We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable 3-star hotel in a reasonable location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 89 Hotel

Save Saved
You added 89 Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
89 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Pembangunan Baloi Blok VI | Penuin, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 68 hotels in Batam
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A comfortable 3-star hotel in a reasonable location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I selected a Deluxe room and it was mostly comfortable if minimalistic....but, then again, it is only a 3 star hotel. The bathroom was only deserving of a 1 star hotel though with only cold running water to the vanity unit and then via a 15-second on only public toilet kind of push-tap. uggghhh REALLY?!! Bring your own soap and toiletries as those supplied are not really adequate.

Reservation, concierge, restaurant and bar staff are all friendly and professional and willing to serve; better than could be expected of a 3 star hotel.

Location is good though being only a 10 min drive to Nagoya Hill shopping mall & about 30 mins from the airport.

A general point to note about Batam is that there are no / no legitimate taxis; they're all "taksi liar" which means that you need to know about how much it's going to cost to get to a place or be a very good negotiator to ensure you don't get ripped off. Rp70k to / from airport via the hotel 'transport' service; Rp30k to Nagoya Hill & Rp50k to Batam Centre mall / My Mart.

Room Tip: Unless you're a calisthenics / gym-junkie then ask for a room well away from the 3rd floor gym w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    19
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
10
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Stay here for a night. The room is clean but slightly smelly...Good location for shopping and short stay,
The staff are quite helpful...
As my personal pointo of view , the few things that I was not pleased .
Dont like the windows... my aircon seems to be unswing able ... none dim-able lighthing... overall is fine.
The design was great, and the breakfast is fantastic for me.
Just dont get it... Why do people smoke every where in Indonesia? At least provide a smoking or none smoking zone... Its not fair for none smoker like me.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Room is spacious & bright, looks cool and I like it, also not very good in soundproof because I can hear my next door clearly. Toilet looks clean but bedsheet and towel are not clean, there are stains. I've got some stuffs of them to post here. Staff are lack of friendliness as they will greet you with their familiar frowning face whenever they see you

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The good parts such as location and pretty good breakfast spread remain. It is interesting to note that they have canapes and a dessert corner, which is thoughful of the team. It's mainly local fare, so Asians and non-Asians looking for something apart from Western fare will be fine with it.

A word of caution though is to not travel during certain public holidays central to the community as their massage parlours (surrounding the hotel) all close. The hotel's one was also not open (although they advertised it was open till 10.30pm and we were there at 6pm) and the next day, it was fully booked so it was a disappointment.

And I reallly wish they would set up a non-smoking policy in the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Room with corporate rate from my business associate is impressive with free wifi in room and lobby, great tv channel, and restaurant for my meeting with clients. I try gym in the morning, many local aunties are there. Try facial treatment in salon and so sorry don't try massage after read other's review. I will be back, cu with lcd tv.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I stayed in the Standard Romm from 22 July to 24 July (2 nights).

Hotel receptionists fairly fluent in English. One of them can also speak Hokkien, which I find pretty impressive.

Breakfast spread is good - about 20 kinds of varieties. I like the 'lopez' which is made with black glutinous rice. The butter corn kernels are fantastic too. People who like porridge will be pleased to find 2 different types of porridge accompanied with various choices of condiments (my faves are the salted egg and pickled vegetables). As I stayed for 2 nights, the food served on the 2 mornings were different. Very happy with the food selection.

Hotel is a short walk to Top 100 to BCS. Good for shoppers.

Hotel massage is pretty cheap too: 110 000 (about SGD15) for 2 hour full body massage. Aromatherapy massage 2 hour is 130 000 (about SGD17). Very worth it.

My 2 grouses:
- My room faces Ozon Hotel and I can hear motorbicycles almost throughout the night. Not for light-sleepers.
- The comb broke after I first used. Maybe it's because my hair is thick and longer than shoulder length.

Hotel Room Types and Rates (Privilege Card Room Rates/ Normal Rates):
1. Standard (369 000/ 475 000)
2. Superior (399 000/ 515 000)
3. Deluxe (439 000/ 575 000)
4. VIP Silver (499 000/ 655 000)
5. Junior Suite (499 000/ 655 000)
6. VIP Gold (659 000/ 875 000)
7. Executive Suite (875 000/ 1 100 000)

Room Tip: Request for a room away from the roads. It'll offer you much better sleep quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 89 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 89 Hotel

Address: Jl. Pembangunan Baloi Blok VI | Penuin, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 68 hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 89 Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, 89 Hotel is a right choice for you who are tied up with your business in Batam. Strategically situated, surrounded by offices, shops, shopping malls, food courts and lots more, you will be able to enjoy the uniqueness of Batam in the midst of your busy hours. Nevertheless, if you want to just stay in the hotel, you can indulge yourself with all the facilities provided including broadband internet access, cable television or work out at the well-equipped gymnasium, relax in our Jacuzzi and rejuvenate in the steam room for a complete indulgence.When there’s work to be done, the cozy meeting rooms offer an ideal setting for business presentations or seminars, and everything needed for that deal-breaking meeting.At 89 Hotel, you’ll feel instantly content knowing you’ve got all the comforts of home with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your 89 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 89 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.