We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Formosa Hotel

Best prices from these 5 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Formosa Hotel to your Saves list
Formosa Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   City Plaza Nagoya no. A8, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 71 Hotels in Batam
1 review
“Comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010 via mobile

I'll be back to this hotel's with my familly everytimes we're visited Batam city, 'coz the location of this hotel's side by side with Batam Lucky Plaza.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    19
    23
    6
    2
See reviews for
9
6
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

As we have checked in late night (around 10-11 pm) we didn't have much choice.This hotel got very good reviews here that's why we stayed there.To my horror when we got there, it's so old! It smells of of mildew & stale cigarette smoke-must be the curtains and the carpeting.
We were tired and just ordered room service-the food must be very local as my husband and I didn't even finish our food.Then we asked for couple massage.That's the last straw-all the 2 girls who went there to massage us used very cold cream, they kept talking and was touching my husband (the one massaging my husband) in ways other than therapeutic, like they were just playing.The buffet breakfast wasn;t that good either-just something to fill our stomachs with.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

This was my second stay at Formosa Hotel, first being 2 yrs ago. i am quite impressed this time around as the place esp the lobby looked much better and the room much cleaner and yhe bed very comfortable, I came back to this hotel because of its convenient location, close to a big mall, money changers, food outlets etc.
I paid IDR 310k for the room at one of the travel offices as I got off the ferry. I will certainly recommend this hotel for those on golf trips to Batam who will spend most of the day out on the golf courses. I have to mention here that some of the rooms have no windows so ask for one that has them.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

Service = Good. Friendly n courteous.

Room = Okay..The bathroom not bad at all..(i've attached some pics for u to see)

Location= Its located in Nagoya where Batam's biggest(i think) shopping centre is at. Nagoya Hill Mall is just 5mins walk away. Its near Macdonald too. 15 - 20 mins away from Batam Center Ferry Terminal.

Price = SGD55 nett per night. (I think its better make a reservation through the phone..as i see the rates on the net is slightly higher.)

What i like most = u can call the masseuse to massage u n ur partner in ur own room for around SGD 20 for 1 hour.

Overall a good 1st time experience.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

Convenient location, 10-15 mins walk to Nagoya Hill Shopping Centre. The rooms are neat and spacious. Basic toiletries are provided. Overall good for a night's accomodation and value for money.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

a nice but older hotel... worn in places and devoid of customers...
Nice room... strangely smelly but hard to define... I think it was humidity... GREAT bed and staff kept the place clean and bed sheets crisp
What I enjoyed was Dodi, the Concierge and his fellows who were polite and helpful.. a lone white man passing time in Bataam - they made me have fun. brought the bad copy Rolex - ate some 'interesting food'... and just pottered...
I like this hotel as the staff made it home for my long weekend away from KL...

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

The hotel is conveniently located in the shopping area on the left and right. Money changers, massage and restaurants, beauty salons are within walking distance. A short walk from the hotel will bring you to the big Nagoya Hill Shopping Complex, where you can find more shopping and cinema. To get to the hotel from the Megamall Batam, the shopping mall opposite Batam Centre ferry terminal, you can hop on the free bus service. All you have to do is only showing a till receipt of Rp10,000 spent in the mall. If you're in a hurry, you can just grab some takeaway from the A&W and show it to the information counter of Batam Megamall. The bus is a joint-operation between Batam Megamall and some hotels in Batam (such as Island Garden and Nagoya Plasa as well).
At night you can walk towards the direction of Nagoya Hill Shopping Complex, where you can find the chicken and mutton satay nightstalls as well as murtabaks.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Smoke-filled air-conditioned lobby
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Formosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Formosa Hotel

Address: City Plaza Nagoya no. A8, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 71 Hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Formosa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Formosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Formosa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.