We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Towels dirty - bring Your own towels and toiletries” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sijori Resort Batam

Save Saved
You added Sijori Resort Batam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sijori Resort Batam
Jl Ir Sutami No 6 | Sekupang, Riau Islands Province 099253, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 71 hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Towels dirty - bring Your own towels and toiletries”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Bought a $69 Groupon including 1 night deluxe room stay, ferry, pickup, and 1 hr massage,1/2 hr spa. Read the reviews before going so kind of prepared. Place decent and nice view from the room up on the hills. not suitable for old folks as the climb might be too steep for them. Did see cleaning if the pool and a few swimming. The only thing is that one of the towels was filled with cigarette stain and both are obviously very old and yellow. Regretted not bringing my own towels although it has been mentioned a few times. Resort taxi is expensive, double of outside taxi. From resort to Batam centre square at Nagoya was $120K RP but returning was only $60 K by hailing outside taxi. There are outside taxis by just walking to the main roads. Breakfast only 3 choices - fried rice/noodle/vermicelli with egg, fishcake and sausages or toasts with fried egg, sausages, baked beans and fries or egg with toast. Room abit dusty because it's carpeted and not cleaned often. Mattress old and I could feel the uneven coils. Gym room run down but equipment looks ok.
great price for secluded retreat but bring own towel and toiletries and book own transport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    19
    14
    13
    30
See reviews for
7
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

$59 on GroupOn, sounds like a good deal. When we were at the reception, we noticed that there were nobody else except for us. The staff looked weirdly friendly. The whole place is so huge, and empty. We had to climb up the hill to get to our rooms. There were 4 of us, and we had 2 rooms, but we decided to just stay in one. We opened up the room we were not gonna use to take some pillows and blankets, then locked it up and proceed back to our room. The blocks where you will be staying is up in the hills, covered by trees which is very creepy. We went down for a swim with a couple of dead frogs and insects.. filthy pool. During the afternoon we went for massage near Nagoya. Had seafood dinner and hail a cab to return to the resort. The front entrance was closed so the taxi driver had to go by the back. He drove up this dark and spooky one way road up to the hill and we alighted there. So basically, we were just behind our block, when we alighted we saw many muslim tombs around the trees. Tombs with white cloth tied on them. We were spooked as hell. We didn't notice in the day though. So basically Sijori is built on/beside a small muslim cemetery. We got back to the room, played mahjong, until about plus am. We head a door banging noise coming from our other room's balcony. We ignored it and continue playing mahjong. It went on every 15-20 minutes and it got louder and louder. We decided to check it out ( don't ask me why), We unlocked the door and first thing we saw is, the whole room was in a mess(no it wasn't like this in the day). The balcony doors were opened(Do not tell me the wind blow and the chair fell on the floor its ridiculous). We quickly locked it up when we turned around to go back to our room, there was a howling sound. we didn't sleep until 6 am that night. I will tell all my friends not to visit this place ever. Good luck if you are going there. Bring your amulets, rosaries or whatever.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

One of the worst choices I've made for travel.. It was just 2D1N so I thought there is no need to check on tripadvisor - totally regretted it! We are a party of 6 on this trip, we felt the creeps on our way to the room, passing the swimming pool. It looks like it hasn't been maintained, the water was still, looks murky. The room was very chalet style with poor reception. Some of my friends has goosebumps when we entered but said whatever was in there left after awhile.. We didn't have any real "encounters" probably cos we were a big group.. We got connecting rooms and left the connecting door opened.

No fridge, no safe, bad tv reception. Heater and aircon was working fine though. Bed linen was clean (or at least it smells pretty fresh to me).

Breakfast the following morning was not very pleasant - 4 main food choices (fried rice, beehoon, sausage, veggie), plus plain toast and 2 types of fruits. Houseflies everywhere. When we finished our meal, we noticed another table had fruit juice delivered to them. Not sure if its on request only (no where written that juice was available). If you are hoping for yogurt, omelette kinda breakfast, fat hope!

Btw, we didn't dare boil any tap water. Just buy mineral water from the supermarket at Nagoya please!

