We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indeed a unique hotel;)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harris Hotel Batam Center

Save Saved
You added Harris Hotel Batam Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harris Hotel Batam Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Engku Putri, Riau Islands Province 29641, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE 1 PIZZA OF THE DAY
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Batam
1 review
“Indeed a unique hotel;)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Hi, I am yani from spore..I stayed at the hotel with my hubby from 26 march to 28 march 2013.i stayed in d 7th floor.

I m deeply impressed by the uniqueness and friendliness of the hotel and the staff there.

Upon reaching, we managed to check in 2 hours earlier as we reached quite early.We r welcome by warm smiles n greetings from the staff.love d cookies n drinks;)Indeed its true, good customer service really make people's day..even with just a smile..

Previously I ordered a bday cake for my hubby bday and the cake prepared were delicious..

During night, a staff called to ask if evrythings ok in the room..
We feel much appreciated as they are concern bout their guests well being.

LASTLY,the great part is the morning breakfast where we are entertained by the Dino Harris and the staff dancing which kind of unique..First time I saw in a hotel where everyone is happy..me n hubby love d song, great idea and thums up esp to the boss of harris batam center..
While working the staff are actually releasing stress a bit and at the same time entertaining the guest..


Overall really happy..I will recommend this hotel to pple I know..
With the consistency of great smiles, and the warmth given, the hotel will always be loved

Yours sincerely,
Yani.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Yaniafdah,

Thank you very much for your positiv comment and being "deeply impressed" by your stay in
HARRIS Hotel Batam Center. Your input has been shared with all the team.

Your breakfast remark has been deeply appreciated. Actually we included new dishes, as the javanes Serabi counter, which allow our guests to taste traditional dishes as Kue Kue.

Dear Valued Guest Yaniafdah, kindly let us know your next visit with us, we will be more than glad to welcome you and to provide an unforgettable stay in HARRIS Hotel Batam Center.

Harrisly Yours,

Benjamin Castel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    266
    57
    7
    7
See reviews for
118
136
23
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Visited here for a short 2D1N Trip.

I have to say we are very very satisfied with the hotel :)
It is clean and has everything that you need. On top of that, the friendliness of the hotel staffs (bringing you the welcome drink when you enter) really really helps to enhance that holiday mood that we had.

1 opportunity area for the hotel to improve on is,
1. Food. The ayam penyet rice set lunch will not give you the right representation of the real Ayam Penyet rice. The rice here was very dry and chicken meat was hard... Food is 1 thing I certainly hope that Harris can improve on. That would complete anyone's holiday with a smile :)

Good.
1. Staff friendliness.
2. Superb cleanliness. To be frank we did not have the intention to go for a swim in Batam, but with the cleanliness and friendliness of the staff, we just went ahead and jump in for a swim. We were greeted with smiles and given nice clean towels as we walked to the pool. It was such a great experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floors room would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Ufong,

We are more than glad to read your are " very very satisfied" about HARRIS Hotel Batam Center.
Your comment has been shared with all the team.

The friendliness of the staff is a major point we maintain and perform day after day, as consistency and professionalism in our service delivery. As you noticed it, cleanliness is one of the core concern for our operations.

Regarding your observation about the ayam penyet rice set lunch, I am glad to inform you our Chef will launch really soon a complete new Food and Beverage Menu. We will be more than glad to welcome you to taste our new culinary changes.

Harrisly Yours,

Benjamin Castel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunming, China
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We decided to stay one night in Batam on our way home from Singapore so I chose this hotel primarily based on its location right next to the Batam Center Ferry Terminal.

The rooms were clean and big, everything worked and the wifi was fast for Indonesia standards. The swimming pool was beckoning me but upon closer inspection the water looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a good while so I gave it a miss.

Mega Mall is just across the street (5 mins walk) and Nagoya Hills is a 15 minute taxi ride away. I have to say I didn't find the prices to be much different to Singapore.

We didn't avail of breakfast due to an early flight to Jakarta so I can't comment on the food.

