We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and average of service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harris Hotel Batam Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Harris Hotel Batam Center to your Saves list
Harris Hotel Batam Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Engku Putri, Riau Islands Province 29641, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
FREE BREAKFAST FOR 2 PAX
Ranked #2 of 72 Hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good and average of service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

This is the second time i went to batam from Singapore to holiday. First time I stay at Harris Hotel and Resort and the remarks are excellent. Because that reputation i tried to stayed at Harris hotel again but on batam centre and the remarks are average,
First : The greetings from the staff are terrific but i dont know is my English very bad or they dont undestand English very well. When i arrived to hotel, the staff are just laughing each other and dont gave any attention to me??? Its very different than Marina hotel instead...
Second: Because i liked to eat rice, so when i took a breakfast i just found a small hair on my plate. I hate when i have to eat with hair on my plate, dont you all?
But just for overall the rooms, swimming pool and security are terrific. Just the manner of the front office manner are bad, and your restaurant cleans are bad too.
Hope next time when I come back this problems dont appears

Room Tip: Sea view much better for me, should ask it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Dear Harris Fans,
Cheers from Harris Hotel Batam Center. A new lifestyle is born right in the center.
Thank you so much for being a Harris Fan and experienced both properties on the Island.
We do apologize for the level of English of the Harris Players who are continuously following the internal English class. We are going to emphasize more on the conversation during the classes.
We well noted the unacceptable behavior of our Front office which we will take the appropriate action Immediately.
The hygiene and cleanliness is a major issue for us and we are so sorry for the hair found into your plate during breakfast. We are going to educate our stewarding to be extra careful on the cleanliness issues.
As you have mentioned everything else were terrific. We would like to guarantee to You, the problems you have experienced will not occurred again.
Looking forward welcoming You back personally soon to experience the Harris hospitality at its best.
Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any further assistance you may need.
Harrisly yours,
Stylianos Koureas
General Manager
gm@harris-batam-center.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    276
    59
    7
    8
See reviews for
122
142
24
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We are regular at Harris Batam Waterfront and it was our first time in the new Harris Batam Centre. Itis just beside Ferry Terminal so you do not even need shuttle. Directly opposite Hypermart so food and shopping is convenient. Need to take taxi to Nagoya Hill. No meter taxi in Batam centre. Need to bargain. Hotel staff will help you liaise and get cab. Hotel is new, clean and room is spacious too. There is a pool and nice gym. Water was very cold when we were there thus cant enjoy a swim. No bathtub in room if your child is looking for one. Nothing much to do in batam so a night or two will be enough. Must book early during festive or public holiday period

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Dear Harris Fans,
Cheers from Harris Hotel Batam Center.
Thank you so much for being a Harris Fan for both of our properties in Batam.
We are delighted that you had enjoyed your stay with us at our new property in Batam Center.
Indeed as per your title is a must stay hotel at the area.
Our simple,unique and friendly concept really makes the difference.
Looking forward welcoming You back at to experience the lifestyle right in the Center.
Harrisly Yours,
Stylianos Koureas
General Manager
gm@harris-batam-center.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012 via mobile

