We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A simple Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 89 Hotel

Save Saved
You added 89 Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
89 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Pembangunan Baloi Blok VI | Penuin, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special Hassle Free Offer
Ranked #22 of 69 hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A simple Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stay there for 2D1N so didn't really have time to explore it. Only know nearby there a market n shopping center is within walking distance. The hotel provide breakfast n choices still OK. There a KTV at the hotel which located inside the restaurant, the chargers reasonable it about SGD$150 (for the biggest room) for 4hrs including drinks.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugianto K, General Manager at 89 Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Cheers from 89 Hotel, Batam !

We are delighted that you had enjoyed your stay with us and thank you so much for your great comments about our hotel. Unarguably, our hotel is indeed value for money and its prime location in the central of business district has make it very famous in Batam. We often receive good comments regarding impressive service of our staffs too.

We are gradually renovating our entire hotel and guest rooms currently in order to serve you better. We certainly believe that you will find a massive change and improvement. Hopefully, we could impress you further during your next visit with us.

Looking forward welcoming you back the soonest.


Kind Regards,



SUGIANTO K.
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    20
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
10
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel is located in Penuin area of Batam. Basic 3-star hotel without swimming pool. But they have a fitness center, a Gym, massage parlour, saloon, restaurant,etc etc.
It is just a 10-mins walk to BCS mall and Top 100 mall. 5-mins walk to Penuin wet market.

This hotel seems quite popular over the weekend as many tourists from Singapore arrive. I stayed there for 2 nights in their standard room. Basic room with 2 bottles of mineral water with tea and coffee making. They have also a full minibar in the room well stocked. However, I find the hotel bathroom somewhat dimly lit, so it was a bit dark or shadowy in the shower stall. The smell of cigarrette is quite strong at the corridor and even in the rooms. The hotel has a mosque nearby. It is also facing the main road. Might get quite noisy unless get rooms at the back of the hotel.

The hotel staff are pleasant and they do speak English. Front office are friendly and helpful. Even their housekeeping is very fast when i requested for something from them. Breakfast menu changes the 2 days i was there. Not bad. They even have interesting canape dessert for breakfast. But be warn, they serve more local food than international. So if you are a fan of Indonesian food, you should enjoy this. Else just walk to the market nearby in the morning and you will spoilt for choices. Fresh fruits and vegetables are abundance.

Overall, good location and a not too bad hotel. Definately will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Booked through Agoda and had a easy check in/out. Booked the Deluxe room for 2 people and stayed for 2 nights.

Plus points:
- Great service, from the doormen to the concierge to the restaurant staff. Smiles everywhere and they are always willing to help. Felt very welcomed and comfortable.
- The deluxe room was big with a big bed, sitting area, dresser and big toilet.
- Air-conditioning, cleanliness, ambience and comfort level were great.
- Love the toilet with the bathtub.
- Breakfast buffet had good variety, taste was alright. Value for the price paid.
- A short walk to BCS mall, cabbing is cheap too. Take the cabs from the hotel. Same pricing as from the street but you get comfortable and clean cars.
- Room service food are priced like SG local kopitiam prices but you get it delivered to your room with a smile!
- Good view of the city

Minus points:
- Some issues with the water heater where the heat was intermittent. Spent some good minutes in the cold while waiting for the heat to come on again.
- Skip the pub. Didn't try the gym, hair salon/massage parlour or pool; they didn't seem inviting.

Overall an enjoyable stay and I will definitely come back again!

Enjoy~

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed in Junior Suite during the cny hols. Check in went smoothly. Service was superb. Staff very helpful and friendly. Room condition ok-ok. There's bathtub. Breakfast was awesome! Went down at 0930am, half & hr before the breafast time ends but staff top up all foods graciously. Thumbs up! Breafast was really good. Ordered homemade Kek Lapis from one of the hotel staff, and it was really delicious! The original Kek Lapis was really very good. Price wise, affordable. Location to go around batam from this hotel is convenient. Near BCS mall, 20mins to Nagoya Hill though. Me & hubby will return for the Kek Lapis again & will definately hv our stay at 89 Hotel definately! :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in their Superior room. Room was clean, neat, free of cigarettes smell (since i requested for a smoke-free room). Spread at the breakfast buffet were different on the 2 days we were there. From the hotel, we walked to Top100 and BCS mall which were at most 10 minutes away. The only con is that they allow smoking virtually anywhere in the hotel, from lobby, corridors to place we had our breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I selected a Deluxe room and it was mostly comfortable if minimalistic....but, then again, it is only a 3 star hotel. The bathroom was only deserving of a 1 star hotel though with only cold running water to the vanity unit and then via a 15-second on only public toilet kind of push-tap. uggghhh REALLY?!! Bring your own soap and toiletries as those supplied are not really adequate.

Reservation, concierge, restaurant and bar staff are all friendly and professional and willing to serve; better than could be expected of a 3 star hotel.

Location is good though being only a 10 min drive to Nagoya Hill shopping mall & about 30 mins from the airport.

A general point to note about Batam is that there are no / no legitimate taxis; they're all "taksi liar" which means that you need to know about how much it's going to cost to get to a place or be a very good negotiator to ensure you don't get ripped off. Rp70k to / from airport via the hotel 'transport' service; Rp30k to Nagoya Hill & Rp50k to Batam Centre mall / My Mart.

Room Tip: Unless you're a calisthenics / gym-junkie then ask for a room well away from the 3rd floor gym w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Stay here for a night. The room is clean but slightly smelly...Good location for shopping and short stay,
The staff are quite helpful...
As my personal pointo of view , the few things that I was not pleased .
Dont like the windows... my aircon seems to be unswing able ... none dim-able lighthing... overall is fine.
The design was great, and the breakfast is fantastic for me.
Just dont get it... Why do people smoke every where in Indonesia? At least provide a smoking or none smoking zone... Its not fair for none smoker like me.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 89 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 89 Hotel

Address: Jl. Pembangunan Baloi Blok VI | Penuin, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 69 hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 89 Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, 89 Hotel is a right choice for you who are tied up with your business in Batam. Strategically situated, surrounded by offices, shops, shopping malls, food courts and lots more, you will be able to enjoy the uniqueness of Batam in the midst of your busy hours. Nevertheless, if you want to just stay in the hotel, you can indulge yourself with all the facilities provided including broadband internet access, cable television or work out at the well-equipped gymnasium, relax in our Jacuzzi and rejuvenate in the steam room for a complete indulgence. When there is work to be done, the cozy meeting rooms offer an ideal setting for business presentations or seminars, and everything needed for that deal-breaking meeting. At 89 Hotel, you will feel instantly content knowing you have got all the comforts of home with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your 89 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 89 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.