We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Formosa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Formosa Hotel to your Saves list
Formosa Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   City Plaza Nagoya no. A8, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 84 Hotels in Batam
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Location and Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Check in was smooth and relatively quick, you are greeted with juices, a nice touch there. Run down exterior doesn't promise much but the location is superb with Nagoya Hill a 5min walk away and lots of street food just outside the hotel.

When we were checked in, the room I was given was horrendous with the air-conditioning spewing warm air and the toilet smelling dank. I requested for a room change and surprisingly their service was good. Got my room changed and the new one was much better.

Nothing to shout about, some of the room doors don't seem to be fully sealed with gaps at the top of the doors and seemingly paper thin walls. Essentials are there though with LCD TV, okay air-conditioning and clean sheets. Bed is bouncy and soft however, a bane or boon depending on your preference. Toilet is basic but clean with amenities like toothbrushes provided at least.

Overall, budget hotel at a great location. If you're looking to sloth it out in total comfort, I'd recommend Harmoni One. For a bit more dollar, you get a lot more value in terms of the room. However, Formosa is worth considering if you're really into shopping and location convenience.

Stayed July 2013, Traveled with Friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    24
    28
    9
    4
See reviews for
10
10
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

- 10mins to Nagoya Hill Shopping Mall. There's food, shops, cinemas, karaoke establishments and even spa houses at this shopping mall area.
- 5mins to local street food. More food but at a local price. Ask the staff to point you in the direction and try the local "Satays"
- Right next door to electronics plaza (mobile phones, cameras etc)

Surprisingly the rooms were spacious and the beds were clean and comfy.
However the toilet could use some upgrading coz the bathtub had some rust stains due to improper care.

But hey for the size of room & locality, at this price, it's not bad.

Room Tip: Ask to check the toilets first. Maybe the other rooms are better coz I went during peak and they wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights.. Great location..3min walk to nagoya hill mall. Next door to Lucky Plaza(electronic device mall).
Tool the triple sharing room. The room is big and spacious but looks old and dated. Most important its very clean and no unpleasent smells. . Bfast has lots of local choices..has in room wifi..so all in all value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Had a 3D2N stay at Formosa, with two friends. I was initially shocked at the exterior facade of the hotel, that seemed rundown. But we were blown with amazement with the standard of service from the staff, who were friendly and accomodating. The rooms were surprinsingly spacious. Tv cable shows were a delight. Great thing was the fact that Formosa was conveninetly located near shopping malls like Lucky Plaza and Nagoya Mall. Convenient stores and money changers were aplenty. Even the availability of transportations was a blessing. Breakfast was simple but fulfilling. In hotel massage was also magnificient. Overall a great stay in experience.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

A group of us stayed at this hotel for our 2 days 1 night batam trip. We exceptionally loved the location as it was near Nogoya Shopping Center and a few others places like Lucky Plaza. Breakfast was excellent too. WIFI was great but only one person per room can login at one time. TV channels were plenty ranging from news to sports. Service was great considering the staff took less than 5 minutes to reach our room when we requested for some help.

Room Tip: WIFI can only be login one person per room at one time. Call the receptionist to request that more p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I went with my hubby on a 2D1N Package. Is a 3-star hotel but rooms are nice.We stayed in deluxe room. There's KTV and King SPA/Massage on 4th floor. The price for Massage are not bad.Wifi can get anytime but signal at times slow. Service was good and staff able to understand basic english. Breakfast served with Buffet style which is tasty food.Is suits for Couple and Friends stay.Overall is ok.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

this property has an unassuming facade but take a look inside and you will find a very imviting lobby (by batam standards).

the rooms are huge but there is a little problem with the rooms located at the rear end of the building. most of them look out to a very desolate wall of the neighring block, which i personally found a bit depressing and hence left the curtain drawn all the time to hide the view.some of the other rooms near the karaoke area also can be noisy at night but this should not undermine the good value in terms of the size of the rooms and location of the property.
transportation connectivity is excellent - both taxis and local "angkut" which is good for the adventrous travellers as these converted mini vans can become very full,hot and hence uncomfortable.but they are so cheap...2000RP for rides around the nagoya region.



the furniture a at best functional with little attention to aesthetics.

the amenities provided in the room are sufficient, the bed linen and the towelling being more than adequate.

the staff are an asset of this property. staff morale is high as reflected in their pleasant attitude.

some reviewers of this hotel have adverse comments on the breakfast. i disagree. the breakfast provided is not luxurious but it defenitely more than good to get you going for the day.there is the onsite egg station, cereal station,bread and some danish (with toasting facilities). for the local fare there is congee(rice porridge)with all th econdiments, chicken curry, vegetables and couple of fried noodles. there is also juice station albeit with only one flavour.overall the breakfast is between good and excellent.

overall good value for money and the right place to stay for those interested in shopping ( at the nagoyal hill hyopermart, amere five minute walk0, entertinment like massage or karaoke. night street food is plentiful around the hotel .

Room Tip: as mentioned above if you want good sleep stay away from the karaoke area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batam hotels
0.7 mi away
Horison Ultima King's Batam
1.3 mi away
Goodway Hotel - Batam
Goodway Hotel - Batam
#8 of 21 in Nagoya
3.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
1.6 mi away
Swiss-Inn Batam
Swiss-Inn Batam
#14 of 84 in Batam
3.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
89 Hotel
89 Hotel
#18 of 84 in Batam
3.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
1.1 mi away
Triniti Hotel Batam
Triniti Hotel Batam
#9 of 21 in Nagoya
3.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Batam City Hotel
Batam City Hotel
#4 of 21 in Nagoya
4.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Formosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Formosa Hotel

Address: City Plaza Nagoya no. A8, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 84 Hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Formosa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Formosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Formosa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.