We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A darn good hotel.... just not as freindly & roomy like the BCC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand I Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand I Hotel to your Saves list
Grand I Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Teuku Umar | Bukit Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia (Formerly I Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 86 Hotels in Batam
Bay Area, Northern California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A darn good hotel.... just not as freindly & roomy like the BCC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The good: Location is perfect for food, shopping, & entertainment. Amenities like the spa, workout room, and breakfast are great - really top-notch. Room was clean, shower worked well, & the bed was comfortable. Front desk personnel were very capable. The breakfast fruit drinks were mixed to perfection. You want the best guava, pineapple, & orange juice? iHotel!

The so-so: I was on the 6th floor & could hear the karaoke room from evening until early morning. Smoking at breakfast in the restaurant was quite unpleasant if that sort of thing bothers you. The staff, while very helpful and capable were just not at the same level of friendliness as the BCC hotel. This is not a slant against the staff, just a note at how above & beyond the staff goes at the BCC. Free pool table at the 1st floor bar is cool, but the prostitutes hanging around are just enough to dampen the mood. These ladies should keep to the 2nd floor karaoke.

The bad: Nothing bad at the iHotel. Ask for a room with an even number to get a nice view, otherwise enjoy looking at a parking garage at the Nagoya Mall!

Room Tip: Rooms 618, 620, & 622 are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elpollorojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at iHotel for 2 nights. Pillows and beds are very comforty. The rooms are big and clean with plenty of sunlight during the day. You can partially open one panel of the windows, allowing some fresh air into the room. Nice clean toilets with long bathtubs. The hotel has a small outdoor pool with sauna and jacuzzi on the 3rd floor. It takes only a few minutes walk via a walkway from the hotel to Nagoya Hill Mall. Plenty to eat and shop at the Mall. Indothai Spa and Spa Secret are also within walking distance from the hotel. Security is good as all arriving guests are made to walk through a scanner, just like those in the airports. This hotel is located in a central location with car ride of about 10mins to Harbour Bay and 15mins to Batam Centre. Would recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reneeSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Stay here because of the location, only take 3 minute walk to nagoya hill shopping centre. Room only ready at 2pm but is ok for us even we arrive early, shopping and food always available at shopping centre. Room given at 7th floor with nice view ( swimming pool and in front of building view ) room is spacious. Very nice TV selection ( from local Channel to Singapore TV programme , HBO, sports channel, australia network , AXN, Chinese movie programme) is a plus points. Room come with king size bed and bathtub in toilet. Room is simple but clean. Toilet with amenities and we even request extra shampoo n bath foam and not rejected by housekeeping team. Breakfast provided with good selection of food.environment is nice at coffee house , large table for 4 of us.food selection from bakeries, rice, potato to egg, cornflakes, miso soup, fruit and juices. Nice and full breakfast . Only commented about check out time, they only allow us stay up to 1pm, even we willing to give up 1 room early but they never consider let us stay even till 2pm, they must need back the room at 1pm, even 1 hour and very precious for us but they not allow to stay 1 hour more and that day is weekday Monday. Very not considerate overall is good choices for us stay in this hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Terenceyeap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have been here three times during business trip.The rooms are large and extremely comfortable bed, sheets and pillows, They had everything you could want for breakfast. Staff members are pleasant and friendly. Free Wi-fi internet connection in room.
It's very close to Nagoya mall, you are just a short walk via the walkway behind a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zugus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed at the iHotel in Batam for an overnight business trip in August 2013. On the whole I was happy with the Hotel and could certainly recommend it for those travelling to the area. It's a central location and short (hair raising) taxi ride to most areas. Industrial sites further out can take between 20 & 40min to get to depending on traffic which looks to be bad most times of the day. Close to a shopping centre is a plus. It's about a 15min drive to Batam Centre Ferry terminal to get back to Singapore.

The Good: The rooms were big, not very modern but certainly comfortable. Service was great, bathrooms adequate. Breakfast selections were good and quite exotic. Free internet access. Pool looked nice.

The Not So Good: The bathroom could have used a bit of a clean. Really not much else to complain about.

It's a short review but this hotel does what it is supposed to. Nothing more, nothing less. Comfortable and friendly - I can certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveInWestOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Situated at Nagoya, it is conveniently located beside Nagoya Hill Shopping Mall. I really appreciate the special walkway linking the hotel to the shopping mall, by passing the main road which can be dangerous at night. Moreover, there was a security guard at the gate to keep watch.

Rooms are new and specious, do request for a room facing the luxurious pool/ main entrance (otherwise the rooms allocated will be facing an empty soccer field with frog sounds at night). Each hotel rooms have bathtub and the channels were extensive (HBO, Channel V, Singapore channels, AXN etc). Overall ambience in the hotel was good, plus all hotel staff were courteous and very helpful.

The highlight was the buffet breakfast spread which consists of indonesian and western delights. The menus change everyday and efforts were made to prepare the sumptuous meals.

Room Tip: Request rooms facing the main entrance/ swimming pool, as rooms facing the back will face the forest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank angelicatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My experience to Batam is good. I have stayed in the hotel for one night and the service provided is good. We are in a group of 8 and we have a shutter service to and back from the ferry. The staffs are friendly and giving good advice of any good location in Batam. There is a mall right beside and foods are easily available in the surrounding. The trip is good for a short getaway and the price around is reasonable. You can free wifi and do have the room near to the lift for better reception. The whole trip was excellent.

Room Tip: Choose a room near the lift for good wifi reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K_Lim_Spore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batam hotels
0.0 mi away
I Hotel Baloi
I Hotel Baloi
#1 of 21 in Nagoya
4.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
2.9 mi away
HARRIS Hotel Batam Center
1.0 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Harbour Bay
Swiss-Belhotel Harbour Bay
#1 of 5 in Batu Ampar
4.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harmoni Suites Hotel
Harmoni Suites Hotel
#2 of 21 in Nagoya
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nagoya Mansion Hotel & Residence
0.0 mi away
Nagoya Hill Hotel
Nagoya Hill Hotel
#4 of 86 in Batam
4.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand I Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand I Hotel

Address: Jl. Teuku Umar | Bukit Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia (Formerly I Hotel)
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Batam
#11 Spa Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand I Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are fully renovated and re-branding with a NEW LOOK to serve you better. Experience the refreshing guest room enhancements at GRAND I HOTEL. Located next to Nagoya Hill Mall, GRAND I HOTEL is within walking distance to entertainment, local and gourmet cuisine, and shopping mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand I Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
i Hotel Batam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing