We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free wifi and spacious room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harris Hotel Batam Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Harris Hotel Batam Center to your Saves list
Harris Hotel Batam Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Engku Putri, Riau Islands Province 29641, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Free wifi and spacious room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Very convinient from the harbour. Just walking distance to reach the hotel. Clean and spacious room but small shower room. Reception for Singapore TV channel was not very good. Far from the Nagoya shopping mall which I prefer. Though Megamall is just a 5 min walk from the hotel, there is basically not much shopping for me to do there except a great variety of restaurants. Despite my email requests to have a room with a good view on a high floor, I was allocated to the 4th floor and did not get a sea view room, if not it would be an almost perfect stay. Overall, value for money and a pleasant and I will go back again if I cant find any good hotel near to Nagoya.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest FlorenceKou,

Thank you so much for taking your time to write your constructive feedback concerning your recent stay at HARRIS Hotel Batam Center.

Regarding your email request for room allocation, kindly be informed that all guest requests are subject to our room availability. Our Front Office team try their best to accommodate guest request.

Dear Valued Guest FlorenceKou, thank you again for your feedback, we really hope to meet you again in our orange property for your next venue in Batam.


Harrisly Yours,

Benjamin Castel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    296
    68
    8
    8
See reviews for
139
157
25
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

It's better then my expectation. Enjoyed my stay with the family. Just wish breakfast would be better, but it's alright. Enjoyed the morning dances by the staff and mascot though. Overall, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest suria_eksan,

Thank you very much for your comment which has been shared with all HARRIS Hotel Batam Center Players.

We are more than glad to read you had a comfortable stay with us. We provide our best to make your experience with us unique.

Dear Valued Guest suria_eksan, we are looking forward to meet you again for your next venue in our island.


Harrisly Yours,

Benjamin Castel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ang Mo Kio, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Nice place...clean rooms....very friendly services but english need to polish up .. well..this hotel is really located just beside the ferry terminal and a short 3-4 mins walk to the shopping mall which is visible ... walk with care as the traffic there are rather dangerous..

A real bad side but for safety reason...the Windows are all sealed up type....can't open and feel the breeze from outside...

Room Tip: choose highest.. facing the sea view...best is room 916 / 918 / 920 ......
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Siambuddhas,

Thank you very much for your very positive input about your "Nice short get away" in our HARRIS Hotel Batam Center.

We are delighted you enjoyed the location of our property between Ferry Terminal & the Mega Mall with all the shopping & entertaining activities.

We have taken note for an English Language for our Player that need an improvement.

Dear Valued Guest Siambuddhas, once again thank you for your feedback, we will be pleased to meet you again.


Harrisly Yours,

Benjamin Castel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

This is probably a good location just at ferry terminal and near a large shopping mall. Do your massage, hair salon, shopping and makan of all sorts of indon cuisine! If you prefer, Starbucks or A&W or jco, it can be found in the shopping mall too.

Rooms in hotel are nice and big enough for 3-4 pax...

No frills and great!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Foodiemonkie,

Thank you very much for choosing HARRIS Hotel Batam Center and for sharing your review.

It is a real pleasure to read that you enjoy your stay with us. And indeed the strategic location of the hotel next to International Ferry terminal Batam Center and opposite to Mega Mall shopping center have been essential to you.

Dear Valued Guest Foodiemonkie, we look forward to having the pleasure to welcome you again at HARRIS Hotel Batam Center.


Harrisly Yours,

Benjamin Castel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Professional service. Welcoming. Helpful to queries. Clean.

Location: At first, like many people, we like Harris for its proximity to the ferry terminal and Megamall. But at the end of the trip we realised we didn't use Mega Mall at all. We did all our groceries at wherever was our last stop, before going back to the hotel. It's quite far to Nagoya/Harbour bay/Penuin as compared to other options. If another hotel is offering free shuttle to and from ferry terminal, what difference does Harris hotel's location make?
Still, it's definitely a plus to be near the cinema and supermarket, but it's not the only hotel with such convenience. :)

Really consider the duration of your stay, how often are you going to Nagoya or the places you want to visit, Harris might not be as convenient as it seems. We felt that in the end we spent a lot on taxi due to Harris’ location and lack of free shuttle service. The Centro Hotel (with its own faults and flaws too) for example, provide free shuttle service to Nagoya Hill on weekends.

Room No. 707: My friend loved it. Although we didn’t get sea view, she loves waking up to the view of the huge "Welcome to Batam" sign (think Hollywood).
One three pin (same as Singapore's) power point at bedside, if you need more than one, bring universal charger.

On our last night we came back to find that our toilet has a lot of accumulated water, housekeeping dealt with it very professionally. The next morning before check out a flood is beginning to form again, seepage somewhere I guess? Already feedback to them, not a huge annoyance for me, though a sign that the hardware is getting weary but compensated by great housekeeping team.

The in-room massage was terrible. Don't try. My friends and I and everyone I spoke to after the trip unanimously disapprove Harris’ massage. Nagoya has a lot of options, Megamall has Eska which looks decent too but I didn't try. We are happy to find Everyday massage just outside Nagoya Hill Mall, my friend finds it relaxing but a tad soft, I like it just fine.

We left our bags with them after check out to do last minute shopping before leaving. Luggage storage reliable, retrieval was fast.

When I was collecting my boarding pass at the terminal, the guy beside me was there to book his return ticket for the next day. That's not necessary, you can go to Harris reception, the staff were happy to help us book our tickets - no muss, no fuss. Just avoid check in/out hours so that you don't have to wait or hold up the queue, we did it at night and it was done very fast, staff just had to photocopy our passport, asked which timing etc.


