We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New hotel great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harris Hotel Batam Center

Save Saved
You added Harris Hotel Batam Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Harris Hotel Batam Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Engku Putri, Riau Islands Province 29641, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 64 hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“New hotel great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Spent my christmas at Harris Batam Centre, great service and very new and clean hotel although the hotel itself was pretty small. Room was reasonable and had a great LCD TV. On the overall, worth staying and will come again for a weekend vacation! Opposite this hotel is Batam Megamall

Room Tip: Choose the sea view instead of street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Vincent Simkh,

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback.

We really appreciate you enjoyed our room facilities, service and cleanliness. It is really true too,the cinema located in the Mega-mall close to the hotel gave a good opportunity for all our visitors to entertain when they come to our area.

All our Players are delighted to guarantee a good service for Guest staying with us, therefore dear Guest Vincent Simkh, we are looking forward to meet you again for your next visit.

Harrisly Yours,

Benjamin Castel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    207
    45
    5
    6
See reviews for
96
111
18
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Lobby bright and clean. Check in fast with a welcome drink, cookies and towel.
All room requests honoured, room itself spic and span.
Walking out of the ferry terminal, you'll find the hotel on your right.
Megamall is just to the left, though smaller than the nagoya malls.
If you need to kill time, 6 screen cinema in the mall

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Terence Yang,

Thank you very much for your positive review, it has been deeply appreciated by the Players of Harris Hotel Batam Center.

Actually cleanliness belong to our priority, our housekeeping department are strongly involved to ensure consistency to all our guests staying in one of our 171 rooms.

We are glad to read you enjoyed the location, we consider as a real added value for our customers to arrive through the Ferry terminal from Singapore, relaxing in our Harris Hotel Batam Center and then going to MegaMall for shopping and entertaining activities.

Once again, dear Guest Yang, thank you for your comment, it will be a real pleasure for all of us to welcome you again for your next visit in Batam.

Harrisly yours,

Benjamin Castel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Went to the Harris hotel Batam Center over 2 weekends. We bought 2 online deals that only cost SGD$59.90 per person that includes 1 night stay, 1 hour massage and breakfast.

The staff are young, vibrant and energetic. They greet us cheerfully and answer our questions with a personal touch when we arrives at the hotel.

The room is nice and cosy. We have a city view on the 1st weekend and the sea view on the 2nd weekend.

The hotel is just next to the Batam ferry terminal and a 5 minutes walk away. It extremely convenient and the big batam center shopping mall is just across the road.

We took a taxi from the hotel to this open air coffee shop called Yong kee to eat sea food and the taxi fare was 40000Rupiahs. We later walked back to the hotel from the coffeeshop. It only a 20 minutes walk. The food was fresh and nice.

We practially spent the whole day in the mall itself, watching 2 movies. Movies tickets are cheap compared to Singapore. And there are many restaurants to eat. There is a great supermarket and the local department store is also there.

The rest of the time was spent swimming in the hotel pool and gym. The breakfast spread is not too bad as well.

The massage that was included in the deal was good. The staff are highly trained and it one of the better massages that I had in Batam.

Overall an enjoyable and relaxing weekend at a nice and cosy hotel.

Will definitely stay in the hotel again

Room Tip: High floor Sea view is so much better than the city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest SailorTraveler,

Cheers from Harris Hotel Batam Center, the new “Hotspot right in the Center”

Thank you very much for your positive comment which has been shared with the HARRIS Hotel Batam Center Players.

We are delighted to read you enjoyed your massage with our qualified experts. Our Fitness Center and Swimming pool are definitely facilities which allow our Guests to practice sports and relax.

In addition, we are more than pleased to know you went to the MegaMall located at 2 minutes walking distances from the hotel only, with all the shopping and entertaining activities proposed.

Once again, thank you very much for your constructive feedback, we are working day after day to improve your stay with us.

Harrisly yours,

Benjamin Castel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I left my Samsung phone charger in the hotel and checked out after realizing when I returned to Singapore.

Hence, I sent an email to the hotel customer service to inquire about it without pinning much hope as from my past experience with other hotels. Nevertheless, the hotel staff get back to me on the next day and have it delivered to Singapore the very same day.

