We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would book again.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments

Save Saved
You added Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Engku Putri No. 1 | Batam Center, Riau Islands Province 29400, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 71 Hotels in Batam
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I would book again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hi All,

I stayed in this hotel in 2012. The room we stayed in was small but heh, all you need is a bed to sleep in and a decent shower, and we had that. No complains there.

Breakfast was good, reasonable variety. Didn't get to try the spa even though we had coupons because we couldn't get a slot. :( so if you are given coupons make sure you book in advance.

Didn't really like the service though, check in was a drag and felt that staff did not have the genuine attitude. Not that they were rude though.

It was a 45 mins ride to nagoya hill, the biggest shopping mall in Batam. There is a shopping mall nearby but nothing fancy there, can't remember the name.

I liked the pool there, also they had a steam room which I enjoyed very much. :)

I would stay there again if there were any cheap packages offered.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    95
    54
    16
    11
See reviews for
48
59
2
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My partner and I stayed in standard room on 24-26 May 2013. We wanted to have a deluxe room but the hotel is fully booked and we will have to stay in a standard. Do take note that standard room does not have a queen/king size bed, instead it's 2 single sized bed. Our request for a non-smoking room is not met but was put into a smoking room. My partner has problem with his lungs so smell of cigarette is making him uncomfortable. We often have to call the housekeeping to come in and spray so that the cigarette smell is not so strong. We asked if we can change a room but were told that the room we had is a non-smoking room. But how can it be a non-smoking room when there is cigarette smell and a smoking tray in the room? By the way, standard room does not have a window.

The hotel is a 25 minutes drive to Nagoya Hills and 15 minutes drive to Batam Center, depending on the traffic. The free shuttle that the hotel provides starts at 4pm on weekends and public holidays and only 3 trips from hotel - Mega Mall - Nagoya Hills - BCS Mall - hotel. As the shuttle van takes about 12-15 passengers each time, it gets fill up very fast. Booking early on the day you are taking the shuttle is essential to get a seat. If you are taking the hotel taxi, it costs about RP50,000 to go Kepri Mall (in my opinion, don't go as it's quite empty), RP60,000 to go Nagoya Hills, RP50,000 to go Mega Mall. If you flag a taxi on your own, it's about RP5000 - RP10,000 cheaper. We booked a taxi from the hotel to go Kepri Mall and return. As Kepri Mall is very empty, we took a cab on our own from Kepri Mall to Nagoya Hills after going Carrefour. Taxi fare is about RP50,000. We also informed the driver that we have proceeded to Nagoya Hills, whether he can go and fetch us at 9:30pm and he said ok. After shopping at Nagoya Hills, we waited outside J.Co at 9:30pm as instructed by him. We waited until 9:45pm and gave him a call again in case we have waited at the wrong place. He said he is not coming to fetch us anymore because he cannot make it. So we have to book a cab from Nagoya Hills taxi counter at RP60,000. On the price list at the taxi counter, it is stated going that area is about RP50,000. My partner didn't want to negotiate so we took the cab. The staff at taxi counter hail a taxi for us and the taxi driver gave the staff TIPS! I think most probably we are overcharged. I didn't see the taxi driver that fetch us from Kepri Mall giving tips to the taxi counter.

The hotel facade looks grand and spacious but this is it. The room we stayed in is small and stinks! The positive thing about the room is that it's clean. Water pressure and temperature is just right. Bed is comfortable and TV channels are sufficient with HBO, Fox Movies, Sports channels, Singapore free channels, etc. The in-room wifi connection is fast and also provided cable for wired internet access. Our package comes with breakfast buffet. Reading from the reviews in tripadvisor, we know that the replenishing of food is very slow or never refill. We took the advice and proceed for our breakfast at 7am. The restaurant quickly fills up by 7:30am. Some food like fried rice, noodles, drinks are replenished promptly. Other food items like Dim Sum and waffles are not replenished (we left at around 8am or slightly later). The first morning we had Chicken feet and the next we had Lotus leaf rice and char siew pau. The dim sum is quite delicious. Noodles and fried rice are just so-so. Pastries are quite good. The waffles are also nice especially when it's toasted warm with honey and butter. On one morning, we had satay bee hoon but it's very cold.

The queue for checking out gets very long at 12pm and there is only 1 counter doing the checking out and also the checking-in.

