We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Your Dollar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments

Save Saved
You added Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Engku Putri No. 1 | Batam Center, Riau Islands Province 29400, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 64 hotels in Batam
Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Value for Your Dollar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Imposing structure, especially the driveway and the lobby. You are greeted by lots of square footage as you enter the reception area. Very well maintained and grandiose. Location wise, seriously, its Batam. Nothings really that far away though you might probably have to cab around.Hunt for the cabs charging by meter, a little extra work but a lot of extra money saved.

Lifts require key cards, a boon for security conscious tourists. The hallways are well maintained with the temperature well managed and carpets clean. I've heard of the problems some have had with the common corridor rooms but I specifically requested for a room without such an issue, usually the units on the higher floors. Levels 3 and 4 have no issue if I remember correctly.

The rooms themselves are perfect. As a tourist, the triad of must-haves are satisfied. 1) The air-conditioning was great, very strong and cold enough to give me the shivers. 2) The bed was comfortable and not squeaky, important for a relaxing holiday if you intend to sloth it out. 3) The sheets and towels were clean. No stressing how important and how well it reflects on a hotel that provides clean linens.

For the foodies out there, do try their room service if you have the chance. They serve a mean Cabonara and fantastic Tom Yum Goong. Give their steaks a miss however, my medium rare was as tough as a block of concrete, no exaggerations there. Breakfast is average at best, with food taking a little longer than I would expect to be refilled. Taste is passable but nothing to shout about.

I liked the touch of the little cozy corner in the king bed room with the long 'day-beds' where you can recline and have a massage in your own room. Very good for business travelers who want to escape the crowds. Bathrooms were well designed albeit the bathtub water was rusty for the first 2-3min. The biggest issue I had was the maintenance of their electric kettles. The one in my room did not have an boiling point sensor that switches the kettle off once the water boils. We had to manually switch it off. This could be extremely dangerous for visitors who may unknowingly leave their kettles boiling and go out thinking the kettles will switch themselves off. Electrical fires come to mind. That may well be a one off incident with a faulty kettle however.

Overall, a great experience with a well managed hotel.

Stayed Jan 2013, traveled as a couple.

Room Tip: Book the rooms on the higher floors (3 and 4) to avoid the common corridor issue that so many have c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    79
    47
    13
    11
See reviews for
39
54
2
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

nice and cozy hotel,good looking,elegant building,friendly front office staff,average rooms,too much chlorine,bad towels,salty foods.spacy lobby,luxury ornaments
But i would stay at this hotel again when i visited batam again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

During my family (myself wife and my 1.5 yrs kid) trip to Batam from Singapore, stayed in this Harmoni One hotel. We enjoyed the stay. Hotel is really very good to the standards.
Couple of minor things (may be for further improvement)
1. The room we stayed did not have bath towels by default. Service person supplied it on calling him. (But should have kept by default)
2. Swimming pool is really hygienic. But did toooo much chlorination !!! Due to which, without swim glasses, eyes got very irritation. (May be, whosoever going swim should be responsible :-) ). Enjoyed the hot water pool also.

Overall, worth the money paid.
Highly recommended place.

Room Tip: One side window (for eg Room number 297 side) are blocked viewing. The other side rows of rooms (eg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

you can access this imposing white couloured building through two entrances. one is the drive in where you cab or whatever transportation you are using will drop you. the other is a side entrance where you have to climb a flight of steps to reach the lobby area. the lobby is huge and impressive but there are no signs of reception.we homed in to RECEPTION which are basically three table counters where you are invited to sit and the receptionist records your usual particulars like the passport and contact details.we were processed speedily enough on our second try at about four p.m. as the room was not ready when we first to tried to check in about twelve noon.

the hotel is located near to the BATAM CENTRE FERRY terminal. alas it so close yet so far.it is definitely not a walking distance from the ferry terminal and you have to take cab in either direction.there are many comments about batam cabs and taxis generally do not charge by the meter;hence the charge for even a one km distance is very excessive. cab to the nagoya centre is about 6ok rp.

the superior rooms are about 20 sq metres which appear to be kind of small but space usage is maximized with simple but practical furniture.

