We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Among the best hotels here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of I Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added I Hotel to your Saves list
I Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Teuku Umar | Bukit Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 75 Hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Among the best hotels here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I Hotel Batam is situated next to a mall, and the hotel helpfully built a proper predestrian path leading there from the back of the hotel, with a guard at the entrance so it is quite safe walking back to the hotel at night. The mall itself has a wide range of eateries and shops.
The furnishing is functional, although the recliner looks dated. There is no powerpoint right next to the bed (bed lamps' power supplies were built into the wall) so that was very inconvenient because I had to charge my laptop at intervals for use at the opposite side of the room.
Bathroom was very nice, with large tub, large sink, lots of random complementary toiletries, and very clean.
Buffet breakfast spread was very good with a wide range of food and an egg station. However, there was only one restaurant hall, and no separation between the smoking and non-smoking areas, so if you are extremely intolerant to smokers or there happens to be a lot of smokers then there might be a problem. Do come early for breakfast (around 8) because it empties quite fast.
As other reviewers can attest to, I Hotel is good value for money. The only thing I can complain about is although the wireless internet is free, coverage is uneven and connection works only intermittently.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    118
    27
    8
    1
See reviews for
49
42
5
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I had been to Batam many many times, and usually on a tight budget.
The hotel is located at the close proximity of Nagoya Mall, just a few minute walk from the hotel.

Hotel facilities include a gym, spa, a swimming pool with a heated jacuzzi pool, the pool is located near the gym, and hotel guest could use the gym for free.

King-Sized Bed, Free WiFi in room, even had a ethernet network plug, where you could plug directly into your notebook for instant internet access.

The morning breakfast buffet was good, so were there porridge buffet we took at night.
The live band performing on the 2nd floor each night.

"Secret Spa" nearby was family-orientated, and full 150min package was very affordable.
Massage is available within the hotel too. It is located near the swimming pool.

I will surely return to the same hotel in Batam.. until I found a better one..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Credit excellent service to ur staff Ms Tari from the Cinnamon Cafe I stayed 3days 2nites & I was craving for fried banana (Goreng Pisang) with chocolate & cheese topping But no stock so Ms Tari had made an afford to specially order delivery for meI've ordered 5boxes & finished it with
satisfaction

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Location, cleaniness, services, breakfast, swimming pool, gym, jacuzzi all ok.

Sound proof, pillows not so ok.

Walking distance to nagoya shopping mall. The pathway located next to the hotel which leads to Nagoya Malll will close at 12 midnight. Please be careful when crossing the roads as vechicles do not necessarily give way to those crossing at the predestrin crossings.

Room Tip: Swimming pool and gym are located on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My friend recommended me to this hotel at Batam. I must said no regret as I brought my family
members a total of 8 including myself and they enjoyed their stayed from 15-16 Jun 2013.
With est. 3 mins walk from the hotel to Nagoya Hill Mall is really smooth with bamboos tree at the side if it is both side it will be good to prevent the heat & the sun.
Everything were so excellent including the check in all the way to the check out.
The breakfast were good unfortunately don't seem to see any topping up especially the ToFu (beancurd) ,soya bean drink and the bread section. Didn't get to try this while waiting & thought there might be some topping up but it never happen.
If the nasi lemak section come with the chilli will be perfect.
My breakfast were somewhat interrupted by two smokers spoiling my mood with their heavy
smoking at the breakfast table. My clothes full of cigarettes smelled.
It will be good to have the whole place & the lobby showing non smoking sign to keep the
environment a healthy place to stay & enjoy since it is all air-conditioned area.
Will definitely come back again.
Charlene

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

great location! pathway to nagoya hill mall... the gate is opened till 12am. me and my friend, 2 girls walking back from nagoya back to hotel at 11pm and it is quite safe. room service food and breakfast were so-so.. great hotel except the doors are not sound proof.. can hear ppl walking and talking at the corridors.. and pillows were quite lousy... other than that, i will still go back ihotel as the location is convenient for shopping and near spa secret as well!

Room Tip: get corner rooms so you won't hear ppl running or talking at the corridor..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

I went to have a stay at Ihotel on the 7th June. Having read it from tripadvisor & hearing so many positive comments to it & it being ranked 3rd.

I rch there at 12noon. Was quite satisfied on the way they handle the check in. The security was pretty tight which I liked. As they do not have a smoking room available it's fine. They told me to return at 2pm.

Upon returning at 2pm I was able to check in. Room they given me was the highest floor. Which I like as its will be less closer to noise pollution. The moment I open up the room door the 1st thing struck my mind is what is this. The mattress & pillow was so thin. Room furnishing looks so old.

Breakfast I had prepared myself for it as alot of ppl mentioned that the range was not a wide spread. But I was atonished that it was so so so little choice. Spaghetti for breakfast? Omg!

The swimming pool the moment I look down fr the room. I don't even want to waste my time checking it out. It was so cramped.

Room service. I made an order at ard 11pm lasagna, fish & chip & drumstick. It came 1.15hr later. Which I was starving alr. The fish & chip was cold. The drumstick was cold. Only the lasagna still can pass. The other 2 we practically didn't eat at all. 2nd day I order ice-cream sundae the ice-cream served to me was melted in my face!

Alot of issues with communication. They can't understand what u want. I really hope they can improve it.

Given their location & security plus points they should even make full use of these to make even a better staying experience to the guest.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to I Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Hotel

Address: Jl. Teuku Umar | Bukit Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Batam
#3 Spa Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — I Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your I Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
i Hotel Batam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage I Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.