We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Modern Minimalist Accommodation in Batam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harris Hotel Batam Center

Save Saved
You added Harris Hotel Batam Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harris Hotel Batam Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Engku Putri, Riau Islands Province 29641, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
woman touch room
Ranked #2 of 71 hotels in Batam
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Modern Minimalist Accommodation in Batam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Located next to Batam Center Harbour, this modern minimalist hotel is really a very nice accommodation during your visit to Batam. We chose to stay here because we need to catch the first ferry to Singapore. It took us only 5 minutes walk to the harbour. 20 minutes by taxi to the city. The front desk staff even helped us to booked the seat for the ferry to Singapore.

It was our first time stay in this hotel, but we've been to a few Harris Hotels chain throughout Indonesia. Just like the other Harris Hotel we've been to, the room was clean and smell good with the orange aromatherapy (which is one of their signature I think). We were give the room with seaview. The staffs were friendly and helpful. Definitely will recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Priscillia K,

Cheers from Harris Hotel Batam Center, the new “Hotspot right in the Center”.

Thank you very much from all our Players for your positive feedback. It has been shared between us.

We are most than satisfy to read you retrieved the uniqueness of HARRIS Brand in HARRIS Hotel Batam Center, consistency is one of our motto. We consider wherever Harris Hotel you experienced in Indonesia, service quality has to remain the same, definitely aromatherapy in the room or HARRIS welcoming are part of it.

Dear Valued Guest Priscillia K, thank you again for your input, we will be delighted to meet you again for your next visit in Batam.

Harrisly Yours,

Benjamin Castel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    264
    56
    7
    6
See reviews for
118
134
23
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Location wise is a plus if you are only interested in a quick exit and shopping at Batam megamall. Nagoya hill is a 20mins drive by taxi.

Harris hotel batam centre is a feel good hotel to stay. Staff are cheerful and everything is neat and clean. The only problem i have is the swimming pool.

My family have to walk through the restaurant to access to the pool. Also, it is a small pool overlooking the sea without any childrens pool.

Overall, it is a bit over priced but worth the stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Shamtz,

Cheers from Harris Hotel Batam Center, the new “Hotspot right in the Center”

Thank you very much for your review which has been shared with the Harris Players.
We are more than glad to read you appreciated the cleanliness, the location of the hotel between the Harbor Ferry connected to Singapore and the MegaMall. We deeply appreciated your review about the cheerful attitude of our Players.

Regarding our swimming pool we feel sorry you was disturbed by the restaurant, nonetheless plantations are actually growing all around it with the aim to ensure privacy to all our Guests.

Dear Valued Guest Shamtz, thank you again for your comment, it will be a great pleasure for all of us to welcome you back in HARRIS Hotel Batam Center.

Harrisly Yours,

Benjamin Castel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Third time staying at this hotel. Good experience as before although the bathroom shower stall is really starting to pick up quite a fair bit of black colored scrum..would be good if house keeping can do a better job there.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Rollade,

Cheers from Harris Hotel Batam Center, the new “Hotspot right in the Center”


Thank you very much for your positive review and your appreciation about our location between the MegaMall and the Harbour Ferry, connecting the area to Singapore.

We deeply took into consideration the incident you experienced in the bathroom.

As a consequence, kindly be informed our engineering and housekeeping department already changed the head of the shower and the drainage system in your room. In addition, we are glad to inform you a daily maintenance team is fully dedicated to repair and avoid all technical inconvenience which could take place in one of our 171 rooms.


Dear Valued Guest Rollade, thank you again for your constructive input.


Harrisly Yours.

Benjamin Castel
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Cousins stayed there for a night before they went to another resort. My family and i who stayed at other hotel, came over for a visit. Harris hotel is at a good location. Such a walking distance from the Batam Centre Ferry Terminal and Batam Centre Megamall. Near the hotel, we found a place for buffet lunch which is about 20mins walk away. View is not obstructed at all. One side facing the sea, the other is facing a big activity park. We then end up check-in to Harris hotel the next day! Nice ambience. Love the smell of the room once entered! LOve the fact all is in ORANGE! The only dislike is you can't open any window that i feel a lil suffocated as i prefer to breath in a lil fresh air..

Room Tip: Get the one facing the sea so you could view the pool too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Leena Andrelina,


Cheers from Harris Hotel Batam Center, the new “Hotspot right in the Center”

Thank you for your positive review already shared with our Players.

We are more than glad to see you appreciated our vibrant and singular atmosphere, which make the uniqueness of HARRIS Hotels all around Indonesia.

Regarding the room experience we are delighted to see you appreciated the several details as the aromatherapy and its smell or the quick check in for your arrival. Guest satisfactory is our main priority.

Dear Valued Guest Leena Andrelina, once again, thank you for taking your time to express your experience with us, we will be more than glad to welcome you again for your next visit in Batam.