the bath room is well fitted with a long bath, sink and the range of complimentary amenities is sufficient.it may be pertinent to point out that the long bath area is not elderly user friendly as the bath is deep and getting out of it is a little challenging. i strongly suggest that a grip be installed which can make the process of getting out of the long bath more safe.

the breakfast range is extensive but same cannot be said about the quality of the food. the hot dishes like the fried rice,noodles,curries etc appeared to be hastily prepared. ( this could be an exception on that day as the hotel was fully booked because of long weekend holidays in singapore).

given its location, room comfort and the full range of facilities like swimming pool,gymp,spa,business centre etc it is a good choice for the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

although the location is far off, after the day tour...you'd want to stay in a hotel like this. You will be greeted with welcome drinks, Pool is at the rooftop and free use of their gym. The only bad thing about the hotel is that they don't have wifi connection. During our stay, the chinese restaurant just opened so we got 50% off from our bill.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Nowadays people go batam with purchased coupon from those deal website, and my husband & me also did that. We bought the coupon from deal.com at SGD48 with 2way ferry tickets+ 1hr full body massage+ 8course seafood lunch + 1night harmoni stayed with buffet breakfast.

check in : the lobby is huge & grand as they have 3 counter to handle the check-in procedures. Well there is quite fast and smooth.

Room : the room is standard room which we booked earlier from travel agency ,but all standard room is 2 single bed moreover we don't want to sleep separately so we decided to upgrade our room to superior room and cost us SGD10 only.

Superior room : the room is clean and neat. A "just nice size" working desk , massage day bed , queen size bed, mini bar and mini fridge with 2 can drinks and 1 tibits nuts, tv with many choices of channel , wardrobe with a mini safe , hanger and indoor slippers of course.

Bathroom : the 1st impression of the bathroom is satisfied. Bath tub, standing shower place,towel, and tolietries (shampoo,shower gel,cotton bud,shower cap, sanitary pad,and 2 dental kit).

Spa : the receptionist of spa was very very helpful and thoughtful. i was called them abt three times to check the massage price and duration which the brochure were never mention , and they were still attentively. Me & my husband try out the 1hr full body massage plus 40 mins scrub. the massage was awesome and my masseur has very good strength as i keep ask her to lighter.
to ppl never try batam style scrub before, dont ever try!!!!! masseur was APPLY the scrub on me and left cold me abt 10-15 mins until the scrub was dry and then she came back and rub the dried scrub very hard. after the scrub treatment, i found my skin is very redness and injured. But i never blame them because i understood that is their procedures.

Pool : we has no time to have a swim so ....

breakfast : the restaurant where we had our breakfast is huge also! spread wasnt much, but its enough. And yes, delicious. You can get plenty of food around the area. There are lots of warungs and roadside stalls.. of course, if you dont mind. I must say, the food was quite good!

Location : As for location, good thing doesnt come twice but hotel does provide shuttle service to 3 shopping centre at town , but pls call for booking for these service and the latest time from nagoya is 8.40pm.

I will come back for sure for the cheap and nice hotel!

Room Tip: Always go for the superior room, worth for money!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pekanbaru, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I got a twin bed room on the 3rd floor. The room was good, but not so large. Dial up internet, no wifi. Room amenities is good but no hair dryer. Breakfast was delicious with lots of variant. The waffles and pancakes was my favourite. I think there so much wasted space in this hotel, especially in the lobby and convention center building. But mostly i feel comfortable staying here. 15 minutes walk to Mega Mall, but it's too far from Nagoya.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments

Also Known As:
Harmoni 1 Hotel
Address: Jalan Engku Putri No. 1 | Batam Center, Riau Islands Province 29400, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Batam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Batam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Work and play fuse into one at our boutique hotel in Batam. A haven for business travelers and leisure tourists in search of efficiency and pleasure, Harmoni One Convention Hotel & Service Apartments is well-placed within the heart of Batam near major business and government offices, as well as the city’s entertainment and commercial areas. It has a growing reputation as one of Batam, Indonesia’s finest destinations for successful conferences and business meetings, and also for providing guests with a wealth of comfort within its richly appointed interiors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.