We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living up to the vibrant mood of ORANGE indeed! Love it! :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harris Hotel Batam Center

Save Saved
You added Harris Hotel Batam Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harris Hotel Batam Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Engku Putri, Riau Islands Province 29641, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 69 hotels in Batam
Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Living up to the vibrant mood of ORANGE indeed! Love it! :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The hotel is located just next to the ferry terminal. So it is very convenient. When we reached the hotel, we were greeted with welcome drinks and hot towel..the hot towel was really what we need after a hot day out in the sun. :) The staff were great, they speak English well and even shared with us about some promotions that they have. And no hard selling, which is great!

The only thing I was disappointed with was that I have specifically requested for high floor but was told that we had to wait for close to 2 hours. So in the end, we had to settle for the 2nd floor.

The room was decent, clean and there's great TV channels! I also tried the massage. Great! Love it.. Just the location wasn't great.. and nothing much at Batam Centre either.

Room Tip: Get the massage. They are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Harris Fans,

Cheers from Harris Hotel Batam Center, the new “Hotspot right in the Center”

Thank you very much for your positive feedback concerning your recent stay.

We are delighted to have you staying with us and we are extremely glad that you enjoyed your stay at our unique property.

We are definitely to hear about your room arrangement inconvenience. All the room requests are subjected to the room availability of the day. This disturbance has been informed to the related departments, they fully took into consideration this point to be improved.

Once again thank you so much for your genuine feedback and looking forward welcoming you back at our Hotel soon.

Harrisly Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    258
    54
    7
    6
See reviews for
115
131
23
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

In terms of staff, its always the same. friendly and smiling away. 10/10 no doubts about it. bwell in terms of accomadation, the bed has always been great and comfortable to sleep as both of us sleep througout the night till breakfast before we go back and nap again before we check out. bathroom had good consistant hot shower so that is good. Did not really have the time to try out room service at night maybe i was really tired. I usually will do that so no comments about it. so accomadation 9/10. now comes the most important part food.the food at the buffet line was kept at a good hot tempertaure which had improved the from the last time we came. private dinner in terms of steak that i had and chicken which veron had, i would rate it at 7/10 as my steak was more like well done when i ordered medium. the chicken was a bit overdone but still . In terms of pro activeness, from the servers, i would say 7/10. however there was a girl whom i forgot to take her name ran after us to find alternatives for our desert as my mrs has allegry to peach, manago and apricort. It was a rather cute and very good gesture that she offer all sorts of ideas and finally got a fruit platter from the buffet and ask us to have it. It was very nice of her to do it. i guess by that time i was just too tired i wanted to go back to my room to sleep and overlooked in getting her name. so overall food and service comes out to about 7.5/10. The swimming pool has also improved as i used to have problems swimming in it coz i just cannot see from end to end. somehow now i can see better. if there was changes to the water, then i am happy if not means i was blind. hahaha. overall i would now rate my stay as 8.5/10.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Harris Fans,

Cheers from Harris Hotel Batam Center, the new “Hotspot right in the Center”

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your excellent experience with us in detail; staff friendliness, comfortable bed, consistent hot water, food and better swimming pool.

It gives us great pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We reconsider our service to be improve day by day to make all our Fans having a memorable and enjoyable holidays.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to HARRIS Hotel Batam Center soon.

Harrisly Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

for those who are looking for excellent location, harris batam center is the answer. walking distance to the harbour (literally walking) if you want to get ferry to singapore, and also to the mall where you can find any decent restaurant and convenience store. the hotel is still brand new, our room is totally clean and decent. my cons only goes for our first night at the hotel where the air conditioner was not working well, but it went well on the next day anyway. the cookies on the receptionist desk is really great. the staffs are really nice and warm.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear HARRIS Fans,

Cheers from Harris Hotel Batam Center, the new “Hotspot right in the Center”

Allow me to thank you so much for staying with us and for writing a positive review.

We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay at our property and have noted your comment concerning the air conditioner was not working well. We already have brought this point in our meeting to further improve our service offered to all of our Fans.

We are also very glad that you had enjoyed our home made cookies, our chef has been delighted too know your comment.

Once again thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays and on behalf of Harris Players we are looking forward to having you with us in the near future.

Harrisly Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed here on 17th and 18th December 2012, I stayed at Harris Resort twice and was floored by the service, warmth and so was expecting the same for Harris Batam centre but was so disappointed.
Check in was a hassled, there was only 2 counter open for check in even though there were queues and each took a long time processing the check in. They could not get the number of vouchers and the lunch that we were suppose to have right, so its calling back and forth even though our agent in Singapore stated 10 pax. We booked 3 rooms.

The staffs at the reception seems lost, just like the new GM. He was busy clearing the empty glasses from the tables instead of greetings the guests, unlike Mr Stylianos.

Our ferry timing was botched up, instead of 7pm, time that we chose, it was 7am instead. Luckily, we were able to change it at the ferry counter after being inform of the mistake.
Rooms are ok, its new. Location is good.

Asked if they have shuttle to Nagoya, they said no, so I dont know how the other reviewers got the service. It seems the departments are not in sync.
Overall, did not have the good feeling I had when it was under the old management and dont think I would be staying there again as the only reason I chose Harris was for the excellent service, since its no different from other hotels, would just choose others next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Harris Fans,

Cheers from Harris Hotel Batam Center. The New "Hotspot right in the Center"

First of all, i really wanted to greet you for your input regarding your experience in HARRIS Hotel Batam Center. I already shared with my related heads of department the points you emphasized. We already took the necessary actions to avoid this disturbances happen again.