I would like to thank the Hotel for having such excellent service and I really feel that the hotel is very clean and nice to stay and very worth the value as the service and stay worth more than the price we paid. Furthermore, the room provides very nice aroma scent too.

Worth visiting!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Tan,

Cheers from Harris Hotel Batam Center, the new “Hotspot right in the Center”

Thank you very much for your comment. We are more than glad to know the phone charger we send back to you has been quickly well returned. Guest satisfaction is one or our priority, considered before, during and after your stay in our hotel.

I will be more than please to meet you for your next visit, sharing your experience with HARRIS Hotel Batam Center

Harrisly Yours,

Benjamin Castel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Soo..this is my 2nd time to Harris Hotel Batam Centre..ive been to the other harris resort at waterfront city numerous times and it has never let me down. This kinda made me a strong believer of harris.

So checked in on a sunday at 11 and was told to wait till 2 for a room,stated seaview but got city view instead. but these are all nitty gritty stuff so yeah no biggie.

This time round the service was excellent,the staff was uber friendly and accommodating and i guess this is one of the main reasons ive been coming back to their chain of hotels.

howwwever,on this occasion, the room itself let me and my wife down.

im not sure whether its the new GM or just the housekeeping department but the bedsheets were stained. We're not really fussy and don't expect flawless spotless sheets but there were spots on the bed that kinda made me paranoid whether it was bodily fluids from the previous occupants. wifey was particular but thank god she managed to put it aside and let it pass.

So that was one thing.

The other thing that really made us sad/disappointed/angry/sigh was after my shower,i reached out for the towel,unfolded it and gosh : numerous blood-like stains on the towel. I mean comeonnnnn are we not entitled to at least clean linen?! sigh. ive attached some pics,so yeah.

made a call to the recept and got my new warm towel (which we thoroughly checked) within ten mins.

with the numerous reviews below about the hotel's cleanliness i guess its..common?

Sigh. harris,what happened?

Room Tip: CHECK YOUR TOWELS! and your bedsheet. like really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Aryyy,

Thank you very much for your constructive input.

We are more than please you appreciated our staff service, we are working day after day to to make your stay a unique experience.

Regarding the issue you copied with in your room, we are actually changing our stock of linens and towels, to guarantee a proper level of cleanliness. Our housekeeping department has been informed about it, appropriate measures have been taken.

On the top of that, we are pleased to inform you we are changing our chemical products and type of water used for the washing process of our sheets, towels, and linens.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback.


Benjamin Castel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medan, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

I and my family, stay this hotel for 4 nights at end of 2012. I choose Harris Batam Centre, because I plan to take vacation at Universal Studio Singapore by Ferry. If you guys want to go Batam by sea from Singapore, you may choose this hotel. Its location close to ferry terminal/port, 5 minutes by walking. It takes 30 minutes from Hang Nadim Airport, its cost about Rp 70.000. The room is clean, but minimalis area about 20 sqm. The break fast serves at 6 am with many choices of local food. In front of the hotel, there are hypermart (mall) and starburck coffee and some fast food are available up to 9pm. The swimming pool located in the rear hotel. The check in receptionist is fast and helpfull. Transportation to and from hotel by taxi. Nagoya mall is 30 minutes by taxi, it costs rp 70.000. If you go to Batam, you must try and taste Sop Ikan, "fish soup" Yongky, located 300m from Nagoya Mall, where you may shopping with cheap and bargain price, you may ask half of price at Nagoya.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Harris Fans Alpha Sigma,

Cheers from Harris Hotel Batam Center, the new “Hotspot right in the Center”

Thank you for sharing your positive review and also for staying with us.

We are delighted that you had enjoyed your stay and the location of our property. We are more than glad to read you appreciated our cheerful Players.
Our HARRIS Players do their very best to create a unique lifestyle for everyone. We are more than glad you enjoyed the good location of our hotel, 2 minutes walking to the Megamall with all the shopping activities at your disposal over there.

Once again thank you for choosing our hotel for your Holiday and on behalf of Harris Players we are looking forward to having you with us in the near future.

Harrisly Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Me and fiance went to Batam for the first time. We bought this deal coupon online that consists of city tour and all, checked in with a couple of others of the tour. Upon arriving at the hotel, we were warmly greeted with a warm towel and a cup of drink which had those black tadpole egg thingy in it. It was delicious! First impression-overwhelmed.

