We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth trying” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Prawn 933

Golden Prawn 933
Batam, Bengkong Laut, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia
778411142
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 164 restaurants in Batam
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not worth trying”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We gave this restaurant a try because it got the most reviews. End up with the worst eating out experience. The seafood dishes arrived at our table all are cold. Not tasty as those review given. Not worth the time travelling there as taxi fare are not cheap for a round trip it cost us IDR 250, 000 from Harris Hotel @ Batam Center.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

36% Recommend
    19
    63
    73
    34
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“i love seafoods..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

we go everywhere to try all seafoods in batam and this restaurant satisfied me and my hubby from craving for seafoods i love it so much.. thats why were planning again to come back there and eat seafoods so great and affordable..

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Good seafood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Went to Batam this January with my friends, already try out Isabella Spa and they sent us to Golden Prawn. We chose gonggong, black pepper crab, butter prawn and sotong and it taste ok, the only improvement we look forward is the staff, we want them to be more friendly. Will go again next time and give them second chance to improve the service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Cannot compared to Singapore seafood...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The food is so-so nothing to rave about. Maybe should invite the cooks to Singapore and learn to cook Singapore chilli crabs? If happened during the lunch crowd; where tourist's buses drop-off loads of tourists? The service can be very slow having to wait one dish served can take more than 20mins!!! If you are hungry than it test your patience - you can can get angry?

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Pleasent, go-able”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We got our driver to sent us to Batam's de-facto seafood restaurant where he patiently waited for us to finish our dinner in 2.5 hours. What I thought the place might be, as it was my first time, turned out to be nothing more than a fancy looking forgery of a Kelong. There wasn't a seafront much less a beach but what it lacked in all honesty was made almost right by some stretch of the imagination with its wooden stilt huts squatting in a large ocean of a pond with really big fish and curiously strong coastal winds blowing the roof. Our food arrived so quick that their service should probably be made a case study at MacDonald's Hamburger University. Loved the chilli prawn, steamed fish in hot pan, grilled squids, seafood soup etc. Loved the humour that Batam's best is another clairvoyant act designed to illicit the dollar out of desperate Singaporeans. Best of all my companions made a discount to the already discounted bill. Nevertheless, hearts mended, we left in search of our waiting driver to return us back to the hotel, contented yet stupified.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Prawn 933 also viewed

 
Batam, Riau Archipelago
Batam, Riau Archipelago
 

Been to Golden Prawn 933? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Prawn 933, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.