We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable business hotel and value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of I Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added I Hotel to your Saves list
I Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Teuku Umar | Bukit Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 75 Hotels in Batam
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Comfortable business hotel and value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have been here three times during business trip.The rooms are large and extremely comfortable bed, sheets and pillows, They had everything you could want for breakfast. Staff members are pleasant and friendly. Free Wi-fi internet connection in room.
It's very close to Nagoya mall, you are just a short walk via the walkway behind a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    118
    27
    8
    1
See reviews for
49
42
5
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed at the iHotel in Batam for an overnight business trip in August 2013. On the whole I was happy with the Hotel and could certainly recommend it for those travelling to the area. It's a central location and short (hair raising) taxi ride to most areas. Industrial sites further out can take between 20 & 40min to get to depending on traffic which looks to be bad most times of the day. Close to a shopping centre is a plus. It's about a 15min drive to Batam Centre Ferry terminal to get back to Singapore.

The Good: The rooms were big, not very modern but certainly comfortable. Service was great, bathrooms adequate. Breakfast selections were good and quite exotic. Free internet access. Pool looked nice.

The Not So Good: The bathroom could have used a bit of a clean. Really not much else to complain about.

It's a short review but this hotel does what it is supposed to. Nothing more, nothing less. Comfortable and friendly - I can certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Situated at Nagoya, it is conveniently located beside Nagoya Hill Shopping Mall. I really appreciate the special walkway linking the hotel to the shopping mall, by passing the main road which can be dangerous at night. Moreover, there was a security guard at the gate to keep watch.

Rooms are new and specious, do request for a room facing the luxurious pool/ main entrance (otherwise the rooms allocated will be facing an empty soccer field with frog sounds at night). Each hotel rooms have bathtub and the channels were extensive (HBO, Channel V, Singapore channels, AXN etc). Overall ambience in the hotel was good, plus all hotel staff were courteous and very helpful.

The highlight was the buffet breakfast spread which consists of indonesian and western delights. The menus change everyday and efforts were made to prepare the sumptuous meals.

Room Tip: Request rooms facing the main entrance/ swimming pool, as rooms facing the back will face the forest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My experience to Batam is good. I have stayed in the hotel for one night and the service provided is good. We are in a group of 8 and we have a shutter service to and back from the ferry. The staffs are friendly and giving good advice of any good location in Batam. There is a mall right beside and foods are easily available in the surrounding. The trip is good for a short getaway and the price around is reasonable. You can free wifi and do have the room near to the lift for better reception. The whole trip was excellent.

Room Tip: Choose a room near the lift for good wifi reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed at the I Hotel for one night when I was in Batam. The location of the hotel is excellent as it is just a 5 mins walk away from the Nagoya Hill Mall. Rooms were clean and spacious and had good service. It was also not expensive. Would recommend this to anyone going to Batam.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I Hotel Batam is situated next to a mall, and the hotel helpfully built a proper predestrian path leading there from the back of the hotel, with a guard at the entrance so it is quite safe walking back to the hotel at night. The mall itself has a wide range of eateries and shops.
The furnishing is functional, although the recliner looks dated. There is no powerpoint right next to the bed (bed lamps' power supplies were built into the wall) so that was very inconvenient because I had to charge my laptop at intervals for use at the opposite side of the room.
Bathroom was very nice, with large tub, large sink, lots of random complementary toiletries, and very clean.
Buffet breakfast spread was very good with a wide range of food and an egg station. However, there was only one restaurant hall, and no separation between the smoking and non-smoking areas, so if you are extremely intolerant to smokers or there happens to be a lot of smokers then there might be a problem. Do come early for breakfast (around 8) because it empties quite fast.
As other reviewers can attest to, I Hotel is good value for money. The only thing I can complain about is although the wireless internet is free, coverage is uneven and connection works only intermittently.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I had been to Batam many many times, and usually on a tight budget.
The hotel is located at the close proximity of Nagoya Mall, just a few minute walk from the hotel.

Hotel facilities include a gym, spa, a swimming pool with a heated jacuzzi pool, the pool is located near the gym, and hotel guest could use the gym for free.

King-Sized Bed, Free WiFi in room, even had a ethernet network plug, where you could plug directly into your notebook for instant internet access.

The morning breakfast buffet was good, so were there porridge buffet we took at night.
The live band performing on the 2nd floor each night.

"Secret Spa" nearby was family-orientated, and full 150min package was very affordable.
Massage is available within the hotel too. It is located near the swimming pool.

I will surely return to the same hotel in Batam.. until I found a better one..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to I Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Hotel

Address: Jl. Teuku Umar | Bukit Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Batam
#3 Spa Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — I Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your I Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
i Hotel Batam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage I Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.