We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staff never fail to impress” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss-Belinn Batam

Save Saved
You added Swiss-Belinn Batam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swiss-Belinn Batam
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Prambanan No.1 Jodoh, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
21 Days Advance Purchase
Ranked #14 of 71 Hotels in Batam
singapore
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“staff never fail to impress”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

i have noticed that there some members have reviewed the property as swiss bell-inn while other sites call it swissl-belhotel.just to clear any confusion arising therefrom i wish to point out that both refer to the same property which is now called the swiss-bellinn.
perhaps it is due to the fact that i am a repeat customer, the staff never fail to impress - from the doorman who rushed out to help us the baggage,the reception staff who checked us in efficiently and with a smille ,the retaurant staff who work tirelessly, yet maintaining their full composure and politelness to the management.
now to the property itself.the property is located near the nagoya hill shopping complex (five minutes drive)with its myriads of entertainment facilities,eateries and varied shopping outlets,inclding the supermarket =Hypermart. the only set back is the accessibility on foot as the property is located up ahill - about two to three hundred meters which makes walking to the property uncomfortable during the day due to the heat and humidity and a bit unsafe at night as the path to the property is uneven and not totally well lit.if the guest traffic warrantsit a possible solution is to provide compimentary shuttle to the nagoya centre say at two hourly intervals from ten in the morning to about eitht p.m.

the rooms are compact,no doubt, but well maintained with clean linen,a mini bar, and suitable amenties,includng hot beverage making facilities.
the restaurant is very clean.the inclusinve breakfast is excellent for the standard of the hotel and the restaurant range of menu items satisfactory .the breakfast range is excellen tcomprises the juice bar,cereals,salads,several hot dishes of fish, chicken and vegetables,porridge, toast facilities , small range of pastries and local fruits. tea and coffee are free flowing.
there are some negetative reviews of this property. guests must have their reasons for such reviews but in all fairness to the staff, there are some limitations beyond their control- the uphill location e.g.hope the management will consider the solution i have suggested.
if the additional facility of complimentary shuttle is implemented by the management guests will have little to complain about.this property could be a hotel of choice for visitors to batam.
in conclusions congratulations to the staff for their dedication and good service.

Room Tip: all the rooms are quite but if you are a light sleeper request a room far aways from the karaoke are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny J, General Manager at Swiss-Belinn Batam, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Batam, 27 Sept 2012

Dear Mr. Rajamanu,

Warm regards from Swiss-Belinn, Batam!

Thank you for staying and choosing Swiss-Belinn, as your preferred hotel every time you visit Batam . Yes we did change our name from Swiss-Belhotel to Swiss-Belinn, Batam since beginning of this year.

We do appreciate your comments on tripadvisor and have been forwarded to our staff and team . Indeed it is a good hotel, with good team member who always giving genuine hospitality to our guest like you, centrally located in downtown and we often receive good comment regarding the service of our staff.

We will study regarding your comment of providing shuttle service for our guest to certain destinations.

Once again we do appreciate receiving your feedback as it is enables us to focus our continue improvement efforts. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Swiss-Belinn, Batam. Thank you.


With kind regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    34
    26
    4
    8
See reviews for
21
14
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

I recently just came back from a short getaway in Batam with my girlfriend. It was a nice experience staying in the Swiss Belinn, they had very nice staff which wouldn't fail to give you a smile whenever they see you no matter in the corridor, the lift or anywhere else. I would also like to commend the reservation officer, Mr Desben, for helping me settle some admin issues just one day before departing for batam due to some problem with my passport number. Dinner in the hotel felt about eerie as the whole restaurant had only me and my girlfriend there, so we decided to do request our food to be brought up, but it was surprising that they had asked us to do it ourself, it wasn't like they had a full house in the hotel, I thought they would have done it and bring it up to my room. The hotel isn't located far from Nagoya Hill the shopping mall and also a small food street which is accessible by foot. But it is still advisable to take a cab if it's at night. Overall, it was a nice experience staying in this hotel, I would definitely come back again!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Despite staffs kindness, there is difficulties to get a good service. The quality of the food is awful, the place is dusty, the rooms are small, we cannot watch TV in the gym, the swimming pool is dirty. It makes this place quite unpleasant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

booked 3 room, went around 12pm but was declined as the reception say there no room available at the moment. can't even spare a room for me and my guys to rest and take a shower. which I find it abit bad as it very obvious that whether is the hotel is full house or not. the food is still alright, not that fabulous. but the staff is very polite which is one things I like :) but can see that the hotel is seriously lack of manpower. breakfast only one waiter!? hut would consider to stay there again as I find it very quiet and a placate to relax

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny J, General Manager at Swiss-Belinn Batam, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Batam, 12 September 2012


Dear Guest,

Warm regards from Swiss-belinn, Batam!

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments on tridvisor.com following your recent stay at Swiss-belinn, Batam.

We do appreciate your comments and have been forwarded to our staff and team. We often receive good comment regarding the service of our staff. And we have reviewed our staff organization in the restauratn to ensure that our staff is sufficient to deliver good service to our guest.

Once again we do appreciate receiving your feedback as it is enables us to focus our continue improvement efforts. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Swiss-belinn, Batam. Thank you.