In addition to the above, the resort is not located near to Nagoya Hills and they do not have free shuttle. Taxi trip arranged by the resort was $12 per ride, we insisted to pay in rupiah (90k x2 cabs in total). Quite a rip off if you ask me. DON'T promise the driver that you will call him for the return trip and feint innocence if he asks you to pay for the return trip in advance! Just pay the single-trip, smile and get off!

To sum up, if you are just looking for a VERY cheap deal for just a 2D1N trip with big group of friends and don't mind poorly furnished rooms, bad location, no in-room wifi, go ahead! But if you are a couple looking for romantic (or even slightly romantic) getaway, steer clear!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Now, before I do start,I did go in to Trip advisor to check out the comments left by the other guests and I did prepare myself for the worst.
It was 3days/2 nights trip.
It was enjoyable and I would give it a 9/10 rating.
Let's start with the rooms.
I had a family room and its had 2 single beds with a Queen size bed.3 of us in total n we had a kid who was 8 years of age.
Aircon was good but I was informed that the fridge was down.
Breakfast is served daily for those who use vouchers..
It was healthy..
There is a small golf range, a swimming pool and a pond where you may be able to spot guppies.
For me, the only killer was climbing up the stairs and going to the rooms.(I'm not athletically inclined).
It's like I got to really be near to a jungle.
5-7 mins taxi ride from Sekupang Ferry Terminal.
Now if you are there to shop, please take note that you will need a TAXI to bring you from hotel to downtown and back.
The helpful staff will help you call for the cab.
The staff there are very friendly and cheerful.Service oriented and they will go out of their way to make things more easier.
For couples who want a massage, it's SGD 15 each..
I totally enjoyed every moment of it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I bought frm groupon.cheap deal..so i tot y not..despite all the review..
Day 1 -being welcome by our driver polite mr zainal..check in n settle ourselves n well the room is normal..not as clean n poor condition of the aircon..n provide standing fan wif very noisy n dusty ..well its true tat the telephone is not working n.at night turn to b very spooky due to lack of lights ard..swimming pool we didnt manage to swim coz the submisible pump was not on..qell it look abit dirty though..ao we didnot to take the chances..swimming pool.toilet is the worst part of all the places..i have to wipe the seat for 4times to make it clean..gosh its was like few mths nvr clean..
We went up to our room tat located uphil n ya..wif steeps stairs..not suitable for children..
Day 2-breakfast was ok...not like wat they post the reviews..simple n normal..
If i would given a chance to come here..i hope the bosses in this resort will sort out wat they can do..actually the place is good only need to hv a renovation n promotion..
The last part..the staff here all polite!!!
I would definitely will come bk again
i hope they will hv a good reno...soon

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I bought the groupon deal and visit this resort with my friends.This is our first time to go to batam. We like the place too much. The location is perfect. Only 5 minutes from sekupang jetty to Sijori resort. The staff are very friendly. The food is also nice. Although the rooms are located in hillside, but it is spacious and clean. Every room has balcony. Oh, yeah, you must try their massage. It is value for the money.

We also use their 7-seat van go to nagoya hills for shopping. You also can take taxi going there. Anything we just check with the receptionist and they are so patient to explain. So lovely people. We will come back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Thrums up!

I purchased vouchers through groupon.sg and stayed at Sijori Resort Batam in April with my friends. We like the place very much. It is really a big and relaxing place. We can do a lot of things there. Big swimming pool, fishing pond, golf driving range, 18-hold mini-golf etc..

We also do massage. Wow, so cool. You must try!!!!

The staff is very friendly and helpful. Food is nice. It is also good venue for events, family gathering, company or church retreat. We will come back soon.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on second floor. Nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sijori Resort Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sijori Resort Batam

Address: Jl Ir Sutami No 6 | Sekupang, Riau Islands Province 099253, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sijori Resort Batam is south of Singapore and just 40 mins ferry ride from Harbour Front Ferry Terminal. It has 30 guestrooms, a spa sanctuary, 24-bay golf driving range, swimming pool, fishing pond, restaurant, function rooms, karaoke room and archery built on approximately 4.5 hectares of land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sijori Resort Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sijori Resort Batam Hotel Batam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sijori Resort Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.