We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What happened to good food ?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Prawn 933

Golden Prawn 933
Batam, Bengkong Laut, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia
778411142
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 200 Restaurants in Batam
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Singapore
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
648 helpful votes 648 helpful votes
“What happened to good food ?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Had a lunch on 5 Jan before proceeding to the Golden View hotel adventure activities...and My! were we disappointed. Our orders came reasonably fast (considering we were smacked in the middle of mass tour buses session)...
Our request to seat by the pond were futile as all the good tables were reserved in advance by tour groups...who came in hordes...
Finally, after a few table changes...were shown to a big enough table by a disgruntled staff (guessed he's really busy) When the food came...it's dishes of disappointment after disappointment...probably catered more for high volume dining as it's eat & go...just to satisfy hunger pangs. I really don't want review any dishes other posting it's pics...as it's truly forgettable......Never eat here again...if possible...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    74
    97
    38
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Seafood galore”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The dishes were very reasonably priced especially the prawns and crabs and they come in portions that are for five people so it would be better to dine in a group so that the food is not wasted. I liked the sweet and sour crabs, steamed garoupa and fried prawns but was a bit disappointed with the chicken dishes. The place was crowded and there was hardly much service at all except placing the food on the table. The restuarant is on a kelong and they did have some indonesian performances that you can catch during your lunch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The food were hastily prepared, thus it's not tasty at all. Food and taste were just so so. I'd rather dine in at any local shopping center's restaurants. Peace (:

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood for everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Positive:
1. Lot of variety of seafood available
2. Lot of dishes available
3. Fast service
4. Reasonable price

Negative:
1. Be careful while ordering as they always take a very big portion of seafood that you might not be able to finish it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batam, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good for Party or Corporate Event.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

To have a good impression of this restaurant, once just a small Kelong, you must come on weekday, in the afternoon. Feel the atmosphere of this now huge Kelong, with several function room, a stage for some performance at night. Sea breeze, blue sea far away (not water under the Kelong ) and if you lucky come at feeding time, you could sea the worker give bread to hordes of fish there. It's kind of attraction. At night nothing to see and weekend will be so so crowded. You will have to wait longer for food you order.

Long time ago I like their Steam Swimming Crab with Ginger, but as the chef come and go, so the taste of their food, but in general I give them average score.

I can understand some guest disappointment of restaurant service when they come on weekend or diner time. This biggest seafood resto in Batam now already become a favorite
place for company to held their event or individual party that involve more then 20 or 30 persons. It has many size function room separated from their huge hall dining area and the
Halal Certificate they had from Local Religious Authority ( MUI ) become an assurance for devoted Muslim guest.

Other value added are this seafood restaurant located in a complex of ( going to be ) resort,
with fully functional 4 star hotel near by and some beach activity.

The only downside is their location, not easy to explain to first time visitor to come by themselves. But for public transport like taxi definitely will know how to reach the place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Prawn 933 also viewed

 
Batam, Riau Archipelago
 

Been to Golden Prawn 933? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Prawn 933, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.