We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a nice place for holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sijori Resort Batam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sijori Resort Batam to your Saves list
Sijori Resort Batam
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl Ir Sutami No 6 | Sekupang, Riau Islands Province 099253, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 77 Hotels in Batam
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It is a nice place for holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

I went to SIJORI BATAM for a short getaway with my friends on 1st May 2011 and it is really a nice place for us to relax. The staff are friendly and helpful. Food was nice and the rooms are clean and big. Each room has a balcony. We went for the massage spa in the resort and we found it relaxing and cheap.We would come back again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    19
    15
    13
    31
See reviews for
8
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

I and three of my foreign friends are planning to visit Batam and one of my friends actually recommended this "Sijori Hotel" as it is good and affordable which is exactly what we are looking for! So we book a family room and everything is going very well. We are welcomed by 3 friendly staff. The hotel offers personalized service, the staffs even remember my name which is very hard to pronounce haha! One of the staffs wake us up in the morning as during conversations, we told them that all 3 of us are sound-sleepers. Overall, it is a cozy, relaxing environment to spent your time with. We really like the 3 hrs Balinese massage which is very relaxing! The swimming pool is extra big. The place is large and green! A very sweet relaxing trip. A perfect runaway from busy city life. We will come back again for sure! C ya Sijori!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

This place is in a serious downward spiral with obvious management reluctance to spend any decent amount of money besides a new coat of paint in an attempt to gloss over 10, 20? years of use.

How would they ever hope to make any money out of this is a mystery.

The pipes are just about rusted through and good for folks who are looking for serious iron supplementation/poisoning in their drinking water. Solution is to run taps at full blast for half an hour. You really can't blame the housekeeping staff. It is their senior management who deserves the broom stick. I will gladly hold them by the neck and make them drink that water. See if they like it a single bit. Well we do provide complimentary drinking water, they cried. Well, put them in the shower and see if they like being dirtier and smelling of rust and iron. Some of the sink piping are choked and you will get a basin full of rust water for whatever enjoyment the senior Sijori management seems to think you need.

Air conditioning is on its last legs. The compressors are all rusted through and needless to say, they don't work, unless you are one of the lucky ones. It usually takes what, 8, 10 years for them to reach that condition and the real heroes there are the air con tech staff who work with only screwdrivers and hammers. Not that I give them any credit beyond that. They are supposed to make sure air conditioning units are in working condition before guests arrive, not after.

The swimming pool. Yes. Cleanliness. Well. Obviously they do not have the staff to clean the pool besides simply pumping water in. Dirt, sediments at the bottom of the pool, milky murky still water just waiting to give anyone a vicious skin infection. Do not swim in the pool. Do not touch the water. If it gets in your eye, see a doctor immediately.

The reception desk. Be very careful. If you are lucky, you get what is expected. If you meet someone else...you have to be very, very careful. You may be better off calling a batam taxi driver / company yourself.

Mosquitoes - this is a place where you need to bring heavy duty insect repellent. It's probably a miracle that dengue fever, malaria and other such fun assorted diseases are not rife yet.

Restaurant? - We escaped to Nagoya for all meals. Not taking chances with food poisoning.

At least the beds are made, clean and did not give us bed bugs. But given the way they store their extra beds and mattresses, I am really surprised and remain wondering to this very day. It must be magic.

Telephone. Fun. Wrong telephones in rooms leading to folks calling the wrong room all the time and pissing people off, phones mysteriously get switched off at night / early morning, leading to folks having to bang loudly on doors and waking everyone up. Just love involuntary morning calls.

Fortunately nothing went missing. Not anything important to lose anyway. I keep my passport, wallet and all valuables on me at all times.

You know it is bad when even your batam taxi driver suggested a better place to stay.

Sad, sad place run by some out of touch and foolish management who thinks they can build a business model out of this.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

Went there recently with some relatives for a getaway from the city life. Mainly we stayed in the resort and it was an enjoyable experience. If you're looking for a more rustic, laid back, relaxing getaway, this is ideal. We hung out at the swimming pool, went for massage, sat around drinking tea and enjoying the view! Good for family to get together for some down time.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

I was expecting a nice golf weekend with my husband and when we checked into the room, I was so ghastly disgusted by the room. There were lots of mosquitoes, the sheets had stains and the air-condition was not working properly. Moreover, the door to the balcony had holes and I am very sure, even if I killed the mosquitoes in the room, more will enter from there. There was also a big brown stain on the carpet that looked very suspiciously blood-like. The lampshades were so old and 1 of them was put together with masking tape to hold it together. Before we went to the room, the reception even told us that the resort's phone lines were down and we cannot call to the reception from the room. What is this? Even the phone is not working. Why am I paying more than S$100 for a place to stay that is in such a horrid state? I was in the room for a mere 20 minutes and decided to take the ferry home on my own. It has spoilt my weekend and I really wonder, how can this place continue to function in such a state.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

Staff are providing good service. Walking to room is little bit tough. And okay for gents. Inside room, its really good. Neat and Clean. But inside toilet looks clean. But most of the accessories are not working properly. They do have Driving range, which is good. Have swimming pool and other games (less).

Not bad to stay one time. But can't see rush in Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2009

Stayed here for romantic holiday with my girlfriend but it turned into a nightmare!!
Everything was RUN DOWN!!!!.. OLD and SMELLY!!!!

Lots of mosquitoes and lots of lizards. You also need to be a mountain climber to climb back to your room as the rooms are up a very steep hill from the reception/entrance

.not only do you get ripped off by the Taxi drivers normal charge the Resort will put their charge on top for calling the taxi or to do anything for you

The final bill was more than expected as advertised. not only do they rip you off here but they had a promotion written only in english for nearly 1/3 of the cost on their counter and then claimed it was for indonesians only, I didnt think indonesian used english?? it was not written in Indonesian!!!!

Mini golf ??? Well if you like playing on cement??
Gym was all rusty...
Meeting room....

Very far from everywhere...

Pictures on the website look like 5 stars but it is nothing of the kind.. Would have been taken maybe 60 yrs ago but it is run down and you will want to leave.. Ohwell..

RIP OFF>> BAD>>DIRTY>>

DONT GO DONT GO DONT GO DONT GO!!!

YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sijori Resort Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sijori Resort Batam

Address: Jl Ir Sutami No 6 | Sekupang, Riau Islands Province 099253, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sijori Resort Batam 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sijori Resort Batam is south of Singapore and just 40 mins ferry ride from Harbour Front Ferry Terminal. It has 30 guestrooms, a spa sanctuary, 24-bay golf driving range, swimming pool, fishing pond, restaurant, function rooms, karaoke room and archery built on approximately 4.5 hectares of land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sijori Resort Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sijori Resort Batam Hotel Batam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sijori Resort Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.