Harrisly Yours,

Benjamin Castel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Planned an escape to Batam for the Chinese New Year holiday. As mentioned by everyone else, it is located about 5 minutes from Batam Centre ferry terminal. MegaMall is also a few minutes walk from the hotel with plenty of food outlets.

Check-in was a smooth process. The room was not big but sufficient, clean and also looked new. There was a lion dance performance on one of the nights which was cool. Ordered dinner through room service. Had both western food like Lamp Chop or Spagetti and asian food like Mee Soto or Nasi Goreng. They were all tasty.

The television has a good mix of programmes both local and international. They had all the free-to-air channels from Singapore except for the indian channel I think.

One weird issue I encountered was having the smell of smoke in the room after I got back from tour. Oh and I will be honest, if someone makes a stink-bomb in the toilet, the smell is going to linger. I hope for better ventilation in there if I visit in the future :x

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest travelnoobdude,

Cheers from Harris Hotel Batam Center, the new “Hotspot right in the Center”

Thank you very much for your positive and detailed review.

From all the Harris players i wanted to share with you how delighted we are to know when Guests are satisfied for coming in our property. It is always a pleasure when you personally take time to post your review.

Regarding your experience for our celebration of Chinese New Year we are glad to know you appreciated our chef western and asian dishes delivered in you room.

All the Players are pleased to read you enjoyed our convenient location at 2 minutes walking distance from the Megamall and the Harbourfront, connecting Singapore to our area.

In addition, about the inconvenience you encountered in the bathroom, i am glad to inform we recently to set up in all our sanitary water system two blue tablets to maintain a high level of cleanliness and hygienic atmosphere.

Dear valued Guest travelnoobdude, we really hope to welcome you again for your next venue in Batam.

Harrisly Yours,

Benjamin Castel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Spent my christmas at Harris Batam Centre, great service and very new and clean hotel although the hotel itself was pretty small. Room was reasonable and had a great LCD TV. On the overall, worth staying and will come again for a weekend vacation! Opposite this hotel is Batam Megamall

Room Tip: Choose the sea view instead of street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Vincent Simkh,

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback.

We really appreciate you enjoyed our room facilities, service and cleanliness. It is really true too,the cinema located in the Mega-mall close to the hotel gave a good opportunity for all our visitors to entertain when they come to our area.

All our Players are delighted to guarantee a good service for Guest staying with us, therefore dear Guest Vincent Simkh, we are looking forward to meet you again for your next visit.

Harrisly Yours,

Benjamin Castel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Lobby bright and clean. Check in fast with a welcome drink, cookies and towel.
All room requests honoured, room itself spic and span.
Walking out of the ferry terminal, you'll find the hotel on your right.
Megamall is just to the left, though smaller than the nagoya malls.
If you need to kill time, 6 screen cinema in the mall

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Terence Yang,

Thank you very much for your positive review, it has been deeply appreciated by the Players of Harris Hotel Batam Center.

Actually cleanliness belong to our priority, our housekeeping department are strongly involved to ensure consistency to all our guests staying in one of our 171 rooms.

We are glad to read you enjoyed the location, we consider as a real added value for our customers to arrive through the Ferry terminal from Singapore, relaxing in our Harris Hotel Batam Center and then going to MegaMall for shopping and entertaining activities.

Once again, dear Guest Yang, thank you for your comment, it will be a real pleasure for all of us to welcome you again for your next visit in Batam.

Harrisly yours,

Benjamin Castel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harris Hotel Batam Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harris Hotel Batam Center

Address: Jl. Engku Putri, Riau Islands Province 29641, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harris Hotel Batam Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harris Hotel Batam Center the only waterfront hotel in the heart of the Central Business District is strategically located just a step away from the Batam Center International Ferry Terminal, opposite the Mega Mall shopping Center. Within walking Distance from Otorita Batam, Bank Indonesia, Sumatera Expo Building and Mesjid Raya. 10 minutes away from Kepri Mall and Padang Sukajadi Golf.Our property is the nearest hotel from Hang Nadim International Airport.171 sea view and city view spacious Harris rooms and suites, equipped with the Harris Dreamazing Bed, 32" LCD television with 40 international and local channels. Safe deposit box, complimentary coffee and tea facilities.Harris slippers, Harris aromatherapy, Harris leather couch , hair dryer and an array of cosmetic amenities.Free high speed wifi available in the Harris cars and the entire premises.Our infinity pool is overlooking the ocean. The H fitness is equipped with the latest cardio equipment and Gym instructor. Sooth your tired muscles at our In-room H spa featuring the most desired facial and body treatments.Taste our Indonesian delights at the H cafe and our Harris healthy juices at our juice Bar. In room dining is available around the clock.Harris Batam Center is the perfect place to stay and accommodate your meeting needs at our Unique Ballroom with a capacity of 1000 persons and the highest ceiling in town. Our Smiley meeting rooms are equipped with the latest high tec equipment.Come and try our new Lifestyle right in the Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Harris Hotel Batam Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harris Hotel Batam Batam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harris Hotel Batam Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.