We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to stay in Batam!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harris Hotel Batam Center

Save Saved
You added Harris Hotel Batam Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Harris Hotel Batam Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Engku Putri, Riau Islands Province 29641, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 64 hotels in Batam
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome place to stay in Batam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I visited Harris Hotel Batam Centre when they were newly opened, about a year ago. However, the good impression of the hotel still lingers in my mind... and here I am sharing with you my good experiences! What attracted me to that hotel was the newly set-up hotel which looked clean, fresh and tidy. Upon reaching the ferry terminal, I was pleased to find out that the hotel is just a mere 5 minutes walk from the ferry terminal. No extra cost required to travel to your hotel!

Checking in - I went in a group of 10 and the checking in was a breeze. While we waited to check in, they served cold cocktail drinks at the hotel. Lively music was also playing in the background.

Hotel room - The hotel rooms were just like how we have seen in the photos! They were clean, big and spacious. It was also great that they had free wifi throughout the hotel! The network coverage for the wifi was also strong.

Environment - After chilling out in your hotel, you can walk over to the megamall which is located just opposite the hotel. That saves you some money from taking Taxi to go for meals or to shop. Lots of restaurants and shops were located at the shopping centre.

Facilities - The next morning, we went down for breakfast. There was a wide variety of food and the breakfast atmosphere was lively. The staff were very cheery welcoming us in the morning. What surprises us was, halfway through the breakfast, all the staff broke into a 'flashmob' and started dancing for us during breakfast time! It was really an impressive moment! After which, we went for a swim. However, due to the location of the pool being sheltered by the hotel building, you will not be able to do any tanning at the pool as the sunlight will be covered by the building. This results in the pool being very cold! We were all shivering through the swim. But it's a nice place to chill and relax while looking out to the sea, just infront of the pool.

Although it's been about a year since I have visited the hotel, I hope it is still as good as what it was when it started out. It is really a convenient location to go to, especially for a 2 Day 1 Night fuss-free getaway from Singapore. I will surely go back to Harris Hotel at Batam Centre the next time I visit Batam! :D

Room Tip: Choose a room on the high floor with the view facing the sea! It gives you awesome sea view and a go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear valued Guest Shirloves,

Thank you for your " awesome " review, and taking time to express your stay with us.

As hotelier, it is always a deep satisfaction to read a very positive review, which has been shared with all our Players.

Our chef really appreciated your special notice about our breakfast, HARRIS Hotel becoming a HealthyLifestyle Ambassador, we work every day to make your stay with us as a Unique experience.

Dear Valued Guest Shirloves, thank you again for your comment, I will be more than pleased to meet you personally again for your next stay with us.

HARRISly yours,

Benjamin Castel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    207
    45
    5
    6
See reviews for
96
111
18
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stay here with my boyfriend on 14-15 Sept'13. Harris Hotel location was beside Batam Center Ferry Terminal. It was so convenient, we just need to walk from ferry terminal to reach the hotel.

There were a lot of people queuing while we reach there. During payment thru internet, my boyfriend actually already asked to have early check in. But seems like the hotel were fully booked, so after we checked in around 12.30pm, the front office staff asked us to wait/come back again at 2pm.

There was Mega Mall just 5 minutes walking from hotel. The shopping mall has everything inside, they have Hypermart (cheap supermarkt) and a lot of food choices with Indonesian taste.

When we came back to hotel around 2pm, the staff still checking with the housekeeping about our room, and asked us to wait for another 5 minutes. We already feel tired and just wanted to rest awhile inside the room. After 5 minutes, our room was ready.

Room was quite big and convenient. The bed also very comfortable. Too bad, the housekeeping never gave us towels. But after called housekeeping, the towel are ready within 10 minutes time. While we rest for awhile, suddenly there was housekeeping outside the room to gave us another hand towel. They should gave all the towels together not long after we called, but since its not so big problem, so we don't bother.

Swimming pool is located in front of the restaurant. Feel a bit awkward why swimming pool located in front of restaurant? So when people eating, they can see people swimming? But again, theres nothing we can do about it.