The staff and location are the best selling points of this hotel.

I would happily stay again without question.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest acjkt,

Thank you very much for your comment, it has been deeply appreciated. We are more than glad you plan to come back to HARRIS Hotel Batam Center for your next venue in our island.

In addition, we really appreciate your good input about the cleanliness of our rooms and the good location of the hotel at 2 minutes walking distance between the Megamall, and the Harbour Ferry connected our area to Singapore.

Regarding your remark about the swimming pool, even though the rainfall season is finishing kindly be informed daily at 10PM the water is treated with special products by our Player in charge to maintain a high level of cleanliness of the water and the swimming pool itself.

Dear Valued Guest acjkt, thank you very much for your comment, we are looking forward to meet you again for your next stay in HARRIS Hotel Batam Center.

Harrisly Yours,

Benjamin Castel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This hotel is right outside the Batam-Sing ferry terminal so no taxi to get there. It's a larger hotel for the area. Room service selection was limited and awful. Room service bad, unanswered phones etc. There is the requisite security barrier w guard around the hotel. The hotel employees are very friendly and helpful and are always polite and smiling and ready to assist you with anything. The hotel is billed as "water front" which it technically is but has no real beach access or nice areas to chill. Pool is a small lap type not good for chilling at either. THIS HOTEL IS A GREAT VALUE FOR PRICE!

Room Tip: Waterfront rooms are unimpressive. I preferred a room on a high floor with a view towards the city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Vanzephyr,

Cheers from Harris Hotel Batam Center, the “Hotspot right in the Center”

Thank you for your input, which has been shared between all the HARRIS Players. We strongly took into consideration your observation.

We are more than glad you appreciated the cheerful and vibrant atmosphere of our hotel.

For your information, all our room service menus are changing very soon, the choice is becoming more various, matching precisely the needs of our different customers profil. In addition, i am glad to announce to you we are providing training to all our restaurant Players to provide a consistent and performing service to all our Guests.

Dear Valued Guest Vanzephyr, we really hope to meet you soon in our property for your next visit in Batam, i will be more than glad to discuss with you about your previous experience with us.

Harrisly Yours,

Benjamin Castel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here recently for one night. Came here on a Groupon offer which offered a one night stay, breakfast, to and fro ferry from Singapore and 1-hour massage.

What I like about this hotel:

- Location is fantastic (located just beside Batam Center Ferry Terminal and opposite Mega Mall)

- Hotel and room was clean

- Comfortable bed

- Bright and happy decor
(main colour theme was Orange and Green. Though it may look a bit kitschy at times, it was fun looking at the elaborate care that this chain has made sure that as many things in the rooms and hotel are orange in colour)

- Whole body massage (done in the room) was good


What I didn't like so much:

- Breakfast was average

- Pool's location is not ideal as there is not much privacy.
(Situated just beside the restaurant, one can only get to the pool via the restaurant's door, and you will be swimming/tanning with the restaurant guests looking on)

- Hotel doesn't offer maps readily
(I asked a front counter staff for a map and she said they do not have it. However, as I really needed to find out where to go, I asked another front counter lady staff whether she can lend me a map and that I will return it. She then took out a map from her drawer for me. The map was a xeroxed copy. After asking her for directions on a few places in Batam, I asked her whether she can give the map to me and she readily agreed. Thus I do not understand why the first lady told us that they didn't have maps. That is not very good customer service)

Room Tip: We got the room that is facing the city. It was ok. Though I think it would be nicer if you can ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Vanzephyr,

Cheers from Harris Hotel Batam Center, the new “Hotspot right in the Center”.

Thank very much for your constructive comment. We deeply appreciated your input.

We are more than glad to read you appreciated the cleanliness, the atmosphere and the good location of the hotel at 2 minutes walking distance between the MegaMall and the Harbour Ferry connecting Batam Center Area to Singapore. We are working day after day to make your experience with us Unique.

