We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Formosa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Formosa Hotel to your Saves list
Formosa Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   City Plaza Nagoya no. A8, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 84 Hotels in Batam
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Functional”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I had a renovated room, so carpet, furnishings look ok (cheap, but ok). Can still see remnants of old days, e.g. wash basin, basin counter, toilet bowl and bathtub.

There is a KTV on 4th floor, better to avoid rooms where you can hear the loud singing.

No issue with cleanliness, although there is a distinct cheap perfume smell in the towels. Breakfast is ok (noodles/ fried rice/ porridge, cereal/ bread etc.)

Not sure if the hotel is (still) under renovation. Can still see old carpets are strewn along the hallway.

Wifi signal is unstable. Connection is slow.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    24
    28
    9
    4
See reviews for
10
10
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

The place is under renovation. The room we are staying is the old room and it really smell bad...the mattress is really hard and me and my hubby keep turning our body to get to sleep... there is water stain on the ceiling.
During buffet breakfast, i saw a small cockroach at one of the tray displaying the bread.
At the reception counter, my uncle want to join in as member of the hotel. The staff cannot find the member card and search for very long.The staff want us to get it later... After our shopping trip, we pass by and ask for it again. The staff again cannot find it. When we request for something else, the staff give us black face and become unfriendly. Before we check out, my uncle request for his member card again and the staff do not know where the other staff place it. My uncle complain on how come you keep misplacing the card etc. And was given a very black face... the staff throw something into the dustbin with force showing that she is not happy and walk into the office. And finally she found the member card and pass to my uncle.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World Wide Traveller
Level Contributor
72 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

I first booked in another hotel but after visiting the room and checking the surrounding I decided to move closer to Nagoya hill and checked in this hotel.
Coming out from a less pleasant place, the hotel seems much better, more welcoming and better located. The hotel is under refurbishment (old but clean rooms, lobby, bathroom etc...) and there where stored carpets in the corridor, but that did not bother me too much as my room was quite OK.
The bed was supper, the pillows great and I slept extremely well! TV although not with a flat screen and available program where OK, good internet connection, friendly staff and decent breakfast made my stay pleasant.
Once renovated should be great!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

We checked in around 3pm. At first, everything seems fine, lobby was nice and all. But to my surprise, the hotel itself smells of staled cigarettes the moment we reached the elevator. The stench was pretty foul. The ventilation was bad & the bedsheet has stains.Then on our last day, we checked out and made our payment. The change was SGD20. My friend requested for the cashier to change to all $5 note. When we went out we realise that the cashier only gave us 2 notes instead of 4. When confronted, she kept denying, saying we only gave her 1 $10 note. My friend couldn't be bothered with the cashier anymore and left the arguement, as we need to catch the ferry. Fine, u want to take our money go ahead, remember, karma retribution ain't gonna be nice.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

I'll be back to this hotel's with my familly everytimes we're visited Batam city, 'coz the location of this hotel's side by side with Batam Lucky Plaza.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

As we have checked in late night (around 10-11 pm) we didn't have much choice.This hotel got very good reviews here that's why we stayed there.To my horror when we got there, it's so old! It smells of of mildew & stale cigarette smoke-must be the curtains and the carpeting.
We were tired and just ordered room service-the food must be very local as my husband and I didn't even finish our food.Then we asked for couple massage.That's the last straw-all the 2 girls who went there to massage us used very cold cream, they kept talking and was touching my husband (the one massaging my husband) in ways other than therapeutic, like they were just playing.The buffet breakfast wasn;t that good either-just something to fill our stomachs with.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

This was my second stay at Formosa Hotel, first being 2 yrs ago. i am quite impressed this time around as the place esp the lobby looked much better and the room much cleaner and yhe bed very comfortable, I came back to this hotel because of its convenient location, close to a big mall, money changers, food outlets etc.
I paid IDR 310k for the room at one of the travel offices as I got off the ferry. I will certainly recommend this hotel for those on golf trips to Batam who will spend most of the day out on the golf courses. I have to mention here that some of the rooms have no windows so ask for one that has them.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Batam hotels
0.7 mi away
Horison Ultima King's Batam
1.3 mi away
Goodway Hotel - Batam
Goodway Hotel - Batam
#8 of 21 in Nagoya
3.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
1.6 mi away
Swiss-Inn Batam
Swiss-Inn Batam
#14 of 84 in Batam
3.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
89 Hotel
89 Hotel
#18 of 84 in Batam
3.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
1.1 mi away
Triniti Hotel Batam
Triniti Hotel Batam
#9 of 21 in Nagoya
3.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Batam City Hotel
Batam City Hotel
#4 of 21 in Nagoya
4.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Formosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Formosa Hotel

Address: City Plaza Nagoya no. A8, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 84 Hotels in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Formosa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Formosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Formosa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.