We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“REGRET” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Prawn 933

Golden Prawn 933
Batam, Bengkong Laut, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia
778411142
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 164 restaurants in Batam
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“REGRET”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Our first Day Trip to Batam and we had only one lunch to experience and I wished we could have gone to a restaurant in one of the resorts.( but our driver told us we could not enter Hotel/ Resorts since we are not guests ). It is a huge open air restaurant with red plastic chairs and plastic flowers.I was expecting sea view - yes it is over water but fish farm. Fortunately the breeze was good or at least where our table was located. Service was very slow and at one point I had to get up myself and hunted for spoons and forks to cut our bony oily ikan bakar fish since none of the dishes came with serving spoons. As I just discovered a minute ago-written by others- the Butter prawns are so small and sooooooo oily and cooked with all their shells. In fact all dishes are very oily, fried rice was tasteless. The only good thing ( after 15 minutes wait )was the Coconut drink came in huge young green coconuts, bigger than in Singapore. Waitresses were not friendly and tend to forward our oder to another. They even talked about us in their Padang mixed Malay dialect not knowing that I speak both. Arrrgh please don't waste your time here- I am sure Batam has a lot to offer. Total Lunch ( three of us with driver) 430,000 rupiah.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

37% Recommend
    21
    64
    74
    34
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Spring, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“kind of disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Nice atmosphere over the water. But that's as far as it went. Sluggish wait staff, uninspired seafood entrees with too many bones and shells to contend with. Wanted to like this restaurant. Maybe just came at a bad time.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“lousy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

too expensive and the food sucks!!! i wont go back the staff is not friendly at all. I dont understand why ppl come here to eat

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Very Pricey, Average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I guess the title of my review says it all. Its expensive and it isnt fantastic. Overrated I must say. Try to avoid this place and look for seafood elsewhere.
Not the kind of money you would want to spend on food when you are in Indonesia.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a small prawn for butter prawn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Almost all taxi drivers will recommend you this. As it was my first visit, I had no choice but to believe.

The food was fresh, no doubt. And that was rhe only good thing about the food I guess. The recipe was just okay... nothing excellent.

And quite expensive!

They served us butter prawn with size no larger than what usually found in fried noodles.

Won't come again

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Prawn 933 also viewed

 
Batam, Riau Archipelago
Batam, Riau Archipelago
 

Been to Golden Prawn 933? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Prawn 933, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.