Additional information:

Hotel's transportation quote is just a little higher. Their cars look much nicer too, a lot of taxis smell pretty bad. I don’t think it’s expensive, but I prefer to go with the savings. If I remember correctly...
To Nagoya: Harris -> 65k, what I paid taxi on the street -> 50 to 55k
To Harbour bay: Harris -> 75k, Taxi -> 70k
To Rezeki Restaraunt @ Batu Besar: Harris (definitely take it) -> 95k, Taxi -> more than 100k

I enjoyed walking to Holland Bakery when day breaks. I love the smell of fresh bread. I love to EAT bread. Hotel staff told us it's far and not within walking distance, but it looked okay to us from google map, so we decided to try walking anyway. Definitely possible to walk there if you have planned the route in your room, before you lose your wifi! I understand though why the staff advised us to take a taxi, Batam is not very 'walkable', there's no proper pedestrian path and crossing, it's quite frightening to cross their road and you don't really see "walking paths". But I like the experience! It's our small attempt to try to go off the beaten track. At the same block, an unassuming restaurant named Lezat Soto Medan, serves delicious local food. Staff cannot understand much english, menu looks foreign, so just... order at random, it's nice. :)


Stayed: 12 to 14 December 2013

Room Tip: rooms facing the road not that bad too. can observe people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest mbivalent,

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback about our hotel location, rooms, in room massage and service.

Feedback from our guests are always opportunities to improve our service to make your stay in our property a unique experience.

Our Housekeeping department deeply appreciated your review about the professionalism of their team in dealing with the inconvenience you faced at toilet. And we have well noted with it and in room massage. We are working to improve it accordingly.

Dear Valued Guest mbivalent, once again thank you for your time and review, we will be delighted to see you again in HARRIS Hotel Batam Center.


Harrisly Yours,

Benjamin Castel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Booked this hotel by Expedia.com.sg.. Its beside the ferry terminal which makes it very convenient.
Its a 5 minutes walking distance from Ferry terminal to hotel. Upon entering the hotel, the reception area looks like the reception area for the Cafe which is situated behind the reception area. I requested for early Check-in and was successful. They will give you a Welcome Drink which is Lemon Grass flavour. Checking In was smooth and without any hassle. Have to pay a Deposit of IDR 200,000 which is refundable upon your checkout.

Rooms are tidy and neat as shown in the pictures. Across the street, there is a big shopping mall which is called Mega Mall. A lot of Singaporeans go there to shop and its very convenient. Overall the hotel is very good and value for money.

Room Tip: Request for higher level floors and for rooms with views facing the sea..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Remo 1234567,

Thank you so much for your positive review and we are delighted that you had a comfortable stay with us. Indeed our property has a strategic location, conveniently located side by side to Batam Center International Ferry Terminal and opposite to Mega Mall Shopping Center.

Our Housekeeping department deeply appreciated your review about the room's tidy and neat. We consistently worked everyday to maintain and improve our service.

Dear Valued Guest Remo 1234567, thank you again for your time and review, and hope to be able to have you with us in the near future.


Harrisly Yours,

Benjamin Castel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

2nd time stay in this hotel.After 1 day island tour,looking forward to check in the room.Check in is breeze and fast.Deposit of $50sgd required upon check in but will be refunded upon checkout.
Stay in room 716 and parents in law in room 718 which is connecting room with seaview as requested.Room is clean and refreshing just like 1st time but need some fresh coat of paint on some wall.Free Wifi connection is good and
strong.Room service menu is delicious.
Staff is very helpful and friendly.Keep it up.
Will come back and recommend to others.Hopefully,management still keep the hotel standard as new.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest din1808,

From all HARRIS Hotel Batam Center Players, I wanted to express how glad we are by receiving your positive comment regarding room cleanliness, delicious food at our room service menu and staff friendliness.

Daily we reconsider our service to be improve, with the only aim to make your venue everytime better.

Dear Valued Guest din 1808, once again thank you so much for staying with us and we are looking forward for your next visit in Batam.


Harrisly Yours,

Benjamin Castel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harris Hotel Batam Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harris Hotel Batam Center

Address: Jl. Engku Putri, Riau Islands Province 29641, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harris Hotel Batam Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harris Hotel Batam Center the only waterfront hotel in the heart of the Central Business District is strategically located just a step away from the Batam Center International Ferry Terminal, opposite the Mega Mall shopping Center. Within walking Distance from Otorita Batam, Bank Indonesia, Sumatera Expo Building and Mesjid Raya. 10 Minutes away from Kepri Mall and Padang Sukajadi Golf.Our property is the nearest hotel from Hang Nadim International Airport, only 15 minutes to Nagoya area, Harris Hotel Batam Center just very conveniently accessible in the heart of Batam. 171 Sea view and city view spacious Harris rooms and suites, equipped with the Harris Dreamazing Bed, 32" LCD television with 40 international and local channels. The woman touch floor provided, it's a woman thing. Safe deposit box, complimentary coffee and tea facilities.Harris slippers, Harris aromatherapy, Harris leather couch , hair dryer and an array of cosmetic amenities.Free high speed wifi available in the Harris cars and the entire premises.Our infinity pool is overlooking the ocean. The H fitness is equipped with the latest cardio equipment and Gym instructor. Sooth your tired muscles at our In-room H spa featuring the most desired facial and body treatments.Taste our Indonesian delights at the H cafe and our Harris healthy juices at our juice Bar. In room dining is available around the clock.Harris Batam Center is the perfect place to stay and accommodate your meeting needs at our Unique Ballroom with a capacity of 1000 persons and the highest ceiling in town. Our Smiley meeting rooms are equipped with the latest high tec equipment.Come and try our new Lifestyle right in the Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harris Hotel Batam Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harris Hotel Batam Batam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harris Hotel Batam Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.