We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you, Harris staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harris Hotel Batam Center

Save Saved
You added Harris Hotel Batam Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harris Hotel Batam Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Engku Putri, Riau Islands Province 29641, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE BREAKFAST FOR 2
Ranked #2 of 67 hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Thank you, Harris staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012 via mobile

Besides the excellent location and clean environment, my husband and I were impressed with the warm reception upon check-in. The reception staff were sincere and all smiles, and even the security guards served us nice welcome drinks and a cool towel to refresh ourselves. During check-in, the reception staff even took time to ask us to have a cookie :) I think her name was Vernya or something! She was really helpful and attended to our questions with a friendly smile.

To top it all off, we received an unexpected surprise when we came back after a long day out. We had requested for ice but when we opened our room door, 4 Harris staff greeted us with a loud "Happy Wedding Anniversary!" they were armed with a tasty chocolate cake lit with 2 candles and with the wordings "Happy Wedding". They helped us take some lovely photos too!

We have been to Harris Waterfront, and we know Harris prides herself on excellent service. Thanks for maintaining the standard here at the new hotel too! We will tell our friends of the great time we had here!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Dear Harris Fans,
We are so delighted to know that you have an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you so much for patronizing both Harris properties in Batam.
Happy Anniversary once again and thank you for staying with us on such a very special occasion .
Looking forward welcoming You back again soon.
Harrisly Yours
Stylianos Koureas
General Manager
gm@harris-batam-center.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    248
    52
    6
    6
See reviews for
110
126
21
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Have read couples of review in TripAdvisor & most impressed by the hotel GM personal response & assurance to the hotel guests before I decided on Harris Hotel.

After reading the review, I requested for 2 connecting rooms with high floor & non smoking. I do understand it is subject to availability upon check-in. We check-in on 10.3.2012 around 5.30pm & hv all the above + seaview rooms. The rooms are clean with pleasant aroma... The orange bedroom slippers are exceptional. We wore them to the Harris Cafe & the swimming pool.

The buffet breakfast spread was good. During breakfast there is this Dino dance performance where the staff you seen clearing your plates joining the Dino costumed masquerade dancer dancing all the way... It is a very refreshing performance. The steps are simple & we almost wanted to join them. We chat with one of the staff who smile & dance happily throughout the short performance. He says there are 4 such performances per day in Harris Café.

Overall experience in the hotel is very good. The staffs are young & look vibrant with their orange tops & scarfs. They are very creative with their scarfs. They are worn in different ways. Most of the staffs are courteous, polite & understand basic English.

However, there are 3 steels platform outside the hotel where the gaps are very wide, people may trip & fall when they walk to the Ferry Terminal or MegaMall. Small children may trap their foot in between the gap as well. We shown the hotel reception staff the wide gap , he noted our feedback & advise us to write-in as well.

I wrote in to feedback the above & suggested to consider adding more steel to tighten the gap. The hotel GM, Mr Stylianos Koureas responsed to my feedback within an hour that he has well noted and rest assured the management will take an immediate action. Quick Response & Assurance! GREAT!!

Room Tip: High floor with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Dear Ellen,
Cheers from Harris Hotel Batam Center. A new Hotspot right in the Center.
It was indeed a very great pleasure having You with Us. I really appreciate your pre-arrival email which is an excellent communication in order to make the stay of everyone much more comfortable and more Personalised following the Guest needs.
Thank you so much for such a great review. The gaps at the parking area will be taken care immediately as we are very much concerned for the safety of our Harris Fans.
Looking forward welcoming You back soon.
Harrisly Yours,
Stylianos Koureas
General Manager
gm@harris-batam-center.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

This is our first time here with my hubby and in laws.
Bought the deals sg voucher for a 2D 1N stay in 2 rooms.

Check in was fast and we went for our complimentary buffet lunch immediately, was nice with mains, salard and dessert, limited selection of food.

Hotel looks fresh and is only 5 mins walk from Megamall, with cinemas, hypermart, A&W, JCO and also the usual Polo shops.

