafood. Will come back to this hotel when visit batam!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M'Sia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at bcc one night during our trip in batam. Worth the money as the room is huge, a big mall next door and a open air food court with cheap seafood.! Will definitely go back again!! Breakfast was quite normal but cater whatever the basic needs.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked a 3D2N stay in BCC hotel after receiving a strong recommendation from friend. Upon check in, we were impressed by the spacious and clean room. The location was good as what other guests have commented.
However, good things doesn't last. On our second night, the nightmare began. At around 11pm, both my boyfriend and I started to feel that there is something wrong with air con in the room as the room is getting more and more stuffy. After waiting for 15 mins with no improvement to the temperature, we decided to call the recep counter to check if anything was wrong with the air con. We were told that nothing was wrong with the air con system, however they will reset the main air con system and we were told to wait 10 mins for the effect. After 10 mins of wait and we still feel no difference, we decided to call the recep counter again. This time, we ask if any if the hotel guests made similar complaint as we will like to know does the air con problem lie with our room or the whole hotel and we were told that no other guest complain, so we suggested to them to move us to another room which they say they will check again and told us to wait for another 10 mins. Hence, we waited patiently.
As expected, the situation didn't change and the room is getting so hot and stuffy that we are able to sleep at all. We made the third call, and to our frustration, we were told that the chiller of the air con was spoiled and we are not the only room that is affected. They told us that they were fixing the chiller and we were asked to wait for an hour. Seeing no end to this, we decided to give up on the air con and we requested for a electric fan in our room so that we can at least sleep (it was about 12am at that time already). And guess what, we were told to wait again as they need to bring the fan down from the conference room. After waiting for 10/15 mins, nothing appear. Hence, we called again and we were told that they are waiting for the keys to access to the conference room to get the fan! This is totally ridiculous!! We were fuming then and requested to speak to the duty manager but was told that there is no duty manager around!! About 15 mins later, a staff finally brought a fan (which smells like a fan that is used in the kitchen) into the room. Thereafter, the staff called the "duty manager" who was at home and the manager spoke to us over the phone. In our horror, the duty manager explain that she can move us to another room! This was then we realized that not all rooms are affected by this chiller!
It was around 1am that time and we were hot, tired, angry and feeling the whole episode a joke. After 2 hours of probing, it was then highlighted to us that we are allowed to move to another room! We choose that option eventually rather than sleeping in the room with the oily smelling fan. Then, the absurd thing happen when the room that we were moved into have a very strong cigarette smell when it is suppose to be a non-smoking room. We were flaming with fire at that moment. The hotel staff is totally insincere at all. When we told them that we are not going to move into this room with such strong cigarette smell, they still insist that there is no smell. After that, they then move us to another room unwillingly. It was about 130am when we finally settle down.
The next morning, we went to the recep counter and requested to speak to a manager about last night episode, and a lady manager came out. After illustrating what happen to us last night, she doesn't seems to express any sense of sorry for the experience that the hotel has done to their guest. We decided to speak the most senior manager of the hotel. Howeve, After checking, this lady manager claim that the General Manager (Winston or Wilson Tor) is not around. As we are checking out that morning, hence we can't afford to wait, therefore we demanded for this GM to email us with a detailed explanation on this episode. With no sense of remorse and guilt, the lady manager expects us to provide our email address at the counter when we check out! What lousy customer service and complain handling attitude is that. Anyway, we left our email with the recep during check out and guess what, till date (2 days have passed), no one has reverted to us.
This is a worst customer service experience that I have encountered so far. Though the location is good, but guess is not worth to substitute that with such horrible service!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

By its very nature a hotel is HOSPITALITY.............. Oh BCC, read that sentence.......... understand it........... delve into its meaning.... tear it apart............ put it back together......... and then, for chr......sss bl....dy....sake act on it because your staff have much to learn in this regard.

Very nice rooms, very nice fittings, very comfortable bed, very comfortable sheets, very comfortable pillows, great water pressure (it's a sad reflection on a country when one feels compelled to comment on the water pressure but, sheeeeeeesh, Indonesia!!!! get your stuff together and get the simple stuff sorted out!!!! guests at 4 and 5 star hotels ought not ever be feel compelled to comment on the water pressure... sheeeesh!!f)

Quite obviously this hotel is just a way for some rich dude to invest in real estate; there's no repeat no emphasis on hospitality.

People, you'll love the rooms and some of the other amenities and the location but leave your non-halal expectations and your expectations for warm, pro-active hospitality at home....... this is nothing but a 2-star hotel in a 4-star shell.

Room Tip: You won't get pork products here..............
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Booked a luxury suite, room was huge, with a living room and has a jucuzzi in the bathroom. Location was awesome, BCS mall is just next to it, and at night, there is a A2 food centre for you to dine at. Good place for a short relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is my 3rd stay in Batam and BCC Hotel is the best stay i had in Batam.

Very spacious hotel room, clean and new. The facility like swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam bath, sauna and gym was open until 11pm.

The hotel is very near to Batam City Square and a food court, mainly selling Singapore food which i dont really recommend.

Taking a cab from BCC Hotel to Nagoya Shopping Center or Sports Massage will cost you around SGD 7. If you are taking a cab from Nagoya Shopping Center to Sports Center, it will cost you around SGD 4.

As for the buffet breakfast, the timing is great, it is from 6am to 11am. Food wise, the porridge is nice.

Overall, the experience was great and i will definitely go back to BCC Hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The BCC Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The BCC Hotel & Residence

Address: Jalan Bunga Mawar, Riau Islands Province 29444, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 75 Hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The BCC Hotel & Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The BCC Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The BCC Hotel & Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.