We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This review is for the hotel spa: Great, great massage!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 89 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added 89 Hotel to your Saves list
89 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Pembangunan Baloi Blok VI | Penuin, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 76 Hotels in Batam
Pasig City
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“This review is for the hotel spa: Great, great massage!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Disclaimer: We didn't really stay at this hotel but we tried their spa and that's what I want to review.

If you want a really great massage, go to this hotel and try their spa on the 3rd floor. They offer one of the best combinations of full body massage using hands, elbows and feet.

Things you will have to live with: the temperature and the noise of the therapists. The air conditioner's thermostat could be set a few degrees lower. The therapists talk with each other in loud voices for a while.

Things to look forward to: the rub, the stretching and the steamed towels plus the best ginger tea after the massage.

You won't mind giving a generous tip after.

Room Tip: Highly recommended after a tiring trip to the shopping centers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    28
    20
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
11
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Just returned from a 3D2N short getaway in Batam and stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. Hotel is within walking distance to BCS mall, Top 100 and about 5-10 minutes drive from Harbour Bay Ferry Terminal. Hotel provides special taxi rates from hotel to Nagoya Hill Shopping mall (Rp 25,000) and BCS mall (Rp 15,000), which are rather attractive as opposed to the regular rates and naturally a good gesture from the hotel management. However, please have the Concierge to confirm the rates with the driver on the spot, together with your good self before hopping onto the taxi, and also, do make sure that you have small change in denominations of thousands, or ten thousands if possible. There were a couple of unpleasant incidents whereby the agreed rates were not honored by the taxi drivers. In the 1st incident, we took the arranged transport from the hotel to BCS mall. The agreed rate by the hotel concierge was Rp15,000, however, the driver took the Rp100,000 note from us and only provided the change of Rp70,000 after prompting. My partner and I disputed the rate and said that hotel concierge had agreed on Rp15,000. He then called back to the hotel who told us over the phone that the rate had been changed to Rp40,000. We were obviously unhappy, however, feeling disadvantaged as we do not speak Bahasa, and not wanting to spoil our holiday mood, we got out of the taxi. In the 2nd incident, we got the hotel concierge to arrange for transport to Nagoya Hill Shopping Mall. The agreed rate was Rp25,000, however, the driver asked for surcharge of Rp5,000, claiming that he needs to pay the entrance fee, which didn't turn out to be true as these drivers do not need to pay to drop-off passengers. The last incident happened on our return trip where the concierge had agreed on the rate of Rp50,000 from hotel to Harbour Bay Ferry Terminal. The driver (Car plate BP 1657 ZH - white) dropped us at the terminal. This time round, we provided the exact fare, however, was stopped from leaving the car and he insisted for us to pay more. Finally, we gave him Rp5,000 more which was the last of the small change on us. All these incidents have added to the unpleasantries of the trip, which had otherwise been a generally good one. The rooms are rather tired-looking, with the air-con unit badly in need of maintenance, however, the overall stay was helped by reasonable and decent breakfast spread.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugianto K, General Manager at 89 Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. While we are pleased to read that you notice it is a good gesture from the hotel management to provide attractive transportation fee to several places; I am however highly concerned there are areas where we think you have misunderstood regarding the taxi drivers and amount of fees you paid. As what we had explained to you over the phone and we truly hope it had cleared away the negative image ever occured in your mind. My sincere apologies for bad experience happened to you and your friend, this is certainly not the impression we wish to give our guests. I have shared your notes with the hotel’s management team so we could prevent this type of misunderstanding happens again. We thank you for the valuable information as it no doubt will help us improve our service to our guest. We look forward to welcome you back in the future.


Yours truly,
Sugianto Kho
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed for a night w 6 frds. Walking distance to A2 foodcourt and factory ourt. Nice bkfast.
The room looks old. My frd and i had a little allergy to the shower gel. My room superior was facing traffic so a little noisy. Would recommed to pay slighty $11 for a deluxe or more for suite. Overall ok

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugianto K, General Manager at 89 Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Our goal is to provide each of our guests with a well-appointed and comfortable room. The issues you have mentioned should definitely have been picked up by us before you were shown to your room but my sincere apologies for these. In fact, we have been renovating our rooms so that we could have the chance to serve you once again. I would be delighted to speak with you further regarding your stay and hope we may take any action necessary to fix this problem. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you wish to discuss this further.


Yours truly,
Sugianto Kho
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiruchirappalli, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

The hotel is located close to a big maal and shopping area.Food is quiet good and rooms are neat.You need to speak to the room service person in broken english to make them understand.Located very close to the ferry terminal

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugianto K, General Manager at 89 Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and great to hear you had a wonderful time! I must agree with you our central location is unbeatable for exploring the city centre and shopping malls nearby the hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the good foods our restaurant are offering. I'll be sure to share your comment with the team! Look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Best wishes to you and your family.


Yours truly,
Sugianto Kho
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel several times; for room's pictures, please refer to my earlier reviews. During this current stay, the room reeked of smell and the floor mat and face towels seemed to have patches on them. Not very pleasant.

Room Tip: If your room faces the main road, expect noisy traffic. Otherwise, it'll face a canal which is f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugianto K, General Manager at 89 Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Our goal is to provide each of our guests with a well-appointed and comfortable room along with good facilities. Many of our guests had great reviews on our hotel rooms and the variety of our foods but clearly that was not your experience and for that, we are truly sorry. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. As for your information, we have been doing renovation so that we could have a chance to serve you again in the near future. Your feedback is a valuable tool that we use to improve the product we provide and rest assure your comments will be shared with the related teams so they may utilize it to improve their products. Please accept our apologies and do reach out to me should you wish to discuss this further.


Yours truly,
Sugianto Kho
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed here for a week
Close to Malls and facilities
Has Spa and Gym

Nice big room, clean and comfortable

The best thing is the Restraunt food .... great choice and available 24hours
Most dishes I tried were excellent and breakfast buffet is included

A good place to stay

Room Tip: Choose room away from front to reduce road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

It was a ok2 hotel for me. Family of 14 booked 7 rooms but end up not not having the same rooms for all. Firstly, I was fine with the hotel,but the standard room was really a no no. Bathroom was not up to standard, florring had cracking here and there. Second, Wifi connection was nt that strong,had to call the technician to look at it. Same goes for the tv. Really need the hotel to upgrade the tv to LCDs. One of the room was bigger but the bathroom door was so visible from outside. had to use towel to cover. Had came across these looked through glasses for the toilets in most hotels in batam. Really don't understand why. hee. Was an average stay for me and family.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugianto K, General Manager at 89 Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on your recent stay with us. I’m sorry you were disappointed with your experience, and will share this feedback with our management team. In the mean time, we would like to inform you that we have been doing renovation and has changed a lot. We wish to be looking after you once again and could impress you. If you would like to discuss anything with us in more detail, please email us at wecareu89@gmail.com. We do appreciate your valuable information as it no doubt will help us improve our service to our guest.


Yours truly,
Sugianto Kho
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 89 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 89 Hotel

Address: Jl. Pembangunan Baloi Blok VI | Penuin, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 76 Hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 89 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, 89 Hotel is a right choice for you who are tied up with your business in Batam. Strategically situated, surrounded by offices, shops, shopping malls, food courts and lots more, you will be able to enjoy the uniqueness of Batam in the midst of your busy hours. Nevertheless, if you want to just stay in the hotel, you can indulge yourself with all the facilities provided including broadband internet access, cable television or work out at the well-equipped gymnasium, relax in our Jacuzzi and rejuvenate in the steam room for a complete indulgence. When there is work to be done, the cozy meeting rooms offer an ideal setting for business presentations or seminars, and everything needed for that deal-breaking meeting. At 89 Hotel, you will feel instantly content knowing you have got all the comforts of home with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 89 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 89 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.