We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Batam!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of I Hotel

Save Saved
You added I Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
I Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Teuku Umar | Bukit Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 67 hotels in Batam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best in Batam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for a night and it was superb. Staff are all friendly and excellent service. Reason i choose this hotel was the location. 5 mins to the Nagoya shopping mall with ample choices of restaurants to choose from. Room service food are affordable as well. Room that i got is very spacious. Upgraded to balcony room because their superior rooms were all full. The bed is very comfy and i slept like a baby after a full body massage and spa at the nearest Spa at nagoya mall. Taxi is 20 mins if you are taking from Batam Centre . Thumbs up to this hotel and the very helpful staff!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    102
    23
    9
    1
See reviews for
45
38
5
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3D2N and my sister and I have no regrets! This hotel is new. Its walking distance to Nagoya Mall and the hotel staff were friendly and helpful. We basically went to the mall to shop, came back to dump all the plastic bags in the room and off we go again to the mall. The breakfast was spectacular!! So much variety, that you'll be spoilt for choice! The only putoff is that the smoking and the non smoking area in the restaurant is just divided by the buffet spread in the middle of the room. Should consider having the smoking area outdoors, not indoors. Well, you can't always everything that you want. Will defintely come back to this hotel again. Hope it will remain the same.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batam, Indonesia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

this hotel have a good location, near by Nagoya Hill, shopping center in Batam.
if you stay here, at least you must have trip to nagoya hill, lucky plaza, BCS mall, etc.
the first is Lucky Plaza because this place is very famous as the central of electronic with cheap price. Besides the location, the room is clean and very cozy. Overall, this Hotel is the best.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Went on a short trip with my wife to Batam and this time round, we stayed in iHotel instead of Sijori Resort (which is really a nightmare, but that's another review).

Basically, we will rate iHotel based on these 6 areas:
1. Location
2. Service
3. Price, Facilities & Cleanliness
4. Spa
5. Food
6. Taxi

1. Location (5/5)
iHotel is conveniently located close to Nagoya Hill / Shopping Mall, and what's good about it is that there is a short path from iHotel to the mall without walking along the roadside. For those who don't know this short path, it is just behind iHotel (you will have to walk pass the cinnamon cafe from the outside to the back of the hotel). Or from Nagoya Shopping Mall, you will have to pass by JCO Donut at 2nd Level, and walk towards Delta Spa & Health Club, you will then find a short staircase that will lead you to iHotel (thanks to my wife who discover this route after walking along the road with me for a few times).

2. Service (4/5)
Pretty decent service and Yanti, the lady in reservation, is very patient to my request for reservation changes and did a great job for it. The staffs over the counter answer various of my queries as well, but language wise will have to improve.

3. Price, Facilities & Cleanliness
In my opinion, price is a little too steep. For 1.1million per night for superior room, my expectations will definitely be higher. Main concern, can't connect to WIFI in room, WIFI service is only available at lobby, which is a hassle. Room is pretty decent though, with quite a good size for superior room. Have a spa, swimming pool, gym, restaurant, bar and cafe. Went for free breakfast in the cinnamon restaurant every morning, and spa, but didn't get to try the rest. iHotel cleanliness can definitely be improved. Firstly, towels used are with yellow stains, and smell a bit awful. Not sure if it's the detergent that they use or what. Room wise was alright. Cable TV with wide variety of channels (including channel 5, 8 and U) and all those movies channel to keep you entertain throughout the night. Sound proofing system is quite bad though. We stayed in room 704, which is right in front of the lift, so if people waiting for the lifts talks loudly, we can actually hear it quite clearly, and what comes around, goes around as well. So if you are doing something private, please try to control your volume. The D&D sign doesn't really plays a part here.

4. Spa
Devata Spa, one of the better spa in Batam in my opinion. Better than Isabella definitely (though Isabella offer good service, price and free transport, but cleanliness is atrocious, which we do not consider patronizing again). Devata Spa in another hand, also offer good service and price. Current promo is IDR500,000 for 100mins couple massage, inclusive of 10mins foot bath, 60mins full body massage and 30mins body scrub. Consideration for the room is that the couple room that we have, is right outside the main path (where everybody in the spa will walk pass) so when the therapists walk in and out to take the stuffs, it's kinda "". Can hardly explain the feeling. But overall experience for this spa is still good.

5. Food
Breakfast in Cinnamon Restaurant is ok, there are several items available, from porridge, spaghetti, cereals, to omelette, sausages, chicken, etc. Not expecting a heavy breakfast, so the porridge, omelette and orange juice just works fine for us. Nagoya Shopping Mall in another hand have more variety (of cos, it's a mall). Been to the cafe beside the Cinema at the highest level, and have the ayam pemyat and pempek (one of my wife's favorite food now). Price is reasonable and portion is just nice as well. We also went to Golden Prawn 933 to try their seafood (supposedly famous). Fish was really fresh, while sambal squid taste kinda different but ok, 30% of clam is dead, while the remaining taste good. Overall price is reasonable as well.

6. Taxi
Not recommended to take taxi to Nagoya Shopping Mall as they are charging IDR45,000 for taxi, while it will take you like 5-10mins to reach there by foot. Taking taxi from iHotel to Batam Centre Mega Mall will take around IDR60,000 by taxi meter, or IDR80,000 (fix price), it's obvious which one you will choose. From Batam Centre to Golden Prawn will take around IDR60,000 but we think it can be cheaper, like IDR45,000 - IDR50,000 instead. The driver charge us IDR60,000 from Golden Prawn to iHotel, which is like quite near, and the price should be around IDR45,000 - IDR50,000 as well.

Overall experience in iHotel is still good, compared to our first visit to Batam where we stay in Sijori Resort (still a nightmare now). But if budget is the constrain, you can try Triniti Hotel (one of the nearer hotel to Nagoya that we see, probably around 10-15mins walk). No comments about the hotel though as we have never been there before.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Fav getaway to batam since 2000 and have stayed numerous hotels but this hotel has won over for its covenient location.

Nagoya mall is one of my fav malls in batam for their food and spa and is just right behind the hotel.

Booked superior room,amenities are well equipped. The staffs can speak quite good english and helpful. Breakfast was average.

Overall a plesant stay and have always enjoyed :-)

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

One of my regular accommodation every time I head to Batam for my regular fix of spa packages and Kelong seafood.

Right behind Nagoya hills , adjacent to Spa ( clean true Indonesian massage)
Safe and tight security.
Friendly receptionist.
Housekeeping is always courteous and greeting all guests.
Happening bars and lounges
Sufficient buffet breakfast.
Huge comfortable beds and beautiful large bathrooms and space ( deluxe and above)

Room Tip: Deluxe and you get minibar foc
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Nice hotel that has everything there. Nice but small pool, bars, restaurant.
If you have to go Batam (have to go!!), this hotel is a good place to stay.
At least the Internet is free (my bug bear with hotels when you have to pay extra for Internet)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to I Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Hotel

Address: Jl. Teuku Umar | Bukit Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Batam
#5 Spa Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — I Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your I Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
i Hotel Batam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage I Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.