We were greeted warmly by the general manager and staffs once we reached the hotel. It is near to shopping center and few minuties walk to the ferry terminal. We decide to go there for a short break to rest but however there was alot of construction noise going on. We were given a room on the 9 floor. On 26th evening around 5pm plus we heard some construction and were awake from the nap and decided to leave the hotel since we couldnt even get to sleeep. To annoy us further, early in the morning at 9am the next day, we were awake again by the construction and this time it is totally unbearable and it goes for 10mins and we decided to call the reception and they say will get down to stop. After 10mins , it stops for awhile and 5mins later , the construction continue and non-stop all the way to 12pm when we check out. We could not even sleep well at all and we went out and see yes the construction was at level 9. It was horrible to be awake from sleep so many times when it suppose to be a good holiday getaway for us. Everything was ruined and we were really dissapointted as we felt that the money we spend is wasted not even able to satisfy the basic of peace in the hotel. The noisy was really unbearable in the morning and despite the call, the constructions still continues. We feel more like being torture than a holiday for all the insufficient rest. Foods wasnt good for the buffet hence we skipped our breakfast and noon and leave asap. But i would say all ur staffs are really friendly but the noisy is really causing a huge disturbance to people who really want to rest. The huge dissapointment make us feel that the stay was the most bad experience holiday we ever had. The money we spend were wasted.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, January 28, 2012
Dear Harris Fans,
Cheers from Harris Hotel Batam Center. A new Lifestyle is born right in the Center.
First of All thank you for staying with Us and found our service excellent.
We deeply apologize concerning the construction noise on the 9th floor during your very recent stay.
It was an unpredictable and urgent repair which should be finalized immediately. All the construction work are done and we really respect the comfort of our Harris Fans by providing a quiet environment for their utmost relaxation.
Unfortunately we had failed to do so during your stay with us which make your stay not enjoyable, kindly do not hesitate to contact me personally in order to settle the above issue.
Once again accept my sincere apologies that you have not experienced our real Harris Hospitality.
Looking forward welcoming You back soon for a more enjoyable stay.
Harrisly Yours
Stylianos Koureas
General Manager-Harris Hotel Batam Center
gm@harris-batam-center.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

(1) Next to ferry terminal (Batam Centre) & Mega Mall
(2) Friendly Staff
(3) Small Lobby
(4) My room facing sea view @ 9th floor
(5) Room is not really big but consider clean
(6) Bathroom is small
(7) My room exclude breakfast which i felt the rate of USD88 is quite high for room only

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, January 28, 2012
Dear Harris Fans,
Cheers from the Harris Hotel Batam Center. A new Lifestyle is born right in the Center.
Thank you so much for your review and we are pleased that you have rated our property above average.
Concerning the price, we continuously have various promotions within our own website and also our on line travel agents. You can also contact us directly for any future reservation.
Once again thank you so much for staying with us and looking forward having You back soon.
Harrisly Yours
Stylianos Koureas
General Manager
gm@harris-batam-center.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

I am a tour agent from Singapore and I was tour leading a group of 70 tourist to Batam. My experience with Harris hotel is unforgettable! When we arrived, the staff served us with a welcome drink. The room card was given out and everyone went to their rooms.

My room (#915) was on the top floor, sadly facing Mega Mall, which is not the sea-view side... But the room was very clean and new. The bed was a king size which was very comfortable! The LCD TV was big, air-con worked well. The toilet was very clean too. Service was really warm and I love the service of Harris brands. Staff responded well with our group needs. Rooms were big and spacious and very clean. Wi-fi available everywhere in the hotel. Bed, linen and towels were new. Hotel provided basic toiletries like soap and toothbrush only. Swimming pool is big. Meeting room/Ballroom has high ceiling and excellent banquet staff managing it.

But the only flaw with this hotel, is that the food is not good at all. Other than that, I would return to stay at Harris Hotel again. Love the Harris brand and service. Location also very good, 5 mins walk to Mega Mall and the hotel is located just beside Batam Centre ferry terminal! Luckily I chose for my group to stay at this hotel. No regrets!

Room Tip: Request for high-floor and sea-facing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Dear Harris Fans,
Cheers from the Harris Hotel Batam Center. A new Lifestyle is born right in the Center.
Thank you so much for bringing us such an important group to our property. We are so delighted that you have been impressed and satisfied with our new property in Batam. All Harris Players are striving to deliver their very best and unique service to All our Harris Fans.
We have well taken note of the food quality. At the moment we are at the point of hiring a Chinese Sous Chef in order to provide the very best quality of Chinese food.
Once again we are so happy that you and your group had an enjoyable stay and looking forward welcoming You back to Batam and our property soon.
Harrisly Yours
Stylianos Koureas
General Manager-Harris Hotel Batam Center
gm@harris-batam-center.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012 via mobile

