We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If It comes as s part of a package tour... No point grumbling!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Prawn 933

Golden Prawn 933
Batam, Bengkong Laut, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia
778411142
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 200 Restaurants in Batam
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“If It comes as s part of a package tour... No point grumbling!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Pos:
1. Very good spread and quantity can serve a whole group
2. Sea food tasted fresh
3. Ambience and location
Cons:
1. Little rusty.
2. Had better and bigger crabs elsewhere

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    74
    97
    38
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Atrocious . Never to go again.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Golden prawn 933 was a complete disappointment. This was my, also my wife, first trip to Batam. After checking into our hotel, we took a taxi to 933. We reached about 2.30pm, after the lunch time crowd. The restuarant was quite empty. Our table was filthy. No body clean it. The surrounding tables were littered with left over plates and food. We had ordered our food at the entrance, before sitting down at our table. We ordered six dishes, rice , one beer and one coconut drink. The rice came, but the plates, forks and spoons NEVER came.The Tiger beer came in a bottle UNOPENED and without cup. The coconut drink NEVER come. We waved to the waiters but nobody responded. When any waiters passed our table, we asked them, and ALL said wait, but never come back. We had to get our own plates, opened our beer and drank from the bottle. The first dish arrived after haif hour, it was passable. Other dishes were horrible, especially the sashimi oysters, which were supposed to be fresh, but were stale and shrivelled. Overall, the food was bad, the service non existence, the environment filthy and the price not competitive, Batam standard. Never to return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Appalling! Way below tourist standard! Avoid, pls”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Granted that it's Hari Raya & they were grossly understaffed. That should not have had any bearing on the quality of food served up for lunch today. Prawns were deep fried, to mask its unfreshness, chilli crab's only saving grace was its sauce - the rest of the dishes, not even worth a mention. Truly disappointing - avoid it at all cost!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“933”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

the food here is quite nice and very resonable compared to back home. service is not bad. u can get interesting fresh sea food if the season is right. not too far from town but a little touristy for me.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Not too bad, but too many flies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Food is okay, at least for the price I paid.
Reasonably okay, but just too many flies flying around, that I cant eat in peace.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Prawn 933 also viewed

 
Batam, Riau Archipelago
 

Been to Golden Prawn 933? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Prawn 933, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.