We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service, nice view from room, but run-down resort..” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sijori Resort Batam

Save Saved
You added Sijori Resort Batam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sijori Resort Batam
Jl Ir Sutami No 6 | Sekupang, Riau Islands Province 099253, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 68 hotels in Batam
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, nice view from room, but run-down resort..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Fantastic service from the staff and reception; very friendly folks and extremely helpful.

But the resort looks very run-down. Right from the entrance to the rooms and pool. Algae at bottom and side of pool. Room was clean but with slightly moldy carpets and badly needs overall renovation and new furniture to complement the resort's most valuable assets - the staff. Good view from room though.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    19
    14
    13
    30
See reviews for
7
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

If there is a lesson I learnt from this experience, it would be to do research first before purchasing any deals online. My horror started when I googled the reviews the day before my trip.

First, what the other reviewers say about the Mosquitos is true. The whole resort is a breeding ground for Mosquitos so be prepared, bring lots of insect repellent. There are cracks along the balcony door so you may take another reviewer's suggestion of stuffing it with tissues soaked with repellent. I was itching all over during the night and didn't know whether it was due to bed bugs or Mosquitos.

Secondly, the towels are filthy and there are mysterious stains. Ditto the pillow cases. Bring at least two towels. 1 for shower time and the next for laying on your pillow.

The resort is rather badly lighted at night so bring along either a torch light or use your handphone while walking around the hotel grounds.

Next, go early for breakfast. You might find yourself out of food at certain points. The fried noodles (which was the tastiest and oilest) ran out first followed by toast.

In any case, the only saving grace of this resort is the friendly and hospitable staff. Most can't speak English except for Ali at the reception counter. He was very patient and responsive to our requests and that helped make the stay a teensy bit more enjoyable.

All in all, the resort is run down and badly maintained so lower your expectations. After all, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

I arrive sijori on 2nd august 4-5 plus.
Although from the lobby to the room
Need 5-7 mins. But it is nice to have a walk with your love ones :)
The cafe menu should be change n update.
The next day morning when my boyfriend wants to take a shower, the water run halfway and stop. The water came back after awhile but in brown colour. No idea why is that so.
If the water is 24hr running and clear , I might still consider to go there again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Me and my boyfriend bought the deal online to this resort, just purely based on the pictures provided on the deal website. TO OUR HORROR, the place was very extremely run down when we reached. there is not proper check in area, it was just a counter beside the so-called restaurant.

It was raining heavily when we reached the hotel, another horror came when the staff told us to 'climb a mountain' with an umbrella, so what he meant was 'go outside into the rain to get to your room'. So choiceless, we headed towards our room, in the rain, climbing a steep mountain full of stairs. the drainage was along the way, so imagine the foul smell coming from the drainage despite partial stench covered by the rain.

finally we found our room, which does not have a proper entrance, just a small corridor beside the stairs. We stepped into the room that has this mouldy carpet smell, dark room without proper lighting, balcony door that has cracks and allowed mosquitoes to fly in (we used tissues dipped in mosquito repellant and stuffed into the cracks) and the toilet was dirty with rust all over. To make it worse, the walls was full of water stains, tv was totally not working (not reception at all).

After the rain stopped, we decided to go try the facilities as stated on their website. The swimming pool was full of algae and moulds and have dirty solid substances floating around. The so-called driving range was small with very old golf equipments. The pool table was quite worn out. The hotel staff told us the archery was on maintenance but we went and saw the archery place full of weeds and long grasses grew around them. This does not look like its on maintenance.

We were given complimentary massage from the hotel included in the deal, the massage place was a small hut that looked like a toilet beside the pool, non air-conditioned, fully of mosquitoes, smell of decomposed wood. The massage was bad, the masseuse were like purely rolling their hands all over you, ensuring u have oil everywhere on your body.

Karaoke room full of oldies. bad screening and sofas. Fitness centre was totally locked, no keys to it, the equipment are dismantled and full of dust and rust.

The dinner and breakfast at the cafe was.... not a cafe place, just a small area blocked up for food. not much selection (totally no selection). doesn't look like a restaurant or cafe at all.

Overall, if they did proper maintenance, the 'resort' would have been acceptable. No maintenance done causing the resort to become worse than a hotel. BUT their service was excellent! the hotel was so bad, i didn't even bother to take photos...

Room Tip: go to another hotel would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Purchased this trip for $59/pax from deal.com.sg
Weekend charge: $15/pax
Taxes: $27/pax.

Based on the pricing, my comments for this resort will be slightly above average.

Rooms:
Good - The room is rather big and spacious with 2 queen size bed.
Some reviews mentioned that tap water is dirty but actually it was not.

Bad - There are holes in the door from the balcony. I have seen some reviews about mosquitoes in the resort and I have burned lots of Mosquitoes coil at the balcony.
No mosquitoes visitation in the night.
I dislike the arrangement of adjusting hot and cold water tap to get a good warm temperature - You will never get it right.
Water distribution strength varies throughout the day.
The rooms are located at the top of the hill which require min 100 steps climbing to reach your room. Lack of lighting is true and you have to bring your own touch light on some area.