Good location, next to ferry terminal and mega mall, rooms are big. That's where the good part ends and the bad begins. Service was poor with my group of friends and I waiting more than 20mins for check in as our rooms were not ready even though it was well pass 2pm. Staff were none too friendly. Room bathroom stank a little and the grout in the shower cubicle was scary....was given a room with two single beds even though I asked for a king/queen bed room...the stuff they used to freshen the air in the room was too strong and cloying...
Will not stay there again, over priced and over rated buff.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Dear Harris Fans,
Cheers from Harris Hotel Batam Center.A new Lifestyle is born right in Center.
Thank you so much for your genuine review.
We are so sorry to hear that you got your room 20 minutes after 2pm Batam time. Our property was so busy due to the holidays and our Harris Players tried their very best to clean the rooms on time but unfortuantely it took a lit bit longer. We do apologize for the delay.
We really suprised that the Harris Players are not friendly as you have described. Our Harris players are following the simple, unique and friendly concept. We have taken note of your comments and we will follow up accordingly.
For the Double and single beds, we are trying our very best to accommodate our Harris Fans requests but all depends to the availability of the rooms.
We have also noted your comments for our Harris Scent and the bathroom construction.
Once again we are so thankful about your very constructive comments and please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you need any further assistance or clarification.
Harrisly Yours
Stylianos Koureas
General Manager- Harris Hotel Batam Center
gm@harris-batam-center.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

This recently launched new hotel is conveniently located next to Batam Center Ferry Terminal, and is just less than 5 minutes away from the Megamall.

Check-in process seems fully synchronised and we got our rooms very quickly. It is obvious to see the staff here are well-trained and really enjoy what they are doing. They exude energy and enthusiasm and make the place so much more lively and fun. At certain times, the staff got together to put up a dance for all to see. This is, to me, a wonderful way to entertain guests and improve staff morale at the same time. It is truly amazing to see the staff having fun while carrying out their duties.

The rooms have a unique sense of Harris. They are spacious and clean, though the bathroom seems a little squeezed.

The wonderful service I experienced here, along with the beautiful rooms and convenient location, makes me look eagerly forward to my next return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager H, General Manager at Harris Hotel Batam Center, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Harris Fans,
Cheers from Harris Hotel Batam Center. A new Lifestyle is born right in the Center.
We would like to thank You so much for your genuine review, which is much appreciated.
Indeed we try our very best to live up our simple, unique and friendly concept.
Thank you for the wonderful pics.
Looking forward welcoming You back at our Harris Hotel Batam Center soon.
Harrisly Yours
Stylianos Koureas
General Manager
gm@harris-batam-center.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harris Hotel Batam Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harris Hotel Batam Center

Address: Jl. Engku Putri, Riau Islands Province 29641, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harris Hotel Batam Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harris Hotel Batam Center the only waterfront hotel in the heart of the Central Business District is strategically located just a step away from the Batam Center International Ferry Terminal, opposite the Mega Mall shopping Center. Within walking Distance from Otorita Batam, Bank Indonesia, Sumatera Expo Building and Mesjid Raya. 10 minutes away from Kepri Mall and Padang Sukajadi Golf.Our property is the nearest hotel from Hang Nadim International Airport.171 sea view and city view spacious Harris rooms and suites, equipped with the Harris Dreamazing Bed, 32" LCD television with 40 international and local channels. Safe deposit box, complimentary coffee and tea facilities.Harris slippers, Harris aromatherapy, Harris leather couch , hair dryer and an array of cosmetic amenities.Free high speed wifi available in the Harris cars and the entire premises.Our infinity pool is overlooking the ocean. The H fitness is equipped with the latest cardio equipment and Gym instructor. Sooth your tired muscles at our In-room H spa featuring the most desired facial and body treatments.Taste our Indonesian delights at the H cafe and our Harris healthy juices at our juice Bar. In room dining is available around the clock.Harris Batam Center is the perfect place to stay and accommodate your meeting needs at our Unique Ballroom with a capacity of 1000 persons and the highest ceiling in town. Our Smiley meeting rooms are equipped with the latest high tec equipment.Come and try our new Lifestyle right in the Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harris Hotel Batam Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harris Hotel Batam Batam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harris Hotel Batam Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.