We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stay that make up for the tour short fall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments

Save Saved
You added Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Engku Putri No. 1 | Batam Center, Riau Islands Province 29400, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 64 hotels in Batam
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A stay that make up for the tour short fall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

hotel stay was included in a promo that bought off groupon. as we had a very terrible day tour ( we reach batam time at 9am but only set off at 1230pm and other hiccups came along), we did not have high expectation for the accommodation that the tour had arranged for us. Plus reading the past review on TA, we just kept our finger crossed.

probably due to the hiccups we experienced, the tour guide upgrade our room from superior to deluxe.

we were quite impressed with the standard of the room, the the overall cleanliness of the room.

basically we are non smokers, but we did not request for non smoking room. after all, from our experience, some smokers still smoke in the non smoking room if they are allocated to stay in that room. ( no offence to readers, just a general view)

cigarette smell was not overwhelming pungent, there was a lingering smell however still acceptable when the ventilator and air con is switched on.

no terrible stains found on sheets, though bed a little hard but they have soft comfy pillows :) had quite a good rest.

yes, if you are intending to use their bathtub, there is a high chance of getting the 'yellow' water other reviewers were commenting about. we noticed that we had this issue when we tried to fill the water more than 50% of the tub. hence, we top the water 1/3 at a time. issue settled. no yellow water.

we had experience such 'yellow' water incidents at other hotels too ( in other countries).. so we are pretty ok with it.

however, i believe there was a sewage issue in our toilet as there was a pungent sewage smell expelled every now and then. issue will be resolved when you switched on the ventilator in the toilet continuously.

overall, housekeeping did a pretty good job in maintenance of room.

we ordered room service for dinner as mentioned by other reviewers, location is pretty isolated hard to get food once out of the hotel.

reception/ room service ladies on the line have a good command of english, service was quick and server was polite. food was pretty good as well.

it happened that the evening we stayed, there was a wedding reception at the roof top pool. so we could not access the pool at night. we tried to go in the morning but it was raining :( guess not much luck for us to use the pool :/

breakfast spread was not that fantastic, but sufficient to fill us.

for a 2d1n stay, i will recommend and be back if there is a chance.

Room Tip: get a deluxe over a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    79
    46
    13
    11
See reviews for
39
54
2
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

It's my first trip to Batam island. Being just a 45 mins boat ride away from Singapore island didnt prove to what we thought would be plain sailing! After having our bags scanned n passports stamped we found it's quite a hassle getting through the weekend crowds at the Harbour Front in Singapore. Upon landing we boarded the awaiting bus which took us to the Harmoni One Hotel in Batam. Things here are not that cheap as we expected..especially the specialty 'kuih lapis' or Indonesian layered cake. We spent quite a lot here as they come in different flavours to tempt our taste buds!
We enjoyed shopping in the emporiums n sampling the unique Indonesian cuisine though not much of sight seeing in this little island. The hotel we stayed is comfortable, clean n nice. The staff are warm n friendly. The breakfast spread is good n wide with lots to pick n choose. All in all it's a good trip coupled with a satisfactory hotel stay.

Room Tip: Standard room comes with a double bed whereas a deluxe comes with two single beds. It's a recomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The room we stayed vibrated, could be due to hotel engine room. Feedback to hotel staffs, I was told that nearby there was ongoing construction and I was not the first person feeling it. How could it even work middle of wee hrs? Hotel have Chinese restaurant and Indonesian food, no shopping but the pool, jacuzzi and gym were great for relaxation.

Breakfast not so great taste but quite big spead. Shopping need to take cab to Nyagoya? about 15 - 20mins drive.

Hotel staff are friendly especially the taxi counter. Lobby at night got singer and piano performed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with family of 5. I was overwhelmed by the grand façade of the hotel and the lobby when I arrived. I felt like I had booked into a 5-star hotel! However, my family and I were no longer excited the minute we entered the room. The room was not as spacious as expected after seeing the grand lobby. Requested for a deluxe room as recommended from the reviewers on trip advisor but the view of our room was not much to shout about. Nonetheless, the huge bath rub still managed to excite my 2 children. They had to have a swim in the tub twice a day no matter what!

Breakfast was average but it was nice to see that the hotel serves a small portion of Japanese food such as rice, miso soup and a main course. We ordered in-room dining for dinner and delivery was prompt. However, the quality of food served was not up to expectation of a hotel.

The hotel is located within 5 mins drive away from the Mega Mall/Batam Ferry Terminal and 10 mins drive from Nagoya Hill Shopping Mall. Free bus shuttle is available to hotel guests but only in the evening and prior booking is required.

Hotel staff was friendly. Hotel was clean.

Room Tip: If you are travelling in group of 3 adults or family of 4, can request for deluxe room which is suff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I arrived late in the hotel around 9pm. The reception was totally different than others, it served you more like customer service in a bank, which offer you more personally experience actually.

You could have a sit and while enjoy the welcome drink. Check in process was smooth and fast.
The room that they gave me i think its a deluxe room , but i found it quite akward, because it has a structure pole inside the room, that really block the view from the bed to the window.
Since i was only staying one night , so i didnt care about it.

The bathroom has a tremendous bathub and shower pod. But the water that come out in the bathub is kind a yellowish, so for me, i try to avoid the scary feeling from that.

I tried the room service, food was average, price was also not too high for Batam standard.
The internet in the hotel ( or in the room ) was super fast. The fastest that i had encountered so far in Batam area.

Free Mini bar for deluxe room, if i may say so.

The bad things was the food during breakfast, i found that the taste was terrible. i didnt even want to try out variety food that they offered.

Overall i think it is just average for me. Huge doesnt mean great hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

the outside of the hotel and the lobby looks very grand but the normal room is quite small. however staffs are friendly and helpful. the interior looks slightly rundown. overall you get what you are paying for.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel may be the right choice as a business or tourist visits to Batam.

Strategic, because of its location near the airport, Batam Center sea port (harbour), shopping center and tourist objects. Also supported an affordable means of transportation.

This hotel provide comfort to rest.
There is a live music at night that we may be ready to entertain and sing.
The next breakfast is sumptuous and tasty.
Swimming pool and various other facilities adequate.

Welcome to Batam, enjoy your trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments

Also Known As:
Harmoni 1 Hotel
Address: Jalan Engku Putri No. 1 | Batam Center, Riau Islands Province 29400, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Batam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Work and play fuse into one at our boutique hotel in Batam. A haven for business travelers and leisure tourists in search of efficiency and pleasure, Harmoni One Convention Hotel & Service Apartments is well-placed within the heart of Batam near major business and government offices, as well as the city’s entertainment and commercial areas. It has a growing reputation as one of Batam, Indonesia’s finest destinations for successful conferences and business meetings, and also for providing guests with a wealth of comfort within its richly appointed interiors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.