Secondly, as you mentioned, regarding the fact you preferred the "old management' which used to be previously apply in HARRIS Hotel Batam Center, we definitely continue to maintain and improve the cheerful spirit of our brand, and make it consistent wherever HARRIS Hotel you go.

As General Manager, welcoming guests and making sure they have an unique stay with us is a major point. Making sure operationally and technically the "floor" is running well is another. As hotelier, the both complete each other, then, we can guarantee to our fans we will deliver them a Unique, Simple, and Friendly experience in HARRIS Hotel Batam Center.

Dear Fan, thank you again for this constructive comment, i will be more than please to meet you in HARRIS Hotel Batam Center, and making sure your stay with us will fit with your expectation.


Harrisly Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a night in Nov 2012.

- good price
- great location - beside Batam Centre ferry terminal, and batam centre megamall is diagonally opposite
- provide free shuttle service to nagoya hill daily
- breakfast is good
- nice pool deck
- seaview room upon request and availability
- staff are friendly

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Harris Fans, Cheers from Harris Hotel Batam Center. The New "Hotspot right in the Center".

Thank you so much for your positive review. It gives us great pleasure to hear that you had enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Indeed we are a simple, unique and friendly hotel strategically located at Batam Center area and a real value for money. Our Harris Players try their very best to create a unique lifestyle for everyone. Looking forward welcoming you to HARRIS Hotel Batam Center soon.

Harrisly Yours,

Benjamin Castel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed at Harris Batam Center for 3 days 2 nights.
It was just a stone throw away from Batam Center ferry terminal. No transfers required from ferry terminal to hotel. Check in was fast and efficient.
Our room was at the highest floor (9th floor) overlooking the sea. Great view.
Room was spacious to accommodate 3 people.

The hotel itself is opposite Megamall which houses a cinema, hypermarket, Starbucks and lots of shops. And it was about 15 minutes drive away from Nagoya.

The staff at Harris was definitely a lively bunch. Always greeting us and eager to assist.
Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: High floor will give you excellent sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Harris Fans,

Cheers from Harris Hotel Batam Center, the new “Hotspot right in the Center”

Thank you for sharing your positive review and also for staying with us. Indeed we are a simple, unique and friendly hotel strategically located at the Batam Center area. Our HARRIS Players try their very best to create a unique lifestyle for everyone. Looking forward for your next visit and thank you so much for choosing HARRIS Batam Center as your preferred lifestyle experience in Batam.

Harrisly Yours,

Benjamin Castel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We went for a 3D2N stay at Harris Hotel, location wise was great, walking distance to Mega Mall was only a few mins. Great service from the Staff too.

But there was 2 things which is quite disappointing,

1) The staff came in to our room for housekeeping(which we didn't request for) when we were out for breakfast. I know it might be their duties to upkeep the room, but we didn't request for housekeeping & also, they didn't inform us beforehand, so I don't think it's right for them to just came in the room like this.

2) The staff at the breakfast egg corner should be more observant, I told them what I want and they actually gave my order to another person who order after me. There wasn't a lot of people around there so I don't understand how could they just forget my orders in a few mins.

Overall experience was good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Harris Fans,

Cheers from Harris Hotel Batam Center, the new “Hotspot right in the Center”

Thank you so much for your great review and also staying with us. We are delighted that you had enjoyed your stay and the location of our property. We are sorry about the incident you mentioned in housekeeping side and the staff at the breakfast egg corner, we already have taken measures and corrective actions in order to train our staff and rectify the situation. Looking forward to welcoming you back the soonest.

Harrisly Yours,

Benjamin Castel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harris Hotel Batam Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harris Hotel Batam Center

Address: Jl. Engku Putri, Riau Islands Province 29641, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harris Hotel Batam Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harris Hotel Batam Center the only waterfront hotel in the heart of the Central Business District is strategically located just a step away from the Batam Center International Ferry Terminal, opposite the Mega Mall shopping Center. Within walking Distance from Otorita Batam, Bank Indonesia, Sumatera Expo Building and Mesjid Raya. 10 minutes away from Kepri Mall and Padang Sukajadi Golf.Our property is the nearest hotel from Hang Nadim International Airport.171 sea view and city view spacious Harris rooms and suites, equipped with the Harris Dreamazing Bed, 32" LCD television with 40 international and local channels. Safe deposit box, complimentary coffee and tea facilities.Harris slippers, Harris aromatherapy, Harris leather couch , hair dryer and an array of cosmetic amenities.Free high speed wifi available in the Harris cars and the entire premises.Our infinity pool is overlooking the ocean. The H fitness is equipped with the latest cardio equipment and Gym instructor. Sooth your tired muscles at our In-room H spa featuring the most desired facial and body treatments.Taste our Indonesian delights at the H cafe and our Harris healthy juices at our juice Bar. In room dining is available around the clock.Harris Batam Center is the perfect place to stay and accommodate your meeting needs at our Unique Ballroom with a capacity of 1000 persons and the highest ceiling in town. Our Smiley meeting rooms are equipped with the latest high tec equipment.Come and try our new Lifestyle right in the Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Harris Hotel Batam Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harris Hotel Batam Batam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harris Hotel Batam Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.