We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New hotel, nothing much to shout about” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The BCC Hotel & Residence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The BCC Hotel & Residence to your Saves list
The BCC Hotel & Residence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Bunga Mawar, Riau Islands Province 29444, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 84 Hotels in Batam
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“New hotel, nothing much to shout about”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Arrived slightly earlier before the check in time but room was already ready. Booked the 3 Bedroom Apartment. We requested for 2 card keys but one didn't seem to be working even after a few troubleshooting by the front counter staff. The room was clean but floors was kind of oily, apartment had an odour but could not find the source, so we end up buying a air refresher for the apartment. The funiture was relatively new but it looked very average. the rooms was nice but i could not understand why of the bedroom had white light instead of warm light, also the masterbed room was poorly lit(only 2 small warm light bulbs in the room) . Saw a hole that was patch up suspected it used to be another light inside the room. overall the stay was not that bad. Not modern or beautiful very average

*take note* the 3+1 bedroom- the (+1 room) is just an empty space beside the kitchen with no air- conditioning. Its pointless paying extra for that unused space.

i also booked a deluve room for my parents it was great looked beautiful high floor unblocked view and relatively modern and great value for money. highly suggest to take the hotel rooms instead of the apartment.

batam center ferry terminal to bcs mall 50000 rupiah
hotel transfer from bcc to batam center ferry terminal 65000 rupiah(book thru reception) new 7 seater MPV. if u have more people its more worth to take the hotel transport.
Breakfast was quite limited but the eggs counter was great, swimming was a nice touch with a warm jaccuzzi pool. Just right beside bcs mall and A2 food center was a bonus!

Room Tip: Hotels rooms are on higher floors than apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    109
    80
    16
    30
See reviews for
82
65
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

AWESOME. that sums it all up.
got a deal to stay there for a night, and I LOVE IT!
nothing to complain about, super big hotel room, nice comfy bed, superb view of the city from my room (1605), nice shower, awesome facilities (gym with nobody around, my bf loved it haha), breakfast was so- so, good service from the staff, the list goes on and on..
location- wise its just next to a2 food court where we got some satay for supper, next to bcs shopping mall where we went for last minute shopping (or window shopping), took taxi ride (or rather a ride on the hotel van that costs 50,000 rp) to nagoya, and prompt response from the housekeeping staff when i asked for extra towel.. or maybe cos i went on a sunday and stayed till monday, don't know how the situation is like during peak periods.
definitely going to stay here again before the prices increase! (heard it has only been open for ard 6 mths)
highly recommended :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I had booked a 2 bedrooms apartment for the weekend few weeks ago. We took a ferry to Batam Centre ferry terminal and paid 50000rp for the taxi to BCC. We reached the hotel quite early but we were allowed to check in early as the room was available. The room allocated to us was room 310, and the room number plate was missing at the door. We had to walk along the corridor a few times looking for the room before we realised that the room was ours. Hope the hotel had fixed back the room number plate on the door by now.

We had requested for a spare bed for our child, but they placed the spare bed in the living room. Isn't it weird when we made the hotel reservation, we had stated the spare bed for child and they still place the bed in the living room instead of in one of the bedroom? Ended up we had to move the bed into the room by ourselves.

Overall the room looked quite new but not very clean. Maybe the room cleaner only clean those visible parts of the room, under the sofa was dirty with dried up noodles bits and tissues. We wouldn't had noticed it until we had things dropped under the sofa. The room also had a very strong moth ball smell. The towels provided were also not very clean, they were yellowish with stains. I'm not sure how often do they clean the swimming pool, but the water kinda smells when we went for a swim and the hot pool water looked murky.

