We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3D2n @ iHotel + Batam Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of I Hotel

Save Saved
You added I Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
I Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Teuku Umar | Bukit Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“3D2n @ iHotel + Batam Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Went on a short trip with my wife to Batam and this time round, we stayed in iHotel instead of Sijori Resort (which is really a nightmare, but that's another review).

Basically, we will rate iHotel based on these 6 areas:
1. Location
2. Service
3. Price, Facilities & Cleanliness
4. Spa
5. Food
6. Taxi

1. Location (5/5)
iHotel is conveniently located close to Nagoya Hill / Shopping Mall, and what's good about it is that there is a short path from iHotel to the mall without walking along the roadside. For those who don't know this short path, it is just behind iHotel (you will have to walk pass the cinnamon cafe from the outside to the back of the hotel). Or from Nagoya Shopping Mall, you will have to pass by JCO Donut at 2nd Level, and walk towards Delta Spa & Health Club, you will then find a short staircase that will lead you to iHotel (thanks to my wife who discover this route after walking along the road with me for a few times).

2. Service (4/5)
Pretty decent service and Yanti, the lady in reservation, is very patient to my request for reservation changes and did a great job for it. The staffs over the counter answer various of my queries as well, but language wise will have to improve.

3. Price, Facilities & Cleanliness
In my opinion, price is a little too steep. For 1.1million per night for superior room, my expectations will definitely be higher. Main concern, can't connect to WIFI in room, WIFI service is only available at lobby, which is a hassle. Room is pretty decent though, with quite a good size for superior room. Have a spa, swimming pool, gym, restaurant, bar and cafe. Went for free breakfast in the cinnamon restaurant every morning, and spa, but didn't get to try the rest. iHotel cleanliness can definitely be improved. Firstly, towels used are with yellow stains, and smell a bit awful. Not sure if it's the detergent that they use or what. Room wise was alright. Cable TV with wide variety of channels (including channel 5, 8 and U) and all those movies channel to keep you entertain throughout the night. Sound proofing system is quite bad though. We stayed in room 704, which is right in front of the lift, so if people waiting for the lifts talks loudly, we can actually hear it quite clearly, and what comes around, goes around as well. So if you are doing something private, please try to control your volume. The D&D sign doesn't really plays a part here.

4. Spa
Devata Spa, one of the better spa in Batam in my opinion. Better than Isabella definitely (though Isabella offer good service, price and free transport, but cleanliness is atrocious, which we do not consider patronizing again). Devata Spa in another hand, also offer good service and price. Current promo is IDR500,000 for 100mins couple massage, inclusive of 10mins foot bath, 60mins full body massage and 30mins body scrub. Consideration for the room is that the couple room that we have, is right outside the main path (where everybody in the spa will walk pass) so when the therapists walk in and out to take the stuffs, it's kinda "". Can hardly explain the feeling. But overall experience for this spa is still good.

5. Food
Breakfast in Cinnamon Restaurant is ok, there are several items available, from porridge, spaghetti, cereals, to omelette, sausages, chicken, etc. Not expecting a heavy breakfast, so the porridge, omelette and orange juice just works fine for us. Nagoya Shopping Mall in another hand have more variety (of cos, it's a mall). Been to the cafe beside the Cinema at the highest level, and have the ayam pemyat and pempek (one of my wife's favorite food now). Price is reasonable and portion is just nice as well. We also went to Golden Prawn 933 to try their seafood (supposedly famous). Fish was really fresh, while sambal squid taste kinda different but ok, 30% of clam is dead, while the remaining taste good. Overall price is reasonable as well.

