We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Formosa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Formosa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Asiatravel.com Booking.com
and 1 more site!
Formosa Hotel
No. A8 City Plaza Nagoya, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 64 hotels in Batam
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

A group of us stayed at this hotel for our 2 days 1 night batam trip. We exceptionally loved the location as it was near Nogoya Shopping Center and a few others places like Lucky Plaza. Breakfast was excellent too. WIFI was great but only one person per room can login at one time. TV channels were plenty ranging from news to sports. Service was great considering the staff took less than 5 minutes to reach our room when we requested for some help.

Room Tip: WIFI can only be login one person per room at one time. Call the receptionist to request that more p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    16
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
6
6
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I went with my hubby on a 2D1N Package. Is a 3-star hotel but rooms are nice.We stayed in deluxe room. There's KTV and King SPA/Massage on 4th floor. The price for Massage are not bad.Wifi can get anytime but signal at times slow. Service was good and staff able to understand basic english. Breakfast served with Buffet style which is tasty food.Is suits for Couple and Friends stay.Overall is ok.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

this property has an unassuming facade but take a look inside and you will find a very imviting lobby (by batam standards).

the rooms are huge but there is a little problem with the rooms located at the rear end of the building. most of them look out to a very desolate wall of the neighring block, which i personally found a bit depressing and hence left the curtain drawn all the time to hide the view.some of the other rooms near the karaoke area also can be noisy at night but this should not undermine the good value in terms of the size of the rooms and location of the property.
transportation connectivity is excellent - both taxis and local "angkut" which is good for the adventrous travellers as these converted mini vans can become very full,hot and hence uncomfortable.but they are so cheap...2000RP for rides around the nagoya region.



the furniture a at best functional with little attention to aesthetics.

the amenities provided in the room are sufficient, the bed linen and the towelling being more than adequate.

the staff are an asset of this property. staff morale is high as reflected in their pleasant attitude.

some reviewers of this hotel have adverse comments on the breakfast. i disagree. the breakfast provided is not luxurious but it defenitely more than good to get you going for the day.there is the onsite egg station, cereal station,bread and some danish (with toasting facilities). for the local fare there is congee(rice porridge)with all th econdiments, chicken curry, vegetables and couple of fried noodles. there is also juice station albeit with only one flavour.overall the breakfast is between good and excellent.

overall good value for money and the right place to stay for those interested in shopping ( at the nagoyal hill hyopermart, amere five minute walk0, entertinment like massage or karaoke. night street food is plentiful around the hotel .

Room Tip: as mentioned above if you want good sleep stay away from the karaoke area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Located in a walkable distance to Nagoya Hills Mall and right next it is Batam Lucky Plaza. Lucky Plaza is well known for it's competitive prices in latest gadgets and electronics. It will take approximately 15 minutes to reach Nagoya Hills Shopping Centre. For its location, it is really worth the money.

The services were absolutely great when I was there. Every staff in the hotel, be it the bellboy, front desk receptionists, security guards, chamber-maids and restaurant personnel gave what was expected out of them. Breakfast were simple yet filling.

I got a deluxe room and a family room which was connected to each other. The room was a little too dusty and cigarette smell was strong. There were stains on the bath tub and the toilet door needed an extra effort in order to close it. Other than that, everything was in order.

Wifi was an issue when we arrived. Our devices couldn't be connected to the internet. After a day, the signal was strong but to stream videos was a little draggy. There's a KTV on the 4th floor and a small gym on the second floor. The gym consists of 2 crosstrainers, 2 treadmills (one of them could elevate) and a multigym machine. No one used it and I had the whole gym to myself.

I believe there are better accommodation in this area. The selling point is the proximity to shopping centres. May try this hotel again in future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Brought 10 of my office staff and stayed the weekend in Formosa Hotel, Batam. The hotel's room were clean, though the water pressure in the toilet is low. Breakfast is simple fare. The great selling point is its walking distance to Nagoya Hills shopping centre. Less than 10 minutes walk. The surounding area is safe and street food and even sea-food is plenty near the hotel. Will I stay here again? A definite Yes. Oh yes, should you wish to explore Batam and I say there is more to shopping please use the tourist van service of tel : 628127524945 of Pak Leo, a Chinese Indonesian. For, Rupiah 500,000 he provides you a van, driver and 12 hours of driving around. normanfernandez7168@gmail.com

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

A 2 days 1 night stay on the 16th July with my partner, & we were kind of disappointed with the view of the hotel from the outside. When we reached our destination, I thought the whole place, including the lobby, was almost totally different from the picture we were shown. When we first entered the room, the smell of ciggarette was so strong. Thank God the package we took up was cheap. Furthermore, Nagoya Hills shopping Mall is just 5 mins away via foot.

The inside of the hotel room was huge though, for just the two of us. It's got a living area, a dressing area, and wifi speed was good. Tv was a bit off because there was something wrong with the cable/source at that time. I'm not sure which. There was no window overlooking ANYthing other than the brick wall of the opposite building. That was the downside for us. Unfortunately, it wasn't the only negative thing. When we woke up for our buffet breakfast the next morning, I found a dead cockroach outside the toilet. When I tested the water, the showerhead wasn't working, so we could only take a bath. And a short one at that.

Food was lovely, nonetheless. Watching tv while devouring the authentic meals prepared for the start of the day cheered us up from the morning's episode.

During checkout, the lady who attended to us was okay I guess. She didn't smile like she meant it, and as guests, we can tell. Her service was of average standard, not one which could make someone's day. There is room for so much improvement, I can say.

I've stayed in other places in Batam before this, and I gotta say there are places much better and worth it than this.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed here July 16 for 3 nights on a business.The hotel is near to the centre with the large shopping centre just a 20 mins walk.
Rooms are large with wifi and cleaned every day with change of towels. Hotel Bar Restaurant has a wide seection of Indonesian, chineese, indian and western food. Very cheap too. KTV Bar on the top floor if thats your scene.
Very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: From 3rd and 4th floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Formosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Formosa Hotel

Address: No. A8 City Plaza Nagoya, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 64 hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Formosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Formosa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.