We booked the hotel taxi to go to 2 temples and back to hotel for 200,000rp. I find the rate ok considering that it's a MPV and it's spacious and clean. I guess the only plus point for this hotel is the location, as it's near a shopping mall and the food centre. The breakfast spread is just average. Lastly, it will be nice if they can provide more complimentary bottled water, we were only provided 2 bottles when we had 4 adults in this 2 bedrooms apartment.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulau Ubin, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

A new property in Batam which has the right mix of quality and value. A basic room is super spacious and the bed is super huge (EXTRA-KING SIZE MAYBE). Bathroom is spotless clean & divided by a wall which features a glass panel (of course there is a bathroom blinds for privacy) Breakfast was good.. Location is just perfect..you can walk less then 5 minutes to BCS mall.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Its a new hotel, located beside BCS mall & A2 food centre. It is very convenient.

Check in was quick, settled less than 10minutes.

We had a 2 bedroom apartment, it is big and the interior decor was good. Although there is a kitchenette, there were no cutleries or glasses/plates. The kitchenette seems to be a ''look good feel good'' fixture in the room. Room was abit dusty. Showers are good.

The views are nice from the large windows in the rooms. Workmanship is not excellent, visible flaw.

Breakfast is one of the best in batam. Extensive spread of bread, cornflakes, rice, noodles, sausages & omelette stations.

The hotel is good, but could be better.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

When porter wrote our request for additional towel and accessory, it did not materialise. Room is spacious and clean though not very well thought out. Traffic can be heard even late at night. Breakfast is so so.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Stayed here in a 3 bedroom apartment for a night about a week back. The apartment was more than big enough to house all 7 of us (spanning 3 generations). Quite a number of the other reviewers have already highlighted why you should consider staying at this hotel, so I am going to keep my review personal.

Grouses - We had arrived in Batam in the morning and were hoping to check in early (which was fair enough not possible, probably because it was a Sunday) so we left our baggage to settle our lunch and wander around before returning at 2:30. However, the room was still not ready at that time (check-in time is stated as after 2pm). We were placated with drinks, but it was close to 4pm before we were eventually given the room card. Had I been alone this would have hardly been an issue, but I was travelling with elderly parents as well as my niece and nephew.

We were given only 2 room cards (which is pretty standard) but both of them failed to work on multiple occasions, which was a pain since you need the card to access your floor via the lift. There was a bell-boy or staff to help us out half the time, but we had to return to the lobby to get the card re-programmed the other half of the time.

I am hoping that these problems are one-off for our stay was otherwise really pleasant.

Compliments - The kids loved the swimming pool (including the hot bubble pool) and we used the steam room on more than one occasion. Aside from during Sunday afternoon/evening, the facilities were largely uncrowded. There was also no problem with a foul smell coming from the bathrooms in the morning or whatsoever.

The nearby BCS mall was convenient for some souvenir/snack shopping and for settling quick meals. There are other restaurants/stalls across the street from the mall but many of these were not serving halal food unfortunately. I was also able to catch some live Euro 2012 action at the A2 foodcourt (they had these projectors to telecast the match) which was a nice way to wind down the night.

The hotel also has vans/MPVs we could hire for IDR 90k/hour (with a driver of course, who essentially served as a local guide). This proved to be a much better option than taking a taxi to get around (since we would need 2 taxis given our group size).

Despite the check-in issue the rest of the hotel staff were really helpful and friendly. Though the apartment was not exactly cheap (for the price paid breakfast was pretty standard) I would definitely recommend staying here, particularly if travelling in a large group.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batam hotels
1.0 mi away
I Hotel
I Hotel
#13 of 84 in Batam
4.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gideon Hotel Batam
Gideon Hotel Batam
#20 of 84 in Batam
3.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harmoni Suites Hotel
Harmoni Suites Hotel
#3 of 21 in Nagoya
4.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Nagoya Mansion Hotel & Residence
1.5 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Harbour Bay
Swiss-Belhotel Harbour Bay
#1 of 4 in Batu Ampar
4.0 of 5 stars 334 reviews
3.1 mi away
HARRIS Hotel Batam Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The BCC Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The BCC Hotel & Residence

Address: Jalan Bunga Mawar, Riau Islands Province 29444, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 84 Hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The BCC Hotel & Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your The BCC Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The BCC Hotel & Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.