We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Located just next to the ferry terminal with cinema and shopping around” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harris Hotel Batam Center

Save Saved
You added Harris Hotel Batam Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harris Hotel Batam Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Engku Putri, Riau Islands Province 29641, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE BREAKFAST FOR 2
Ranked #2 of 66 hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Located just next to the ferry terminal with cinema and shopping around”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is just next to the ferry terminal which is very convenient. The Megamall at opposite provide pretty wide choices of dinning, shopping g. Room is spacious & bright but a bit aged, also not very good in soundproof because I can hear my next door clearly. Toilet looks clean but bedsheet and towel are not clean, there are stains. Staff are friendly as they will greet you whenever they see you.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Harris Fans,

Cheers from Harris Hotel Batam Center, the new “Hotspot right in the Center”

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your comments. Indeed our property has a very strategic location, conveniently located side by side to Batam Center Ferry Terminal and near island attraction.

We also thank you for bringing to our attention the bed sheet and towel which were not clean, there were stains, an action will be taken immediately. We wish to assure you that if we had fallen short in any way, it was by no means intended.

Once again thank you so much for staying with us and looking forward welcoming you back in the near future.


Harrisly yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    247
    52
    6
    6
See reviews for
109
126
21
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stay at harris for my 2 trips in Jun & Aug 2012. Requested a room with a sea view, high floor & non smoking room & all this requested are given. rooms are new & clean. just a small issue, guess is a design problem, both room I gotten the shower area seem not to drain very well after a shower. Like the small little touch of the aroma oil that can be lighted up at night for a great sleep. Will return here again for my next trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Harris Fans,

Cheers from Harris Hotel Batam Center, the new “Hotspot right in the Center”

We thank you so much for your positive review and also for staying with us on last June & August 2012. We have well noted your comment on the shower area and we are working to improve it, it has been fully taking into consideration.

As you have mentioned you would like to return here again for your next trip. It will be a great pleasure for all of us to welcome you again in HARRIS Hotel Batam Center.


harrisly yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Hotel staff (reception, security, housekeeping) are very courteous, friendly and extremely helpful. Hotel room is a decent size and twin beds were comfortable. We had sea-view rooms on the 8th floor. Location of hotel -- very good because it's next to the Batam Centre Ferry terminal and across the street from Megamall. But it's about half an hour from Nagoya Hill and taxi each way will cost Rp 60 000. Breakfast buffet ok but nothing outstanding. The kitchen staff could do better by heating up the pastries -- saw some guests standing at the pop-up toaster to heat up their pastries and buns.

Brickbats: the cafe staff -- need to be more vigilant to clear used plates/bowls without being asked. Egg station: asked for half-boiled egg and was told they were finished. Wondered why they could not prepare more since it was still a good two hours to the end of breakfast time, and they were still frying sunny-side eggs and omelettes. Sent my husband to ask a second time and the response -- no hot water! What a joke!
Bath towels: a couple were badly stained.
'unique slippers': before we booked this hotel, we checked the hotel website and various other sites and read that a 'unique' feature of this hotel was the 'unique' orange slippers. So we were looking forward to using them. Unfortunately no such slipper was provided except the usual thin white ones. When we asked the reception, we were told the slippers were for sale and not provided in the rooms. When we pointed out the website, the guy said they would change the info there. Another case of deceptive advertising?
Other than the above, everything else was as expected of a hotel. We must commend the hotel reception for arranging for the hotel shuttle to drop us off at the ferry terminal on the day of departure as it was drizzling. We were very grateful for this extra service. Will use this hotel again for the convenient location.

Room Tip: Ask for sea-view and high floor (we had 804 and 806).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Harris Fans,

Cheers from HARRIS Hotel Batam Center. The New "Hotspot right in the Center".

Thank you so much for your genuine review which is very much appreciated.
We have well noted all your constructive comments concerning the Harris Players, bath towel and unique slippers. An action will be taken immediately and we are working to improve it accordingly to the related departments.

We do apologize for the inconvenience which has been caused to you.

Once again thank you for staying with us and looking forward welcoming you back in the near future

Harrisly yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

It was so centralized. 1 minute beside the ferry terminal and 1 minute in front of the shopping mall.
However it is about 20-30 minutes away to the Nagoya shopping mll, they have cheap fake branded bags like Louis Vuitton , prada and food. Nothing much, cheap hair cut ,cheap spa, massage.

The hotel was good, spacious and we had one facing the sea view, very beautiful, small pool with those cosy rounded rattan baskets that allow 3-4 people to sit inside, but it was not located strategically. Right infront of the breakfast area, was the swimming pool which will allow all eyes to prey on you .