Breakfast have a lot of choices. The fried noodle was delicious. Altho a bit salty, but I like it. They also provide kue serabi. A lot of choices during the breakfast.

Have a great stay at Harris Hotel and definitely will come back again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Oni_Lovely,

Thank you very much for your constructive input. It has been deeply shared with our dedicated Players. Regarding the incident you encountered with the towels in your room, the information has been transmitted and shared with our Housekeeping Manager who took immediate action.

Our Chef and Food and Beverage Manager have been delighted to read you deeply appreciated the various choice of breakfast, in particular the noodles and the Serabi Counter.

Dear Valued Guest Oni_Lovely, thank you again for your time and review, it is always a constructive opportunity for my team to improve our service to make your stay with HARRIS Hotel Batam Center a Unique Experience.

" Harrisly Yours"

Benjamin Castel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

there are two great assets of this property. one is the proximity to the Batam Ferry Terminal and the hypermart and the second is the staff.high staff morale, positive and responsive attitude which make the stay a pleasant experience.

the property is barely a five minute walk from the ferry terminal and unless you have biggish luggage it is quite easy to walk to the hotel. location at the waterfront also creates beautiful seaviews with the a clear view of the ferries arriving and departing from the terminal. the Hypermart is just diagonally across the road. there are numerous eating outlets, a supermarket and a huge department store.

the person who designed the room deserves a special mention. the rooms are not luxurious but the sleep quality is good, the furniture and fittings appropriate and suitable number of electric outlets for hot water kettle, communication equipment charging. the lighting is functional and a great thought is the day bed neatly arranged next to the working table.

the staff make you feel welcome from the start and are very resposive. as one of the recent reviewers has noted our bathroom (half bath) also had a simila water discharge problem in the shower area resulting in flooding of the bath room. the problem caused by choking was immediately rectified.

there was also a little problem with the Wi-Fi. The staff were very prompt to resolve this issue and although i could not understand the reason/s for the problem (something to do with "project")the important point is that it was attended to promptly.

certainly a good base to stay in as many taxis are available to enable you to go wherever you need to.

Room Tip: there is only one class of rooms at this hotel. sea facing room give beatifull views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Rajamanu,

Thank you very much for your constructive input which has been shared with our team. We are more than glad to read you deeply appreciated your " pleasant "stay in HARRIS Hotel Batam Center.

Our IT and Engineering department have been informed how impressed and appreciated you was when they quickly fixed the internet inconvenience you met in the room.

Dear Valued Guest Rajamanu, thank you again for your review, we will be more than glad to welcome you again in our HARRIS Hotel Batam center for your next stay in Batam.

" Harrisly Yours"

Benjamin Castel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2D1N at Harris Hotel on 4-5th Sept with my wife. The Conclusion is EXCELLENT! Good job Harris Hotel management and staffs! Especially on arrange a bouquet of 12roses that i request to give my wife a big surprise during the trip with a reasonable price. Upon check-in, the counter staff was greet and smile friendly and request me go beside counter to discuss about the roses to prevent my wife heard what we said. And they put the roses on our bed when we go out for dinner. When we coming back, my wife was very shock and surprise when saw the roses! After we check out and it was heavy rain, Harris arrange a car to fetch us to the ferry terminal~ Very good service from the 1st step we step into Harris. Well done guys!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest RayC,

Thank you very much for your positive comment. From all our HARRIS Hotel Batam Center Players, we are more than glad to read you had an excellent stay with us. Daily we reconsider our service to be improve, with the only aim to make your venue every time better.

And we provide our best to make your experience with us unique.

Once again thank you so much for staying with us. We are looking forward welcoming you back to our hotel soon.


Harrisly Yours,


DL
Personal Assistant to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Stay here for 2d1n trip after reading good reviews. There are still some points that need improvements.