Regarding the incident you encountered with our reception when you requested a map, you actually met one of our new trainee which was not yet informed about all our services we delivered to guest. On the top of that I am glad to announce you we are preparing for a wall map in the entrance of the lobby to inform properly to our guest where they could go for entertaining or activities.

Dear Guest Vanzephyr, we really hope to meet you again in HARRIS Hotel Batam Center.

Harrissly Yours,


Benjamin Castel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I am very impressed by the good service, good location and the cheery and new furnishing although we didn't pay a lot for the room.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was standard international buffet breakfast which exceeded my expectations with their delicious pastries and very fresh milk. There was even an amusing staff mass dance session which definitely left an impression.

The ferry terminal and a shopping mall is just close by. We had a nice time eating at the A&W fast food restaurant. There is also a fantastic local restaurant recommended by our tour guide located at the top floor with fantastic grill chicken and beef. I think it is called Warung Tekko.

Shopping options are decent with a departmental store and supermarket. There is also a Wacoal shop for ladies who are looking for a bargain.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Valued Yaabadabadoo,

Cheers from Harris Hotel Batam Center, the new “Hotspot right in the Center”

Thank you very much for your positive review, it has been shared with all the HARRIS Hotel Batam Center Players.

We are more than delighted to read you appreciated our international breakfast buffet and the vibrant atmosphere of our Players. In addition, we are more than glad to know you enjoyed the strategic location of the property between the MegaMall and the Harbour Ferry, connecting Batam Center area to Singapore.

We are looking forward to welcome you for your next visit with us.

Harrisly Yours,

Benjamin Castel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The score for this hotel is 8, why I cant gave you 9 or 10 because one reason smoke. Your staff said that your corridor is non smoking but why when me and couple came to your hotel its so smelly?
You said spray at least one bottle of air freshner to eliminate that smell.
Please pay attention for your corridor, others are good

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Inkeshi K,

Thank you very much for your comment, which has been shared with all the HARRIS Players. We are more than glad to see you appreciated your stay with us for the last month of December.

Regarding the incident you copied with for your stay, we actually have 6 of our 9 floors which are non smoking, all this rooms have been recently provided with non smoking signage to guarantee fresh air to all our Guests.

Dear Valued Guest Inkeshi K, we really hope through this explaining you will understand we strongly pay attention to improve our service, providing a Unique experience to all our customers.

Harrisly Yours,

Benjamin Castel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harris Hotel Batam Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harris Hotel Batam Center

Address: Jl. Engku Putri, Riau Islands Province 29641, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Batam
#5 Best Value Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harris Hotel Batam Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harris Hotel Batam Center the only waterfront hotel in the heart of the Central Business District is strategically located just a step away from the Batam Center International Ferry Terminal, opposite the Mega Mall shopping Center. Within walking Distance from Otorita Batam, Bank Indonesia, Sumatera Expo Building and Mesjid Raya. 10 minutes away from Kepri Mall and Padang Sukajadi Golf.Our property is the nearest hotel from Hang Nadim International Airport.171 sea view and city view spacious Harris rooms and suites, equipped with the Harris Dreamazing Bed, 32" LCD television with 40 international and local channels. Safe deposit box, complimentary coffee and tea facilities.Harris slippers, Harris aromatherapy, Harris leather couch , hair dryer and an array of cosmetic amenities.Free high speed wifi available in the Harris cars and the entire premises.Our infinity pool is overlooking the ocean. The H fitness is equipped with the latest cardio equipment and Gym instructor. Sooth your tired muscles at our In-room H spa featuring the most desired facial and body treatments.Taste our Indonesian delights at the H cafe and our Harris healthy juices at our juice Bar. In room dining is available around the clock.Harris Batam Center is the perfect place to stay and accommodate your meeting needs at our Unique Ballroom with a capacity of 1000 persons and the highest ceiling in town. Our Smiley meeting rooms are equipped with the latest high tec equipment.Come and try our new Lifestyle right in the Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Harris Hotel Batam Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harris Hotel Batam Batam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harris Hotel Batam Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.