We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Hotel, worth the visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments to your Saves list
Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Engku Putri No. 1 | Batam Center, Riau Islands Province 29400, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 75 Hotels in Batam
singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Grand Hotel, worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Bought a package from travel agency, costing S$48 + $20 include ferry, transfers, day tour, room stay, buffet breakfast. The hotel is clean and grand. The mall is about 15mins away on a dusty road, we did not bother to walk out with our kids and stayed in the hotel instead. The bed and the pillow were one of the best hotel bed and pillow I have stayed. Firm and not saggy.
The walls are not sound proof .... we can hear our kids talking next door. The breakfast is great, good spread of food.. Japanese, Chinese, Western, Indonesian...

The non smoking room smell of cigarette. TV channels are sufficient with HBO, Fox Movies, Singapore, Sports channels

Room Tip: Pay for free and easy instead, skip the tour as you will not get to check in till 7pm. The tour just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    111
    59
    17
    11
See reviews for
56
62
3
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Nice common area pretty and comfortable. Room is small but clean and cosy. It is walking distance to Mega Mall so very convenient. I really love that you get wifi everywhere in this hotel. Breakfast is reasonable but don't expect good service. Overall I will come back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeles City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The hotel has the Roman style architecture. Place is really big, esp.the halls...but looks GLOOMY. Since it was a pre-booked accommodation from a voucher website, we were provided a bedroom good for three persons. Thank you for providing us an extra bed for our teenage son. What we don't like is you gave us all in all 3 separate beds. In short, you separated the beds intended for me and my husband. Likewise, the moment we entered the room, foul odor maybe from the carpet greeted us. Also, the bedroom window has a wall outside with a sculpture of an angel. What we wanted was good view of the city. Buffet breakfast was totally disorganized esp. it was a holiday (Vesak), thus more guests during our stay. One thing for sure... food was generous. Area for concierge was okay. If I'm not mistaken, this is the first time I saw that kind of set up. Big reception area. Just the same, that area was gloomy. Quite dark. Wi-fi connection in the rooms was at first had some minor problems but eventually was fixed after my son informed people from the reception area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Though this is a 4 star hotel and so called one of the top hotel in batam.. it's just so-so n I will not visit again. It is clean n quite nice but in hotel, no towel! called many times to hse keeping but in no vain. Complained to recep, a lady just told me coolly that they have run out of towel every weekend! Gosh! Did they not try to resolve this issue since its a long time issue already? Me n hubby went and got 2 single bed! Asked for dbl one, they said all fully booked! :(
mall is quite far, about 20 min walk. but no pathway. gotta walk along the road. thus not advised for lady to be alone. mall is small too.. not worth the walk.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yinnar, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Turned up at the desk with no reso,no problem for me or the over 12 or so with me.After 45 onboard it was gunna be great to have a big bed in a room alone....pitty i cant remember a lot but i can gurantee the bed was comfortable, only stayed the one unmemorable night....

Room Tip: Be nice to reseption....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hi All,

I stayed in this hotel in 2012. The room we stayed in was small but heh, all you need is a bed to sleep in and a decent shower, and we had that. No complains there.

Breakfast was good, reasonable variety. Didn't get to try the spa even though we had coupons because we couldn't get a slot. :( so if you are given coupons make sure you book in advance.

Didn't really like the service though, check in was a drag and felt that staff did not have the genuine attitude. Not that they were rude though.

It was a 45 mins ride to nagoya hill, the biggest shopping mall in Batam. There is a shopping mall nearby but nothing fancy there, can't remember the name.

