We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new and reasonably priced hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of I Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added I Hotel to your Saves list
I Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Teuku Umar | Bukit Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 72 Hotels in Batam
singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“new and reasonably priced hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

A pretty new and reasonably priced hotel which is next to Nagoya mall. I can easily have my meals, wash hair at hair salon, do manicure & pedicure at shops at Nagoya mall. The hotel also provide free shuttle bus to various shopping mall. There is a nice swimming pool in the hotel too. Room & bathroom are spacious and very clean. Breakfast is ok, nothing special but nothing to complain about. Spa is pretty nice with comtemporary look. But massage is not cheap. You can find cheaper massage in Nagoya malls. Their massages also not very good, I end up with several bruises on my body and legs.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    112
    26
    8
    1
See reviews for
47
40
5
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hotel location is very good, near to nagoya hill mall, lots of eating places.
The room is quiet big, neat, clean and tidy.
The bathroom also quiet big with a bathtub.
Free wifi in the room, just need to get the password from the receptionist.
Hotel location also near Harbour Bay ferry terminal about 5 minutes by taxi.
Staff is friendly & helpful.
Will definitely stay here again if I visit Batam.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Positives
1. Location (this is the best). There is a path way it leads to the nagoya mall just 5 min walk from hotel. Very safe.
2. The service of the staffs
3. The room was nice, neat and comfortable

Negatives
1. The Spa ( The most terrible spa I have ever been too). We took a couple aromatherapy for 90 mins. One who did for me was ok. But the other one took 3 or 4 five min breaks and was talking the whole time. I would suggest don't try it coz it is expensive but not worthy at all.

2. Expensive. The rate of the room is much expensive. I have stayed in five star hotels much cheaper than this hotel.

3. The Breakfast: The items in breakfast is very limited. There is a egg and waffle stall and we had to wait for 30 mins to get a waffle coz both stalls has been maintained by a single person.

Others
1. There is a one jacuzzi and a very small pool. You cant swim you can imagine is a big tub for 10 people. But thankfully there was not much people there for swimming.

2. The gym was nicely packed but it was not big lot of equipments was packed in a small room.

Bottom line
If you have money and you need a prime location book this hotel. But lower your expectations of this hotel for the money you paid.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Clean rooms and place but gloomy lighting and decor, decent service but nothing exceptional, catering not brilliant, but nothing bad.

Not paying so not a value consideration, nothing really noteworthy in either direction. adjacent mosque, calls to prayer quite melodically and with passion.

All round nothing much to criticise or commend, like a tin of Heinz beans

Cheers
PNG

Room Tip: There seemed to be loud music from somewhere adjacent, I would ask for a quiet room away from bar or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Spent a comfortable three days at the ihotel. Only drawback was the faint lingering odor of bug spray. On the plus side, did not see one insect while there. Room was clean, staff very friendly and helpful. Short, open, well-lit walkway to Nagoya Hill Shopping Center, where there is also a Hypermart for those necessities you may have forgotten to pack for the trip.

Appreciated the security at the hotel, as I was there by myself each day while husband was at work. Got a nice scalp massage and shampoo at a spa and shopped for reasonably priced souvenirs at the mall.

Enjoyed the variety on the breakfast buffet, especially the outstanding selection of breads at the toasting station. In case the regular buffet was not enough to satisfy, there were waffles and omelets made to order.

All in all, a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Our room faced the back courtyard which was not very attractive, so if you prefer a picturesque view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Recent stay with husband. Would have given much better rating had I not been stifled by the thick mildew stench through the night!
Pros - rapid and early check in, nice staff
Cons - highly perfumed smell in non smoking room when first entered which I now realise was to hide the thick mildew smell waking me in the middle of the night unable to breath properly! If ur asthmatic I would not choose this hotel. Windows don't open and there is no airflow at all. I believe it was coming from the air con so even turning that up made things worse. Wifi although included drops out constantly in room. Simple amenities pool nice but no sun loungers to sit on so can't relax at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Check-in was a breeze, took us less than 10 min. Hotel lobby looks grand but marred by the fact that guest are allowed to smoke in the lobby.

We were given a room on the 6th floor, facing the field and where the rows of motorcycles parked. At night, we could hear people chatting at the carpark . The room was clean but showing signs of aging. The bed was not comfortable and pillow was too soft. We were woken up in the wee hour of the morning by the prayer call from the nearby mosque, followed by the loud sound of somebody using the shower in the room next to us.

The pool which in my opinion is a little small but the gym seems well equipped with lots of machines. We also went to look at the spa. It has nice ambience but again, it too is showing signs of aging, we noticed paint peeling off on some walls. Price-wise is slightly more costly as compared to The Spa Secret but with the quiet ambience, I think its worth paying. The Spa Secret was just way too noisy to enjoy the services. When the staff was not handling guests, they were busy chatting loudly among themselves. I did pedicure. Good service but choice of nail colours was very limited. My friend did foot reflexology and he too complained that he could hear guests’ conversations clearly when they were showering in the next room.

The only plus point for this hotel is that its near the shopping mall.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to I Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Hotel

Address: Jl. Teuku Umar | Bukit Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Batam
#4 Spa Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — I Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your I Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
i Hotel Batam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage I Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.