We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place for Holiday!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sijori Resort Batam

Save Saved
You added Sijori Resort Batam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sijori Resort Batam
Jl Ir Sutami No 6 | Sekupang, Riau Islands Province 099253, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 68 hotels in Batam
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Place for Holiday!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Thrums up!

I purchased vouchers through groupon.sg and stayed at Sijori Resort Batam in April with my friends. We like the place very much. It is really a big and relaxing place. We can do a lot of things there. Big swimming pool, fishing pond, golf driving range, 18-hold mini-golf etc..

We also do massage. Wow, so cool. You must try!!!!

The staff is very friendly and helpful. Food is nice. It is also good venue for events, family gathering, company or church retreat. We will come back soon.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on second floor. Nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    19
    14
    13
    30
See reviews for
7
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

my boyfriend bought a groupon deal - 1 night stay plus a 90 min massage. I mean, it can't go too wrong right?

Totally wrong.

First, the location isn't good. It's not close to any places of leisure (eg. shopping mall). it's 15min car ride from sekupang terminal to the resort..but probably 25min car ride to the batam shopping centre. Furthermore, the resort doesn't provide free shuttle services. You need to pay 12SGD /way for a taxi to drive you to the shopping mall. 24SGD for back and fro.

Second, this resort is extremely sparse - and perhaps badly structured. The resort rooms are located on a hill and you have to "trek" up flights of stairs before you get a glimpse of your resort. NO KIDDING. If you have difficulties climbing flights if stairs, avoid this place at all cost.

Third, the amenities are pretty bad. The gym looks very run-down and unreliable. Swimming pool is perhaps a huge white elephant, looks nice but you probably won't want to swim in a pool and have all the workers staring at you. The massage is bad. it is disappointing.. we paid for 90min of massage but only had 30 minutes of hands work instead. In addition, this is the first massage room that doesn't have air-con. it's humid...and there were lizards mate-calling all the time. ohhh it's so disappointing considering that it was probably the supposed highlight of my trip.

Fourth (yes i can't stop), the food is avearge at best. It's priced an average of 7sgd per dish but quality is like your typical "zhi char" store in singapore. Sad.

Fifth, did i mention eerie? LOL, because my boyfriend and I felt exremely uncomfortable when it felt like we were the only souls in this very sparse resort, the only people living on the hill. Jeez, i was secretly dancing in joy when i saw a couple more people at the cafeteria on the next morning.

Sixth, POWER SHORTAGE WHEN IT RAINED. sigh. We're just glad that it happened in the morning and it wasn't that dark. If not..

Seventh, the towels were stained. SIGHHH. WHY NO CLEAN TOWELS??? Isn't this the BASIC requirement of running a hospitality business?!

i don't know what to say. It is true that this place has potential but the owners really do not know how to manage this.

NEVER coming back again. unless you want to buy a bad gift for a friend ;)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I recently went to Sijori with my girlfriend because it came as a resort stay + spa package on Groupon. I have to admit that it was a mistake on my part on not checking the reviews before I went. But nonetheless I hope that my experience will help others who intend to go there.

In summary, the trip was horrible. Easily the worst resort stay I have ever had in my life. What went wrong with the trip?

- The resort is in the middle of nowhere
- It is very very badly maintained i.e. long grass, algae on walls, construction materials lying on the ground
- there was a blackout (no, i'm not kidding) when it rained heavily for about 30 mins
- aisle outside rooms on certain blocks were flooded due to rain
- towels in the room had brown/black stains on them
- the showerhead was leaky and dripped water
- had to climb multiple steep flights of stairs to the rooms
- the resort probably had 20 other customers only, which made it very errie considering that it was big and was adjacent to a foresty area
- telephone line did not work all the time, and when it did, no one picked up the call when we tried calling reception
- the spa was only done for half the time that was stipulated on the package and it was not in an air-conditioned place (just a room/hut with ceiling fans)

I actually felt relieved whenever I got to see other customers walking around. It highlights how empty this in-the-middle-of-nowhere resort was other than having its own staff.

All in all, it was a memorable trip for all the wrong reasons. For anyone interested in going for this, my sincere advice is to not do so.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Looks lovely but very run-down. Needs a major facelift to be really attractive. Of the few facilities, only the pool is satisfactory; the others are largely derelict and don't work.

Rooms are a longish, badly-lit walk up a steep hill, so only for those able-bodied. There are facilities for making hot drinks, but the resort assumes that everyone likes 3-in-1 coffee in small quantities, as only two sachets at a time are provided. No tea, no sugar, no milk, so if you want any of those things, take your own with you.

Breakfast is poor with few choices and badly cooked, with toast being available only through a single 2-slot toaster that has to be the slowest machine on the planet. There was an increasingly long and impatient queue to use it. My partner is Hindu but the Bee Hoon they served her for breakfast had beef sausage in it, so she sent it back. It's replacement had no beef sausage in it, but tasted the same as the previous plateful, so I'm sure the kitchen staff just picked the sausage out of her serving and returned it to her. Certainly, it was not freshly made. Don't they care that this is the equivalent of serving pork to a Muslim? Calls for Jihad have been made for less good reasons.