I liked the pool there, also they had a steam room which I enjoyed very much. :)

I would stay there again if there were any cheap packages offered.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My partner and I stayed in standard room on 24-26 May 2013. We wanted to have a deluxe room but the hotel is fully booked and we will have to stay in a standard. Do take note that standard room does not have a queen/king size bed, instead it's 2 single sized bed. Our request for a non-smoking room is not met but was put into a smoking room. My partner has problem with his lungs so smell of cigarette is making him uncomfortable. We often have to call the housekeeping to come in and spray so that the cigarette smell is not so strong. We asked if we can change a room but were told that the room we had is a non-smoking room. But how can it be a non-smoking room when there is cigarette smell and a smoking tray in the room? By the way, standard room does not have a window.

The hotel is a 25 minutes drive to Nagoya Hills and 15 minutes drive to Batam Center, depending on the traffic. The free shuttle that the hotel provides starts at 4pm on weekends and public holidays and only 3 trips from hotel - Mega Mall - Nagoya Hills - BCS Mall - hotel. As the shuttle van takes about 12-15 passengers each time, it gets fill up very fast. Booking early on the day you are taking the shuttle is essential to get a seat. If you are taking the hotel taxi, it costs about RP50,000 to go Kepri Mall (in my opinion, don't go as it's quite empty), RP60,000 to go Nagoya Hills, RP50,000 to go Mega Mall. If you flag a taxi on your own, it's about RP5000 - RP10,000 cheaper. We booked a taxi from the hotel to go Kepri Mall and return. As Kepri Mall is very empty, we took a cab on our own from Kepri Mall to Nagoya Hills after going Carrefour. Taxi fare is about RP50,000. We also informed the driver that we have proceeded to Nagoya Hills, whether he can go and fetch us at 9:30pm and he said ok. After shopping at Nagoya Hills, we waited outside J.Co at 9:30pm as instructed by him. We waited until 9:45pm and gave him a call again in case we have waited at the wrong place. He said he is not coming to fetch us anymore because he cannot make it. So we have to book a cab from Nagoya Hills taxi counter at RP60,000. On the price list at the taxi counter, it is stated going that area is about RP50,000. My partner didn't want to negotiate so we took the cab. The staff at taxi counter hail a taxi for us and the taxi driver gave the staff TIPS! I think most probably we are overcharged. I didn't see the taxi driver that fetch us from Kepri Mall giving tips to the taxi counter.

The hotel facade looks grand and spacious but this is it. The room we stayed in is small and stinks! The positive thing about the room is that it's clean. Water pressure and temperature is just right. Bed is comfortable and TV channels are sufficient with HBO, Fox Movies, Sports channels, Singapore free channels, etc. The in-room wifi connection is fast and also provided cable for wired internet access. Our package comes with breakfast buffet. Reading from the reviews in tripadvisor, we know that the replenishing of food is very slow or never refill. We took the advice and proceed for our breakfast at 7am. The restaurant quickly fills up by 7:30am. Some food like fried rice, noodles, drinks are replenished promptly. Other food items like Dim Sum and waffles are not replenished (we left at around 8am or slightly later). The first morning we had Chicken feet and the next we had Lotus leaf rice and char siew pau. The dim sum is quite delicious. Noodles and fried rice are just so-so. Pastries are quite good. The waffles are also nice especially when it's toasted warm with honey and butter. On one morning, we had satay bee hoon but it's very cold.

The queue for checking out gets very long at 12pm and there is only 1 counter doing the checking out and also the checking-in.

I probably will try some other hotels if I visit Batam again but if you are looking for clean hotels and doesn't mind to be put into a smoking room, this is one of them.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments

Address: Jalan Engku Putri No. 1 | Batam Center, Riau Islands Province 29400, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Work and play fuse into one at our boutique hotel in Batam. A haven for business travelers and leisure tourists in search of efficiency and pleasure, Harmoni One Convention Hotel & Service Apartments is well-placed within the heart of Batam near major business and government offices, as well as the city’s entertainment and commercial areas. It has a growing reputation as one of Batam, Indonesia’s finest destinations for successful conferences and business meetings, and also for providing guests with a wealth of comfort within its richly appointed interiors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmoni 1 Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.