6. Taxi
Not recommended to take taxi to Nagoya Shopping Mall as they are charging IDR45,000 for taxi, while it will take you like 5-10mins to reach there by foot. Taking taxi from iHotel to Batam Centre Mega Mall will take around IDR60,000 by taxi meter, or IDR80,000 (fix price), it's obvious which one you will choose. From Batam Centre to Golden Prawn will take around IDR60,000 but we think it can be cheaper, like IDR45,000 - IDR50,000 instead. The driver charge us IDR60,000 from Golden Prawn to iHotel, which is like quite near, and the price should be around IDR45,000 - IDR50,000 as well.

Overall experience in iHotel is still good, compared to our first visit to Batam where we stay in Sijori Resort (still a nightmare now). But if budget is the constrain, you can try Triniti Hotel (one of the nearer hotel to Nagoya that we see, probably around 10-15mins walk). No comments about the hotel though as we have never been there before.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    110
    25
    8
    1
See reviews for
46
39
5
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Fav getaway to batam since 2000 and have stayed numerous hotels but this hotel has won over for its covenient location.

Nagoya mall is one of my fav malls in batam for their food and spa and is just right behind the hotel.

Booked superior room,amenities are well equipped. The staffs can speak quite good english and helpful. Breakfast was average.

Overall a plesant stay and have always enjoyed :-)

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

One of my regular accommodation every time I head to Batam for my regular fix of spa packages and Kelong seafood.

Right behind Nagoya hills , adjacent to Spa ( clean true Indonesian massage)
Safe and tight security.
Friendly receptionist.
Housekeeping is always courteous and greeting all guests.
Happening bars and lounges
Sufficient buffet breakfast.
Huge comfortable beds and beautiful large bathrooms and space ( deluxe and above)

Room Tip: Deluxe and you get minibar foc
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Nice hotel that has everything there. Nice but small pool, bars, restaurant.
If you have to go Batam (have to go!!), this hotel is a good place to stay.
At least the Internet is free (my bug bear with hotels when you have to pay extra for Internet)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed at superior room which room size is big enough. The water pressure of the shower in bathroom is strong. The free wifi signal is okay which you can check emails, whatsapp & facebook without problems. Just 5 minutes easy walk to Nagoya Mall which you can find massage, restaurants, department store and hypermarket. The swimming pool is not so big but not crowded. There is a jacuzzi but it was out of order during my 3 days visit. The gym is small with adequate equipments. The buffet breakfast is good with many choices. Staff are polite. The nearest ferry terminal is Harbour Bay.

Room Tip: I stayed at higher floor which is quiet with swimming pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Has everything you expect of a new hotel. Upon reaching the concierge we were greeted with a glass of fresh orange juice.

Room was spacious and furnishing was close of perfect. The only gripe I have was that they had ran out of non-smoking rooms.

Short walk through the back exit to a nearby shopping mall. Feels very safe. They even had a person sit at the edge of the property to keep a lookout for our safety.

Breakfast spread was excellent. Chicken rice, fried vermicelli, pastries, omelette, you name it they have it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from batam i hotel. Overall a greatstay.
Location superb, walking distance to nagoya hill mall thru the small walkway from the hotel and also a sercurity guard is always there at night as the walkway gets pretty dark during the night.
Hotels rooms are clean, service is prompt.
Pool is clean but small. Luckily i was there during the offpeak timings so most of the time we were alone at the pool. Not a gd place to get a tan as there are no loungers there.
Bfast is slightly above average as im pretty particular wth the pastry section. Pastry is definitely below par but the rest of the food items are not too bad.
Hotel Spa treatments is good and cheap, but i was rejected to charge to room wth no reasons given and had to go back to my room to get my credit card.
Trips to other shopping ctrs like batam city square is jist a short taxi ride abt 5-10mins.

Overall a good stay wth great location, good hotel and great hotel spa.

A tip for i hotel management, would suggest like a surprise birthday cake for birthday guest as i requested for a small cake, your restaurant dont provide even if im willing to pay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to I Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Hotel

Address: Jl. Teuku Umar | Bukit Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Batam
#3 Spa Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — I Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your I Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
i Hotel Batam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage I Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.