We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent and nice ambiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harris Hotel Batam Center

Save Saved
You added Harris Hotel Batam Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harris Hotel Batam Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Engku Putri, Riau Islands Province 29641, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
woman touch room
Ranked #2 of 71 hotels in Batam
2 reviews
“Decent and nice ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Love the outlook of the whole place. Location just a stone throw away from the Batam Center Ferry Terminal is a plus for me although some might view it as a minus due to its away proximity [15 mins via cab] from the popular Nagoya Hill area. However, as nearby Mega Mall is a nice shopping mall in its own right and thus overall in my humble opinion, even things out.View from all round was good and the ambiance was chic with a hinge of coziness. Service was decent and room amenities were adequate.Had to wait 15 minutes longer than the proposed check in time suggested by the staff though. But the lobby was quite cozy and got to appreciate the lobby more because of that! Love the orange essence oil provided. Add a fresh scent to the room when used. Only major gripe about the hotel is pool was a tad bit shallow at 1.1m, not deep enough for treading and barely enough for floating. Most hotels I stayed in had a minimum depth of 1.2m. Price for a night's stay pretty decent at around 70sgd. Will definitely stay there again on subsequent visits. Please keep up and improve the standards where necessary!

Room Tip: Adjourning rooms and rooms with sea view are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest Lee S,

Your comment "Decent and Nice ambiance" has been deeply shared with all our Players. Feedback from our guest are always opportunities to improve our service to make your stay in our property a unique experience.

We really appreciated you enjoyed our ambiance, service delivery and our lobby atmosphere.

Dear Valued Guest Lee S, thank you for your time and review, we will be more than pleased to meet you again for your next trip in Batam.


HARRISly Yours,

Benjamin Castel & Team
gm@harris-batam-center.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    264
    56
    7
    6
See reviews for
118
134
23
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I had a couple of request due to my elderly dad who has problem walking, the staffs did all their best to accommodate to all my requests without failed. All the staffs are always there with smile. The hotel is super near to mega mall as well as just beside the ferry terminal. Super location and convenient. Would recommend all to try this hotel out as it worth all the amount paid. Hotel is very clean and neat, very new too!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Valued Guest Bellerena,

From all the Players of HARRIS Hotel Batam Center, I am expressing to you how glad we are to receive positive review regarding our staff service delivery and hotel cleanliness.

Daily we reconsider our service and product to be improve with the only aim to make your venue every time better.

Wishing you a pleasant day and we look forward to welcome you again very soon.


HARRISly Yours,

Benjamin Castel & Team
gm@harris-batam-center.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Date of Stay: 28-29 June 2014

Literally located within a stone throw from Batam Centre Jetty and next to a shopping mall.
Simple and clean room with everything you need. Fantastic staffs who attended to my every request.
Special thanks to our driver Mr.Edo.
This hotel exceeded all my expectation.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest Flymetothemoon0,

From all our Players, we are delighted to have you staying with us and we are extremely happy that you had enjoyed your stay at our property.

It has been shared with all Players of HARRIS Hotel Batam Center and Mr. Edo, our driver, has been informed about your special thanks to him.

Dear Valued Guest Flymetothemoon0, once again thank you very much for your time and comment. It will be a great pleasure for all of us to welcome you again for your next visit in our property.


HARRISly Yours,

Benjamin Castel & Team
gm@harris-batam-center.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The hotel is nice placed if You are tired after travelling - it is just at ferry (Batam centre) terminal. Quality of sleeping is quite good providing You have water side room. The biggest advantage is very nice and helpful staff. Food is very average although ox tail soup is really delicious.
The biggest disatvantage is dirt in bathroom which also suffer from lack of proper ventilation.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest Jacek J,

Thank you very much for your time, sharing your experience in HARRIS Hotel Batam Center. Your satisfaction is our priority.

Kindly be informed, you special note about our bed quality has been shared internally among our Housekeeping department, as your focus on the delicious Oxtail Soup from Chef Rudi.

Regarding the ventilation inconvenience, our engineering team is daily working on its implementation for our 171 rooms changing the full set of compressor allocated to each floor.

Dear Valued Guest Jacek J, thank you again for your input, we will be delighted to welcome you again in our property.

I wish you an excellent week ahead.

HARRISly Yours,

Benjamin Castel & Team
gm@harris-batam-center.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed in Harris Batam Center with 3 of my girlfriends. Check in and out was smooth. Booked two rooms and was given my requested connecting room and Woman's Touch section on the 8th floor Nice touches in the room: 2 pillows, one small bolster (for those who need something to hug to sleep), a complimentary set of gifts, yoga mat, magazine (sadly, in bahasa melayu, which i dont know how to read), loan of hair curlers or straighteners available (specially for woman's touch section only).

Have totally enjoyed my stay in this hotel cause of the staff and environment of the hotel. Will definitely come back to Harris Batam Center for my future stays! Keep up the good job, Harris Batam Center! =)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest MissyEvilyn,

Thank you for your comment posted recently, it has been shared with all our Players. We are pleased to read you had had a " Great Stay " in HARRIS Hotel Batam Center.

We are delighted to read you enjoyed our dedicated Corner Woman Touch floor with all the amenities for make your stay a Unique experience.