With kind regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

VERY friendly staff and courteous. The rooms are very clean, beds are comfy. The breakfast buffet is excellent. If you are worried about being charged $6 for a taxi. Do not ever go to Indonesia nevermind Batam, Cheapest taxis in the world, try and get metered taxis only, then even cheaper. Food is good always here and staff and hotel is just what you expect from a hotel you would pay alot more for. Pool area is awesome, with a steam room just near it not shown in pics that is amazing. Also has a bar generally unstaffed but has a phone to get anything bought down to you at the pool, food, drink etc. Love this place. Best value for money in Batam.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny J, General Manager at Swiss-Belinn Batam, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Warm regards from Swiss-Belinn, Batam!

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments on tripadvisor.com following your recent stay at Swiss-Belinn, Batam. We do appreciate your comments regarding cleanliness of room and their hospitality. Those comments have been forwarded to our staff and team.

Once again we do appreciate receiving your feedback as it is enables us to focus our continue improvement efforts. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Swiss-Belinn, Batam. Thank you.


With kind regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

I booked 3D2N at this hotel for a 1-room apartment & I'm really pleased at the cleanliness. Feels like home with a small living room. Swimming pool closes at 9pm. You can even use t-shirt to swim in it so people who are not open to the idea of swimming in bikini can also swim. Check-in is at 1pm and check-out is at 12pm. Near Nagoya Hill SC but you need to get a cab to reach there. They usually charge 40,000 IDR for a trip to Ferry Terminal/Nagoya Hill SC. Staffs were really helpful and friendly. Makes you feel welcome.

Bad: Was asked to deposit 200,000 IDR for the mini bar which doesn't look like a mini bar at all. Just a normal fridge with light snacks and drinks. Will return the money back if you didn't touch the items at the end of the stay. Taxi driver charged 40,000 IDR from Ferry Terminal and when I passed him 500,000 IDR, he just kept the money without giving any change back. He actually tipped himself.
No nearby shops so somehow you will suffer at night if you're hungry. Aircon can get really warm one minute and the next minute you're freezing in the room. Small kitchen has stove but no pot or pans so I've no idea what's the purpose of it being there. Overall, it's a nice place to just stay in and relax.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Swiss-Belinn Batam, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Batam, 9 July 2012


Dear Guest,

Warm regards from Swiss-Belinn, Batam!

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments on tripadvisor.com following your recent stay at Swiss-Belinn, Batam. We do appreciate your comments and have been forwarded to our staff and team . Indeed it is a good hotel, centrally located in downtown and we often receive good comment regarding the service of our staff.

Once again we do appreciate receiving your feedback as it is enables us to focus our continue improvement efforts. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Swiss-Belinn, Batam. Thank you.


With kind regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We are amazingly pleased with the services provided as well as the quality of the hotel, given the fact that we got the deal though groupon hence we were expecting cockroachs or pests or even poor service etc. However, to our surprise we were greeted with a warm pleasure greetings from the bellman and although we had to wait quite a while to check-in, Mr Desben took a great deal in ensuring that we would have a good view in our hotel room and also ensured us profusely that he would reserved our room whilst pending for the confirmation of our passport renewal. He also made it a point to ensure that all emails or queries remained replied to and never once disappoint me when replying.

I would say my general review on this hotel exceeds my greatest expectation. Being treated like in a 5-star hotel! Rooms are exceptionally cleaned and we even got a balcony overlooking the main road. Its peaceful and quiet serenity is what amazed me as our hotel is located up the hill and just beside a side of the road.

The spread of breakfast buffet was marvellous and we enjoyed every stay. Didnt even feel like going out for shopping or entertainment.

It was an indeed pleasure and amazing experience with them! Thumbs-up!

Yati

Room Tip: Try to ask for rooms not close to karaoke unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Swiss-Belinn Batam, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Batam, 25 June 2012


Dear Guest,

Warm regards from Swiss-Belinn, Batam!

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments on tripadvisor.com following your recent stay at Swiss-Belinn, Batam. We do appreciate your comments and have been forwarded to our staff and team as well as to our Front Office staff - Desben. Indeed it is a good hotel, centrally located in downtown and we often receive good comment regarding the service of our staff.

Once again we do appreciate receiving your feedback as it is enables us to focus our continue improvement efforts. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Swiss-Belinn, Batam. Thank you.


With kind regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss-Belinn Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Belinn Batam

Address: Jl. Prambanan No.1 Jodoh, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swiss-Belinn Batam 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss-Belinn Batam is a premier choice for both business travelers and holidaymakers alike with 84 rooms accommodation. Located right by the major commercial and business area of the Batam Island, Swiss-Belinn Batam we are approximately 30 minutes by ferry from Singapore and 20 minutes’ drive from Hang Nadim Airport.Dine in style at our inhouse café with its selection of international, Indonesian, and traditional Malay cuisine, or chill out with a drink at our pool bar. Other facilities we provide for our guests’ pleasure include an outdoor swimming pool, covered parking, laundry services, facilities for the disabled, and excellent room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Swiss-Belinn Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Belhotel Batam Hotel Batam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss-Belinn Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.