After checking in, we proceed to our room and I was wooed over instantly. They gave us an ocean view room and the view was beautiful. The room was clean and I immediately lit up the aromatherapy oil for fun. The orangey scent was so nice that I came back to Singapore and went in search of orange scented oil too! I couldn't find the famous bolster of Harris though. :( Was a tad sad about it as I heard alot of rave reviews on it and alsoI couldn't find the dino slippers! Why?

Well, but that aside, we ordered room service and it arrived promptly. We ordered 2 main course and a cream mushroom soup. It amount to about $19SGD only. And moreover, the food was FABULOUS! Not kidding. The soup came in a big bowl and it was thick and tasty. The main courses were large portioned, delicious and even though we were small eaters, we finished everything! I can't ask for better room service food at such a price for such a taste.

Toilets were ok cept' the water became incredibly small after running for awhile. And it was difficult to bathe well. About 4mins later, it'll resume to its normal power. We experienced it all the times that we bathed so it's not just a isolated case.

We accessed the gym too and it was well equipped and at times, we were just the only ones. The breakfast buffet was ok cept' the omellete always had shells in them. But overall, it was nice and not forgetting entertaining when the waiters and waitresses broke into a dance and song. :D

Location wise, it was so convenient as it was just opposite Megamall which we spent a day there, just eating, shopping, enjoying a 4Dshort film, A & W(!!!!) etc. The things ain't all cheap but if you are looking at just simple shopping, there are good buys.

The ferry terminal was so near that we reached it in a matter of mins after leaving the hotel. Because of that, we could save alot on transport to terminal and also book the latest ferry out to Singapore.

I really love Harris and we'll definitely go back one day, do the same things, eat the same food and still fall in love with this hotel all over again.

Thanks Harris for making our first trip to Batam such a good one.

Room Tip: Ask for a oceanview room and order room service!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Harris Fans Melisstar,

Cheers from Harris Hotel Batam Center, the new “Hotspot right in the Center”

Thank you very much for choosing HARRIS Hotel Batam Center and for sharing your wonderful comments.

It is a real pleasure to read that you had an enjoyable holiday and we are as well very glad to know that HARRIS life style’s match with your own taste. We understand that the strategic location of the hotel next to Megamall and Batam Center Ferry Terminal has been essential to you.

Please be sure that your review has been warmly welcome by our whole team. We would also like to thank you for all nice comment about the food & the atmosphere of the hotel and we will be more than happy to welcome you many more times and have you as part of our repeat friends coming to stay with us.

Harrisly Yours,

Benjamin Castel
gm@harris-batam-center.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harris Hotel Batam Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harris Hotel Batam Center

Also Known As:
Harris Hotel Batam
Harris Hotel Batam Batam
Address: Jl. Engku Putri, Riau Islands Province 29641, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harris Hotel Batam Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harris Hotel Batam Center the only waterfront hotel in the heart of the Central Business District is strategically located just a step away from the Batam Center International Ferry Terminal, opposite the Mega Mall shopping Center. Within walking Distance from Otorita Batam, Bank Indonesia, Sumatera Expo Building and Mesjid Raya. 10 minutes away from Kepri Mall and Padang Sukajadi Golf.Our property is the nearest hotel from Hang Nadim International Airport.171 sea view and city view spacious Harris rooms and suites, equipped with the Harris Dreamazing Bed, 32" LCD television with 40 international and local channels. Safe deposit box, complimentary coffee and tea facilities.Harris slippers, Harris aromatherapy, Harris leather couch , hair dryer and an array of cosmetic amenities.Free high speed wifi available in the Harris cars and the entire premises.Our infinity pool is overlooking the ocean. The H fitness is equipped with the latest cardio equipment and Gym instructor. Sooth your tired muscles at our In-room H spa featuring the most desired facial and body treatments.Taste our Indonesian delights at the H cafe and our Harris healthy juices at our juice Bar. In room dining is available around the clock.Harris Batam Center is the perfect place to stay and accommodate your meeting needs at our Unique Ballroom with a capacity of 1000 persons and the highest ceiling in town. Our Smiley meeting rooms are equipped with the latest high tec equipment.Come and try our new Lifestyle right in the Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Harris Hotel Batam Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harris Hotel Batam Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.