Room Tip: Choose one with a high floor facing the sea, there are only 9 floors, we got one at first floor, vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Dear Harris Fans,
Cheers from Harris Hotel Batam Center. The new Hot spot right in the Center.
Thank you so much for staying with us and we really appreciate your superb review.
Indeed we are a simple, unique and friendly family trying our very best to make our Guests feel at home.
Looking forward welcoming You back again soon.
Harrisly Yours,
Stylianos Koureas
General Manager
gm@harris-batam-center.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed 2 nights at the Harris Hotel. The 1st night was part of a Groupon deal and we chose to extend another night. Firstly, you can't beat the location as it is only 5min from the Ferry Terminal (we came from Singapore). We were told that Harris Hotel was the newest hotel in Batam, and perhaps that's why the service was extremely good. The hotel had a modern feel, with a green/white/orange theme, and the room was very comfortable. We had a wonderful sea view from our window. Note that the massages, when ordered through the hotel, are conducted in your room. Also note that there is another Harris Hotel (called Waterfront) which is close to the beach but much older. Those not wanting to venture far for shopping can cross the road to Mega Mall. Unfortunately, we didn't get to use the pool (a bit small anyway) as it was closed for repair. The breakfast buffet was great though with much variety. Can't say we'll return to Batam soon as there isn't much else to see on the Island (nearest beach was an hour away?) but if we do, we'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Dear Harris Fans,
Cheers from Harris Hotel Batam Center. The new Hot spot right in the Center.
Thanks a million for staying with us and we are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay.
Indeed we are a brand new international hotel in Batam with a simple, unique and friendly concept.
So sorry about our infinity swimming pool which was closed for the day due to the lighting repair. Our brand new lazy chairs are now around the pool for a relaxing day.
Our H spa is going to be constructed very soon and it will be the first sea view spa in the town with single and double rooms, jacuzzis, saunas, relaxation areas. The estimated opening time will be in June 2012.
Once again thank you for your so positive review and looking forward welcoming You back again soon.
Harrisly Yours,
Stylianos Koureas
General Manager
gm@harris-batam-center.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel as part of a package deal we signed up from Plus! BigDeal. The interior looks chic, and can almost pass off as a boutique hotel. Our only peeve with the hotel is the long check-in process, albeit 4 staff behind the counter. I suppose we were frustrated with this because we had just returned from an exhausting day tour and were eager to settle into our hotel rooms asap. We also learnt that late check-in would mean your chances of getting the sea view room would be slim to none. Our room was facing the mall, but that is tolerable since it was just an overnight stay.

The other disappointment (though I will not entirely blame this on the hotel), was the fact that they gave us a room with twin beds without asking if we had wanted twin or king/queen beds. For a married couple, we felt this was a bit of letdown, but we also realized we should have stated this explicitly during the signup or the checkin.

The room is clean and spacious, though perhaps too spacious. There is a considerable amount of space where they can possibly furnish with a futon/chair. Just an observation.

Food at this hotel was average. Breakfast was a chaotic mess. The servers were somewhat helpful but service was slow, though it did pick up as the crowd thins out. Look out for a dance number by the staff during breakfast. Location-wise, this hotel would be ideal if you are staying at Batam briefly, because it is just beside the Sekupang ferry terminal.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Dear Harris Fans,
Cheers from Harris Hotel Batam Center. The New Hotspot of Batam right in the Center.
Thank you so much for your constructive review which is very much appreciated.
We have well noted your note about the front office counter service not meeting your expectations and we really apologize about it.
Any room requests are well honored on a first come first served basis, with the exception if we have received a note from our Guests prior their arrival, we will make our utmost to satisfy our guests requests. As far as the King size bed , our guests can request it anytime as our hotel has plenty king size bedrooms.
Thank you for your compliments about our property and rest assured that we are striving for guest total satisfaction.
Looking forward welcoming You back at the Harris Hotel Batam Center soon.
Harrisly Yours,
Stylianos Koureas
General Manager
gm@harris-batam-center.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I made a trip to Batam using the Groupon voucher purchased at S$79 per person (excluding taxes of S$27 in total) which includes a night say, high-tea buffet, breakfast and lunch buffet.

Location wise, it would not be ideal for shopping trips as it is not close to Nagoya or seafood areas which are the usual place people go. But for a relaxing getaway, it was totally perfect being close to the pier and Megamall.

The decor of the hotel is catchy in colours and the room is spacious, clean and has a sea view, so nothing to complain about there. Especially when the beds are comfortable too for a good night's sleep. Reached in the afternoon and went for the high-tea immediately after check-in. Variety was limited, and it would be a better option to purchase the 2nd round of Groupon voucher offered at around $60+ per person without the lunch and high-tea option.

Late evening was spent for a spa session in Megamall. Can't remember the exact name (Odeous Spa or something like that), but there is only one spa in the mall. A good deal was available for the month of February. They had a 1-for-1 promotion for a 2 hours package, we did a 1 hour massage, 30 mins foot reflexology and 30 mins body scrub, all for ~S$35 per person on average. Dinner @ Megamall was probably pricey for local terms but nevertheless cheap as compared to Singapore. We spent ~S$10 in total for 2 plates of fried rice, 2 drinks and a generous portion of kangkung.