Our dinner was very nice indeed, although we did order it specially earlier in the day to be sure we got what we wanted at an acceptable price. Resort does not naturally cater for broad tastes or special dietary needs, such as no beef, no pork, no sugar, vegetarian only, allergies, etc. Not the manager's fault, though, so don't blame him or the staff - they there are very good indeed: very friendly, deal well with awkward customers and do all they can to help within the limitations imposed on them, but it appears that they're up against the owner's business policy, whatever that may be. In short, the place falls down on basic hospitality and food quality/range. If the food was good and met even basic expectations, almost all other faults could be forgiven. Direct any feedback to the Sijori Resort office at Harbourfront Centre, Singapore for the attention of the owners.

Rooms are a good size and clean but suffer from a shortage of hot water. We were initially shown to 3 rooms and changed to a 4th one the following day because of the cold water, and noisy aircon that kept us awake all night.

Our visit there was for a quick, last-minute break, bought on a Groupon deal. It included ferry both ways from Singapore and free shuttle transfer to the resort and breakfast. It did not include the seaport taxes of $20 per person at Singapore end or $7 per person at Batam end or $18 visa for me. Nor did it include the $12 each way taxi fares to go anywhere, should you want to do anything more than swim or walk in gardens. Batam is cheap: paying Singapore prices at this resort is something of a rip-off, especially given the condition of the place. Our "cheap" 3D2N stay cost S$300 before we'd even bought anything other than food, bed and transport. There are much better places for the money, but I hope the owners put Sijori in proper order and give proper service to its customers, rather than simply taking money from them while giving relatively little in return. It's a nice place with real potential that's not being realised.

Room Tip: Check the view as some balconies look out straight into a hill. Check the hot water works and the ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Before i went to sijori ,i read review on trip advisor before i left , i didnt had a choice before it was an impromptu decision made my my friend as she wanted a getaway fast. so she booked the groupon sijori resort.

we arrived to sekupang ferry terminal around 11.40batam time .the moment we stepped out of the arrival hall, there was a taxi there to pick us up, like as if he knew we were coming and drove us to sijori for free!

i thought to myself "hmm maybe sijori isnt so bad as what is written on trip advisor?"

i was wrong!

the moment we arrived at the resort ,it looks very run down , walls with algae ,broken cement slabs, i tried to comfort myself , c'mon it is still a resort, dont judge its cover.

we checked in they gave us our room key number 265.

we asked how to get to our room?

i quote !

"go down the stairs ,turn left till u see the swimming pool ,continue walking until u reach the bottom of the hill , from there u have to find your room"

i followed the instructions but when i reached the bottom of the hill ,the steps were so freaking steep , really practically climbing a hill @12 noon and freaking hot!

we finally reached the top and found blocks of resort looking houses like , downtown east two levels, ours was on the second floor , climb again! i insert the key and enter the room ...

the first thing i noticed , there was a 5 cm crack or lobang in the balcony door ,(getaway for mozzies)! , i proceeded to switch on the air con , my female friend used the toilet , after her was me , the moment i came out , i heard dripping sounds , i turned and realised the aircon was dripping!, i picked up the phone and dail for operator , the telephone spoil!, i pulled out the drawer out which the telephone was sitting on and found out the telephone is not connected ,there wasnt any phone line point to start with ! just a bunch of wires!

she switched on the TV , and found out is runs on antenna , and certain positions while lying on the bed will hinder the transmission . AMAZING RITE?

i will just list the rubbish on at one shot

-spoil aircon
-cracked balcony door
-spoil telephone
-antenna TV
-far from counter
- algae in swimming pool
-massage table have many many many many ants
-massage area hotter than the sun

-WE WERE THE ONLY CUSTOMERS ON THAT DAY! EERIE


my advise , never ever go this resort

i ended up spending more money to harris resort and booked a room

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

NOT recommending anyone to this resort!!

The facilities at the resort are so badly maintained that we could not enjoy ourselves to it. Eg: the equipments at the small gym have all been dismantled leaving only a station bicyle with a layer of dust on it for use. The swimming pool have become a large aquarium for tadpoles to live in. The bedroom have mossies flying around and we need to burn our mosquitoe coil all day.

Getting out the resort is a chore as we need to walk up and down the hill. Since it is located far away from any shopping malls or resturants, we ended up paying $12sgd taxi fare for each location the taxi driver dropped us at. Very expensive.

One thing to praise is that the staff is friendly and helpful but I will NEVER AGAIN return to the resort unless there have been huge improvement to the maintenance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Location: Good, near Sekupang ferry terminal. They provide free transfer to and from resort.

Service: The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Massage: Thumbs up! Must try it.

This Balinese style resort is very relaxing. It is good for a short get-away for your family and friends. The food is nice and the environment is cozy. We will come back again!

Room Tip: Choose the room on level 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Batam hotels
Quiet, Beach, M...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Batam View Beach Resort
Luxury, Quiet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Nongsa Point Marina & Resort
Pool, Charming...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Batam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Hotel Novotel Batam
Hotel Novotel Batam
#19 of 68 in Batam
3.5 of 5 stars 323 reviews
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Harmoni Suites Hotel
Harmoni Suites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Nagoya
4.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Free Parking, P...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Nagoya Mansion Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sijori Resort Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sijori Resort Batam

Address: Jl Ir Sutami No 6 | Sekupang, Riau Islands Province 099253, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sijori Resort Batam is south of Singapore and just 40 mins ferry ride from Harbour Front Ferry Terminal. It has 30 guestrooms, a spa sanctuary, 24-bay golf driving range, swimming pool, fishing pond, restaurant, function rooms, karaoke room and archery built on approximately 4.5 hectares of land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sijori Resort Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sijori Resort Batam Hotel Batam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sijori Resort Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.