Resort facilities:
Swimming Pool: We have seen some worker cleaning the swimming pool. However the water looks green especially on the deep pool end. Not sure if its the water, algae or was it bcos of the green tiles?

Meals:
There is only one restaurant which can sit around 50-70 paxs (maximum).
The options for food are limited.
Each dishes cost around SGD $5-7 (Fried rice to western food).
There are no lunch buffet, thus you have to order from the limited menu.

Dinner buffet was not bad and above expectation. Favourite dishes are curry chicken which ran out within 30 mins. The kitchen staffs did replenish but was never enough.
Their fried chicken is good too.

Nagoya Hill shopping centre:
There are 2 bus trip per day to Nagoya shopping centre.
You can purchase your biscuits, drinks from the shopping centre.
You can buy handphone cases there too.

The exciting part during our jouney to Sijori Resort is that you can purchase some fire works (RP30,000) and lit up these fireworks at Sijori Resort. (I have asked for permission to lit the firework in the designated area)

Golf:
The golf area is poorly maintained. You can play golf at their "Driving range" at SGD$6 for 100 balls. For the price of SGD $6, its quite worth it.

Massage:
Massage is just So-So. Nothing special.
Some reviews that mention the massage ladies burp - She was so right.
She burp during the whole massage time.
Massage area was not air-conditioned too.

Overall services:
Even though the facilities are limited and not properly maintain, the customer services at the resort is good (4 out of 5). They are always smiling and assisting you. Suppose to check out at 12pm but they extend our checkout time till 330pm.

What I like best from Sijori - Can lit fireworks there. Good customer services.
What was not good: Massage service, lack of facilities.

Room Tip: There are several drilled holes in the room and massage area. I was very cautious and check all th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

We came here on the 29th june. Ah yes, we did read the reviews about this place like a few days before we came. We were quite surprised aft reading it and wouldn't expect much over there. 

It took about 45 mins to sekupang ferry terminal and about 5mins to the resort. To my surprised, there were only 3 couples including us. And we have to squeeze inside the mini van. Once we reached, i was shocked that the place was exactly how the ppl describe in the reviews. Our first impression was like -_-!  Went to the recept counter and they gave us instruction how to get to our room. So we walked pass the pool (which is true till now no one swim, and i wonder why) , climb up the stairs, walk along the walk way that has so many holes and finally reached our room 263. 

Room was big enough for the both of us. The first thing i do when i open the door was to check the toilet and water, because i was very particular about it. Tap water was slightly dirty, toilet bowl water is totally yellowish, toilet is not really clean. The room air-conditioner sucks! Really. Thats the main thing. 

Massage was good. But the Environment not good. So much for a sparadised  when its just a small kampong house. I don't know what lotion they use to massage but the smell really bad. And its very oily. And the lady who massage my fiancee keeps burping. Very irritating. 

During night time, there were not much lights around the place. Very dark and luckily my fiancee brought his phone along so he switched on the torch light from his phone. Its was very quiet n creepy when we were making our way up the stairs to our room. We cant sleep at night because its really hot. We came to an extend to shift the bed nearer to the air-con then we can sleep. In the middle of the night theres someone knocking at our door. Twice ehh. Not funny. Really. 

2nd day, breakfast wasnt really good. He showed us the menu but only left fried rice. Whats the point of showing us the menu then ? Lunch? Even worst, white rice, fried chicken and some veggie n cilli sauce. And we were like seriously? Oh not to forget, serve with ice water and the glass is dirty. I can cook better than this man! 

We checked out after lunch and thats the end of our trip there. Will not go there anymore. Seriously. From far it looks like some kind of a haunted place. So much for a 4 star resort la! We rate it as strictly 1 star resort. Nothing much to do there. The facilities there really need to be renovated. No one using it at all. Other than that, its far from nagoya. Took us around 30 mins to reach there by taxi and the fare was like S$22 for one way. So expensive!!!! So please people, dont waste your money on this resort even if the deals are cheap.

Sincerely, 

Mr. & Mrs. M

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Bought an online deal for 2D 1N trip. The pictures of the hotel looks promising but when I reached there, I was totally disappointed. The whole place look run down and no maintainence was done at all.

The dining area was small and the provided dinner and breakfast was limited to only 2 or 3 dishes.

The swimming pool is big but looks dirty. No one was in the pool during my stay.

The rooms are situated on a hill top so there is some climbing to do. It was not really sheltered all the way hence it became troublesome when it rained.

The room is big but run down. It looks like those haunted rooms in the movies. The walls looks dirty. The TV is ok but limited channels to watch. The toilet is big but nothing to wow about as well.

Given the choice, I think I will give this hotel a miss even though it is supposed to be a 4-Star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sijori Resort Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sijori Resort Batam

Address: Jl Ir Sutami No 6 | Sekupang, Riau Islands Province 099253, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sijori Resort Batam is south of Singapore and just 40 mins ferry ride from Harbour Front Ferry Terminal. It has 30 guestrooms, a spa sanctuary, 24-bay golf driving range, swimming pool, fishing pond, restaurant, function rooms, karaoke room and archery built on approximately 4.5 hectares of land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sijori Resort Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sijori Resort Batam Hotel Batam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sijori Resort Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.