Most of all it is value for money.
Taxi cost about 8 dollars to the main shopping area. One way.
They have famous ayam penet at the Nagoya hill mall too on level 1.
Breakfast was Indonesian food. It is rather ok.
Dinner grill was nice, but a little dark with a movie screening outside at night.
Hotel staff were all very very helpful.
The manager tevan was very very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Harris Fans,

Cheers from Harris Hotel Batam Center. The New "Hotspot right in the Center".


Allow me to thank you so much for staying with us and for writing a so positive review.
We are so glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us and that unique, simple and friendly concept has been really noticeable. Indeed at Harris Hotel Batam Center, we are creating a unique lifestyle for everyone. We have well noted your comments and looking forward welcoming you back in the very near future.

Harrisly Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

When you arrived at Batam, you can see the cheery hotel from the ferry terminal. It's that near, only 5 mins walk! The colourful building is a welcome sight indeed.
Loved the bright and cheery reception and the bright and cheery room! The room is spacious, enough space for a third single bed. Our room faced the pool and the waterfront, which was really nice. You can watch the ferries arriving at the terminal!
Walking distance to MegaMall, which is really convenient for food and shopping.
Breakfast was ok, not very impressive but sufficed.
Pool is small and the water very cold, as it doesnt get any sun at all.
Overall a pleasant experience and I would come back if I want to stay near MegaMall.

Room Tip: 1) Lots of food options at MegaMall! 2) Go for your spa experience at Eska in Nagoya. Taxi costs R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Khalid8,

Thank you very much for your positive review.

We are more than glad to read you enjoyed the Unique vibrant mood of the hotel. Cheerfulness is part of our policy, all Players are involved to welcome you properly and making you stay delightful.

In addition, we are pleased to see you enjoyed the close location of the hotel to the Megamall where many shopping activities are at your disposal.

Once again, thank you for your review, feedbacks are always opportunities to improve our service delivered to our Valued Guests.

Harrisly Yours,

Benjamin Castel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

It was newly built when I stayed there last November (I had to tick December in the options bcuz they only had backdated til then), almost over a year ago, with my partner. 3 days proved to be too short a time to be spent lazing in the hotel room. That's for sure.

On the day of our arrival, we were told to make a refundable deposit of 50 SGD at the check in counter. We weren't told beforehand, but we were prepared with extra cash, so thank God for that. The money was returned to us at the end of our stay, if that's what you guys were wondering.

Now. The rooms. We got the double deluxe, so the layout is like Singapore's Hotel Re!, for those who knows. Everything is orange, as is
their theme.

They've got an infinity pool where one can dine by while admiring the ocean.

Their english needs improving though. There
were posters with a number of grammatical and spelling mistakes which one cannot simply ignore. I think this was the only turn off I found within the grounds. I should actually applaud one particular lady who was then in charge of breakfast. She returned my smartphone to me just as I left the building for a shopping spree. She could have chosen to keep it instead, yet she was honest. THANK YOU, whoever you are!

Now on to efficiency. It IS situated just a stone's throw away from the ferry terminal, and also Mega Mall shopping Centre (Damn, it's awesome that you can smoke anywhere you want to). However, since the area is still undergoing changes to becoming a business sector of Batam, there is no entertainment nor any life nearby. There are pushcarts at night which sells glorious cheap satays, though - a life saver when you wanna just go down from your hotel room to get something local to munch on while flipping the cable tv. Speaking of which, they show Singapore channels as well.

Jump into a cab with the help of the security (he takes care of those things too) at the lobby. He will write you a receipt to show to the driver, since the taxis aren't metered. i.e a trip up to Nagoya Hills costs atleast 60 000 RP. What you should really do, apart from visiting the Miniature Park, zipping down the flying fox or having the must eat seafood beside the cake lapis factory, is to check out the 7 bridges which links all of Batam's tiny little islands together. All the good photos can be shot right there! And while you're at it, you could rent a bicycle and burn off some calories the fun way, right on the dirt. Explore the forest the local way!

Now go pack your luggage and head off to this wonderful place! Much better than Harris Resort, if you ask me!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Harris Fans, Cheers from Harris Hotel Batam Center. The New "Hotspot right in the Center".

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your excellent experience with us in details. It gives us great pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Indeed our simple, unique and friendly concepts make us so different from the others and also always do our best effort in make your stay a pleasant and memorable. At the same time, we appreciate your comment on the English need improving.

We are glad to inform you that we are providing English training to all our Players so they might deliver the best quality service.

We look forward to welcoming you again and enjoy the touch of our hospitality in simple, unique and friendly concept.