Dear Valued Guest MissyEveilyn, thank you again for your time, your satisfaction is our priority, we are looking forward to welcome you again in our property.

I wish you an excellent week ahead.

HARRISly Yours,

Benjamin Castel & Team
gm@harris-batam-center.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Check in and out were fast and smooth.

Was offered a woman's floor at 8th level as I am a female travelling alone - a nice gesture. I was told by a front office lady that no man is allowed on this floor. Imagine my shock when a man came out at wee morning from a room near the lift. Aroma burner in the room was really awesome!

2 other bad incidents are : (1) I received a morning wake up call from a male staff from front office at 8.30 am asking for "samir", a male I believe. Imagine, did he knows calling 8th floor (a female designated floor) inhouse number asking for a male at early morning is ALL WRONG? (2) I called front office for late check out. She replied "yes". I further replied her that I would like 3 pm check out, when asked. She said sgd10 per hour will be charged. So, I asked what time is late check out with no charge. She said 12.30pm. And I asked if 1 pm allowed?. Guess what is her reply? She replied "cannot. Guest is already coming". This doesnot make sense, right? If 3pm checkout, the answer is yes, (no mention of "guest coming", all because there is a commercial value to them, which is the infamous sgd10 per hour surcharge. If 30min more (1pm), it is "cannot, guest coming". What more, I was checking out on friday (not a busy weekend) from a woman floor, during ramadhan. I think the management should seriously train their staff better and be abit flexible to retain valued guests who have plans to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest Yeni F,

Thank you very much for your feedback, from all the HARRIS Hotel Batam Center Players, we definitely took note about your constructive note which has been shared internally among our Front Office and Housekeeping department.

Regarding the inconvenience which took place about your experience in our Corner dedicated to the Women, I took the full responsibility about the misunderstanding you experience during your morning call, it will not happen again. We are working daily on training improvement, knowledge and expertise being the values to anticipate Guest needs during their stay in our property.

Dear Valued Guest Yeni F, thank you again for your time, your satisfaction is our priority.

I wish you an excellent day ahead and will be pleased to welcome you personally for your next venue in our island if you deciced to select again HARRIS Hotel Batam Center.

HARRISly Yours,

Benjamin Castel & Team
gm@harris-batam-center.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I think this hotel is doing really well - can see that all the staff try their best to create nice experience for guests. Found them to be friendly and helpful

Our second stay, arrived on Sat and was given an early check-in with a smile. Room was clean, but aircon has some issue which was rectified immediately. Small shower area, but adequate. Location is TOP, short walk from ferry terminal AND Mega Mall, which I still think the best mall in Batam.

Compliment: asked for a baby bath tub and was delivered promptly.

Suggestion: ordered nasi bakar from in-room dining menu and found it was 'really' spicy - would be useful to include this info in the menu, instead of just the calories & fats info. Couldn't finish the food at the end - what a waste.

Another suggestion: provide a dedicated room for spa

Room Tip: High floor facing the harbour - nice view in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest HYY_T,

Thank you very much for your time , sharing your " good " experience in HARRIS Hotel Batam Center, posted on the 1th of July. Every Guest feedback is opportunity to learn.

Your satisfaction is our priority. I am personally delighted to inform you Luther and his dedicated Front Office department's Players have been glad to read the efficient check in and out process you had had coming to our property.

Dear Valued Guest HYY_T, thank you again for selecting HARRIS Hotel Batam Center during your stay in our island.

I wish you an excellent week ahead.

HARRISly Yours,

Benjamin Castel &Team
gm@harris-batam-center.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harris Hotel Batam Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harris Hotel Batam Center

Address: Jl. Engku Putri, Riau Islands Province 29641, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harris Hotel Batam Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harris Hotel Batam Center the only waterfront hotel in the heart of the Central Business District is strategically located just a step away from the Batam Center International Ferry Terminal, opposite the Mega Mall shopping Center. Within walking Distance from Otorita Batam, Bank Indonesia, Sumatera Expo Building and Mesjid Raya. 10 minutes away from Kepri Mall and Padang Sukajadi Golf.Our property is the nearest hotel from Hang Nadim International Airport.171 sea view and city view spacious Harris rooms and suites, equipped with the Harris Dreamazing Bed, 32" LCD television with 40 international and local channels. Safe deposit box, complimentary coffee and tea facilities.Harris slippers, Harris aromatherapy, Harris leather couch , hair dryer and an array of cosmetic amenities.Free high speed wifi available in the Harris cars and the entire premises.Our infinity pool is overlooking the ocean. The H fitness is equipped with the latest cardio equipment and Gym instructor. Sooth your tired muscles at our In-room H spa featuring the most desired facial and body treatments.Taste our Indonesian delights at the H cafe and our Harris healthy juices at our juice Bar. In room dining is available around the clock.Harris Batam Center is the perfect place to stay and accommodate your meeting needs at our Unique Ballroom with a capacity of 1000 persons and the highest ceiling in town. Our Smiley meeting rooms are equipped with the latest high tec equipment.Come and try our new Lifestyle right in the Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Harris Hotel Batam Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harris Hotel Batam Batam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harris Hotel Batam Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.