Breakfast was surprisingly good for me in terms of variety, there was a long queue at the egg station though. Decided to spend the morning at the pool, and luckily the drizzle stopped. Enquired about the availability of pool towels before going back to the room to change, and the lady who answered our query had the towels prepared when we went down again, so pretty impressed by the service. Pool was small but still a good dip and is like an infinity pool, so you get to hang around the ledge looking far out into the sea ;)

Lunch after checking out was also decent but nothing to rave about, but we were anyway still quite full from the breakfast earlier.

Definitely a good weekend getaway with a budget of S$150 per person which includes stay, food and spa session! =)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear Harris Fans,
Cheers from Harris Hotel Batam Center, the new Hotspot right in the Center
Thank you so much for staying with us and we are delighted that you had enjoyed your stay.
Nagoya is just a 10 minutes taxi ride from the property and soon will be a regular shuttle to the
Nagoya Hills Mall.
It is glad to here that our Dreamazing bed offered you a good night sleep.
Looking forward welcoming You back again soon.
Harrisly Yours
Stylianos Koureas
General Manager
gm@harris-batam-center.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We had previously stayed in Harris Resort Waterfront and had been treated to excellent personalised service. This was our first time at Harris Hotel Batam Center and we were not disappointed. Excellent personalised service again! As it was my wife's birthday during our stay, she was given a surprise birthday cake sponsored by the hotel!

Our hotel room was spacious and we had a great seaview. The hotel breakfast and BBQ dinner was alright, although there could be more varieties. The hotel was located near to Mega Mall shopping centre and at night, food stalls were set up right in front of the hotel where we could taste the local cuisine at cheap prices. Recommended to try are the satay and maggi mee goreng. The spa at Harris Hotel Batam Centre cannot be compared with Harris Resort Waterfront as the spa was done within your hotel room versus a dedicated spa centre at the latter.

Overall, the hotel is slightly above expectations, and we would come back again for a short holiday. However, it would be a bit difficult for me to choose between Harris Batam Centre and Harris Resort Waterfront.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with windows facing the back of the hotel, as they would be facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Dear Harris Fans,
Cheers from the New Hot Spot right in the Center.
We are delighted that you are patronizing both of our Harris properties on the island of Batam.
Both of them they have their own very unique charm.
Glad to here you have received the same Personalised service as the Harris Resort Waterfront back in 2008.
Our H Spa will be constructed very soon and it will be the only sea view Spa on the Island of Batam, with couples and singles treatment rooms, jacuzzis, saunas, fitness center and other facilities. It will be completed before June 2012. We will keep informed all our Harris Fans about the exact opening date and launching specials.
We believe very soon Harris Hotel Batam Center will be the only Resort within the City of Batam.
Once again we are so glad that have chosen Harris Hotel Batam Center for such a special occasion and looking forward welcoming You back soon.
Harrisly Yours,
Stylianos Koureas
General Manager
gm@harris-batam-center.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harris Hotel Batam Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harris Hotel Batam Center

Address: Jl. Engku Putri, Riau Islands Province 29641, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harris Hotel Batam Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harris Hotel Batam Center the only waterfront hotel in the heart of the Central Business District is strategically located just a step away from the Batam Center International Ferry Terminal, opposite the Mega Mall shopping Center. Within walking Distance from Otorita Batam, Bank Indonesia, Sumatera Expo Building and Mesjid Raya. 10 minutes away from Kepri Mall and Padang Sukajadi Golf.Our property is the nearest hotel from Hang Nadim International Airport.171 sea view and city view spacious Harris rooms and suites, equipped with the Harris Dreamazing Bed, 32" LCD television with 40 international and local channels. Safe deposit box, complimentary coffee and tea facilities.Harris slippers, Harris aromatherapy, Harris leather couch , hair dryer and an array of cosmetic amenities.Free high speed wifi available in the Harris cars and the entire premises.Our infinity pool is overlooking the ocean. The H fitness is equipped with the latest cardio equipment and Gym instructor. Sooth your tired muscles at our In-room H spa featuring the most desired facial and body treatments.Taste our Indonesian delights at the H cafe and our Harris healthy juices at our juice Bar. In room dining is available around the clock.Harris Batam Center is the perfect place to stay and accommodate your meeting needs at our Unique Ballroom with a capacity of 1000 persons and the highest ceiling in town. Our Smiley meeting rooms are equipped with the latest high tec equipment.Come and try our new Lifestyle right in the Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Harris Hotel Batam Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harris Hotel Batam Batam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harris Hotel Batam Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.