We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, scenic location, natural choice in Batam..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Prawn 933

Golden Prawn 933
Batam, Bengkong Laut, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia
778411142
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 207 Restaurants in Batam
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Singapore
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
664 helpful votes 664 helpful votes
“Good food, scenic location, natural choice in Batam..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

The food is good but rather generic. Limited choices in Batam, so this large scale seafood restaurant is a natural choice.
Try the must-order: deep fried prawn (signature dish) . Good to be eaten whole.
Also the deep fried squid. The fish is also fresh as is most of the items.
The Birds' Nest is great dessert choice. Avail in several style and in hot/cold. I recommend the cold version. At S$15/bowl, great value.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    80
    100
    39
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Though I heard there are many good seafood in Batam but the one we had was superb and cheap.

We spent around SGD200 for crabs, lobster,fish,lala

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“high price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

the only place for a good seafood, it is live seafood. But the price is on the high end. Have to take a taxi to travel to there.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food is okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I thought that the food here is fantastic, but the truth is there's nothing special on the food that we ate. The place is not good, the staff cannot understand English and their coconut drink was not fresh.

I guess I expected too much.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“more flour then the seafood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

try to order less fried stuff as the portion is heavily covered with flour. chilli crab was nice

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Prawn 933 also viewed

 

Been to Golden Prawn 933? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Prawn 933, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.