Harrisly yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jambi, Indonesia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed in room number 807 on 5th November 2012 with my father. First thing first, the receptionist was a bit slow, I think they hired non-professional person as a receptionist. Although the room was spacious and clean, the air conditioner did not work well, when I set it to 21 degree it suddenly turned off. When it set below 20, the room became too cold. Moreover the environment was a nightmare! Seriously... I heard sounds like 'ngg nggggg nggg' all night long. How can you sleep in that situation??? Next, the free internet... A bit slow for me. Rate was not cheap though, it cost about USD $55 dollar per night without breakfast. The other hotels gave lower price than this. I think this is the first and the last time for me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Harris Fans,

Cheers from Harris Hotel Batam Center. The New "Hotspot right in the Center"



Dear Ms Erin Chen,


First of all, thank you for review regarding your “terrible” stay in our hotel.
All the HARRIS Hotel Batam Players have been already informed we did not meet your expectation for this venue. Even though my apologize cannot change your experience with us, I hope you could understand the following circumstances detailed below.


From our CCTV footage, our new receptionist (starting his 5th day of duty) welcome you at 19:07 pm, the check in finished at 19:14pm; the processing of credit card took 1minute, we aim to have a maximum of 5 minutes for this operation. You experienced 2 additional minutes. I spoke with my Front Office Manager about this disturbance, direct actions have been done. Our new players are closely monitored now all along their first month with HARRIS Hotel Batam Center.

Regarding the sound disturbing your room on the 8th floor, the hotel was actually celebrating its 1st anniversary in our ballroom. From all the HARRIS players, I can guarantee you we never wanted to disturb your rest with us. Unfortunately this unique event created negative externalities; it has been fully taking into consideration by all our heads of departments and their respective teams.


As a consequence, we have an engineering department and a manager on duty available all along the night, to assist our guests which are copying with technical issues. Every time when our customers need to decrease the air conditioning temperature because they feel too warm, we are more than pleased to provide one of our players coming to their room to explain how to switch the remote from our standard temperature ( based on saving environment policy ) to the one requested.


As a simple concept, in HARRIS Hotel Batam Center, you only have to call one of our operator by pressing “0” with one of the phones located in each of our 171 rooms, who will be more than glad to serve you as the best as we do.


After checking the Manager On Duty Report, I unfortunately noticed any calling from your room, we easily could fixed your Wi-Fi connection, by providing a cable, as we occasionally do when guest inform us about this kind of disturbances. Furthermore, our IT department has been deeply informed that all internet connections has to work properly in all the hotel rooms.


As mentioned in the first part of my answer, this words could not change what your experienced in our hotel for that night, but I wanted to express my full understanding of your feedbacks, and how direct actions has been already taken by all the players working in HARRIS Hotel Batam to make this one not happen again.


Dear Ms. Erin Chen, in the case you will come back to Batam, I will be more than pleased to discuss with you about this misunderstanding, giving you the opportunity to experience this time how everybody, as more as proactive we are, can learn on mistakes.


Harrisly Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harris Hotel Batam Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harris Hotel Batam Center

Address: Jl. Engku Putri, Riau Islands Province 29641, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harris Hotel Batam Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harris Hotel Batam Center the only waterfront hotel in the heart of the Central Business District is strategically located just a step away from the Batam Center International Ferry Terminal, opposite the Mega Mall shopping Center. Within walking Distance from Otorita Batam, Bank Indonesia, Sumatera Expo Building and Mesjid Raya. 10 minutes away from Kepri Mall and Padang Sukajadi Golf.Our property is the nearest hotel from Hang Nadim International Airport.171 sea view and city view spacious Harris rooms and suites, equipped with the Harris Dreamazing Bed, 32" LCD television with 40 international and local channels. Safe deposit box, complimentary coffee and tea facilities.Harris slippers, Harris aromatherapy, Harris leather couch , hair dryer and an array of cosmetic amenities.Free high speed wifi available in the Harris cars and the entire premises.Our infinity pool is overlooking the ocean. The H fitness is equipped with the latest cardio equipment and Gym instructor. Sooth your tired muscles at our In-room H spa featuring the most desired facial and body treatments.Taste our Indonesian delights at the H cafe and our Harris healthy juices at our juice Bar. In room dining is available around the clock.Harris Batam Center is the perfect place to stay and accommodate your meeting needs at our Unique Ballroom with a capacity of 1000 persons and the highest ceiling in town. Our Smiley meeting rooms are equipped with the latest high tec equipment.Come and try our new Lifestyle right in the Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Harris Hotel Batam Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harris Hotel Batam Batam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harris Hotel Batam Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.