I probably will try some other hotels if I visit Batam again but if you are looking for clean hotels and doesn't mind to be put into a smoking room, this is one of them.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Room is very smelly. Bathroom water is very dirty, look at my photo. Worst hotel we ever seen. Staff said every room is the same, so there is no need for us to change room. We bought the Batam trip via Groupon.sg. Regretted..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed for a night at this hotel as part of a deal package to Batam.
The entrance to the hotel was very grand with a massive lobby. Instead of the usual reception counter, there are tables and chairs where you sit comfortably while the receptionist checked you in. Check-in is a breeze. The receptionist speaks good English and is courteous.
There is free Wi-Fi at the lobby, in the hotel room as well as the Bamboe café where we have our breakfast.
The hotel provides free shuttle bus to and from Mega Mall, Nagoya Hill and BCS. During weekends, it starts from 4:00 pm and there are 3 time slots. Do make a reservation with the concierge as seats were limited. Taxi is easily available at the concierge.
We were allocated on the fifth level. The lift lobby is just as imposing as the main lobby with elegant chairs.
Bedroom - The beds are comfortable, and there is a big TV with international channels like HBO. There is a kettle and tea and coffee are provided.
Bathroom - Only 2 bath towels were provided. There is no face or hand towels, and no hairdryer either. However, all these can be requested from housekeeping, and they are quick to respond.
Swimming pool – The swimming pool is located on the sixth floor rooftop. I loved the structure of the pool with the Roman columns.
Breakfast is served from 6.00 to 10:00 am There is a wide selection of food, and for vegetarians like us, we have no problem as there is an egg station, Gado Gado, baked beans, potato wedges, pancakes and waffles. There is also a variety of Danish pastries, croissant and cakes. For non- vegetarians, there is dim sum and other meat dishes.
Contrary to the negative reviews, I found no fault with this hotel. We will stay in this hotel again if there is another deal offer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Got this hotel via a deal. The hotel is not centrally located but it is a 15 mins walk from the Mega Mall.

The lobby is big and massive. It is quite grand but the rooms are not remotely close to being as nice as the lobby. The room we got was tiny, without window and the single bed was only small and hard. Everyting was basic and the paint work on the walls was peeling everywhere. The amenities were limited and there was even no hair dryer.

Service was not good, we had requested fo another tube of tiny shower gel 3 times but still did not get it in the end. The reception had written down our request but there was no follow up after that.


The breakfast was bad. Food was bland and not appetizing. While there was variety, most items were quickly depleted without any replenishment. When I went for brreakfast at 9 am, I was starring at mostly empty trays.

Overall, not a good place to stay. There are lots of better choices in Batam

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The room is spacious and nice, bed is comfortable. However the running water is actually yellow. Wanted to use the bath tub but the water turned out yellow and same for the tap water. When we called the concierge, we had to call twice before their so called engineer came up to check and fix the problem. The "engineers" spend some time in the toilet, but all they were doing is to let the water run and using their hands to clean the bathtub and sink! They weren't even solving the problem. Then they told us to let the water run for 15 mins and see if it is still yellow and they left. Next thing, I used the toilet and got locked inside the toilet because there's a problem with the knob and it can't be unlocked. The engineers came up again and knocked down the door. In the first place, they should have offered a change of room when the water is yellow, not only after us demanding. No complimentary was given as well. The next day breakfast buffet, there is almost nothing when we went down at 9am. Overall terrible experience, do not choose this hotel just because it is a cheap deal.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We booked this hotel(a superior room) through a deal. Firstly the hotel provided two single beds in a room to us(a married couple). When we asked them to provide a room having double bed, the supervisor and manager of the hotel started making stories that in the superior room, there are only 2 sigle beds. When I checked the occupancy and claimed that the statement they are giving is false. Then they said, they have 16 superior rooms having double bed, but all of them are full. We told them that why you have taken the booking if that was the case. They said if you want room with a double bed, you will have to upgrade it to deluxe by paying extra 20$.
The hotel staff finally dint agree to this and was behaving very rudely. Customer comfort and satisfaction is definitely not a prime motive of this hotel. We will never ever visit it again!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments

Address: Jalan Engku Putri No. 1 | Batam Center, Riau Islands Province 29400, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Work and play fuse into one at our boutique hotel in Batam. A haven for business travelers and leisure tourists in search of efficiency and pleasure, Harmoni One Convention Hotel & Service Apartments is well-placed within the heart of Batam near major business and government offices, as well as the city’s entertainment and commercial areas. It has a growing reputation as one of Batam, Indonesia’s finest destinations for successful conferences and business meetings, and also for providing guests with a wealth of comfort within its richly appointed interiors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmoni 1 Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.