Pros
1) fantastic location. Its beside ferry terminal n opposite megamall
2) free wifi
3) friendly staff ( not too bad )
4) Aroma orange burner in room which give the room a fresh orange smell.
5) fast check in and out
6) plenty of taxis wanting your business after you step out of hotel. (Please negotiate fare before boarding)

Cons
1) 200K RP Deposit needed ? Its was not feedback ,so kind of caught by surprise.
2) whole bathroom get flooded n wet after bathe despite closing the shower door
3) in room massage is good but kind of rush n insist us to pay before they rush for their next customer
4) buffet breakfast so so. Nothing to shout about but filling.
5) booked n request a non smoking king size bed, ocean view high floor room but got a low floor , smoking room due to no rooms available?

This hotel is good for short stay as beside being near megamall theres nothing else.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Benkeli,

Thank you for your genuine feedback and sharing your stay experience with us.

Indeed our hotel has a very strategic location, side by side to Batam International Ferry Terminal and opposite to Megamall.

Your constructive comments about bathroom, in room massage and breakfast had been well noted by Department Head concern and immediate action will be taken.

Concerning hotel deposit asking by our Front Desk upon check in is a part of hotel standard and policy to anticipate any incidental charges occurred during guest stay such as minibar or other kind of consumption will be charged to guest room instead of cash payment upon point of sales. Otherwise deposit will be return upon check out to the guest if there is no consumption.

Concerning special request for hotel's room, is subject to room availability. Our Front office team try to do their best to accommodate guest request.

Dear valued guest Benkeli, we would like to thank you once again to have chosen our hotel for your quick getaway and we do hope to have you with us in the near future.


Harrisly Yours,


DL
Personal Assistant to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Quite a new hotel....has a youthful, colorful feel to it. The rooms were nice...quite large. I got a room with a very strong room freshner smell and the hotel staff changed the room immediately when i complained. The location is nice. The Indian food effort at breakfast was commendable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors with an even number (sea view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest BornTraveller72,

Thank you very much for your positive comment. It has been deeply shared with all our Players, we continuously work to improve our guest experience, and we are glad to read you appreciate our ambiance and location.

Dear Valued Guest BornTraveller72, thank you again for your review, we will be more than pleased to meet you again for your next trip in Batam.


Harrisly Yours,


DL
Personal Assistant to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nighta.
Bedsheets are filled with stains and yellowish in color.
Toilet bowl was shaky when seated.
Shower's drain was choked.
When we asked the receiptionist to help to make a dinner reservation as we forgot, she told us to go back to the room and call.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Vickie_666,

Thank you very much for your time and constructive feedback.

We have noted well your comments and we will do our best to rectify all areas you mention in order to provide a better service to all our guest.

We do hope to be able to have you with us in the near future.

Harrisly Yours,


DL
Personal Assistant to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harris Hotel Batam Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harris Hotel Batam Center

Also Known As:
Harris Hotel Batam
Harris Hotel Batam Batam
Address: Jl. Engku Putri, Riau Islands Province 29641, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harris Hotel Batam Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harris Hotel Batam Center the only waterfront hotel in the heart of the Central Business District is strategically located just a step away from the Batam Center International Ferry Terminal, opposite the Mega Mall shopping Center. Within walking Distance from Otorita Batam, Bank Indonesia, Sumatera Expo Building and Mesjid Raya. 10 minutes away from Kepri Mall and Padang Sukajadi Golf.Our property is the nearest hotel from Hang Nadim International Airport.171 sea view and city view spacious Harris rooms and suites, equipped with the Harris Dreamazing Bed, 32" LCD television with 40 international and local channels. Safe deposit box, complimentary coffee and tea facilities.Harris slippers, Harris aromatherapy, Harris leather couch , hair dryer and an array of cosmetic amenities.Free high speed wifi available in the Harris cars and the entire premises.Our infinity pool is overlooking the ocean. The H fitness is equipped with the latest cardio equipment and Gym instructor. Sooth your tired muscles at our In-room H spa featuring the most desired facial and body treatments.Taste our Indonesian delights at the H cafe and our Harris healthy juices at our juice Bar. In room dining is available around the clock.Harris Batam Center is the perfect place to stay and accommodate your meeting needs at our Unique Ballroom with a capacity of 1000 persons and the highest ceiling in town. Our Smiley meeting rooms are equipped with the latest high tec equipment.Come and try our new Lifestyle right in the Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Harris Hotel Batam Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harris Hotel Batam Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.